We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant,relaxed,friendly,modest,liked ocean breezes dont look for perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed March 15, 2014

we stayed one week at cabanas maria del mar. location is key.location on beach is main reason we stayed there. hotel modest, friendly, relaxed palmtrees garden,flowers very beauty. we had 3 ,small children plus 7 adults enjoyed easy walk to beach. The restaurant nearby Buhos (I believe),fair to good wifi, none at hotel.loved the balcony with constant breeze. breezes a huge plus, able to hang our wet swimsuits,outside to dry in breeze.One negative is most of our group got multiple small undetermined bug bites on ankles and lower legs;very itchy.we were barefoot in restaurant there and on beach area at cabanas. everyone(10 people) had small red bites skin lower legs, all bites went away after the week, except one person who went to Dr. back in USA for rash on lower legs along with skin irritation and infection due to scratching skin. we decided it was sand fleas . One person thought it was bed bugs. itchy red bug bites only on lower legs. Still with that in mind I definitely would return to cabanas because it was a wonderful experience. We had a wonderful time, & a great memory.Dont look for perfection.

Room Tip: we enjoyed breezes from room 41 balcony. AC is noisy, I found 5 pillow cases stuffed at end of pillo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 733 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Everything else was below ok. Room was not what you expect for the price we paid. Had a worm on my leg in the bathroom. The water was very slow, you can barely take a shower. No wifi. We paid 30% of the price somewhere else and it was way better!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Rahely G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Disappointment turned to appreciation upon sunrise. We arrived in the dark and I was severally disappointed in the aesthetics of the room. The air conditioner sounded like a Mack Truck. Not much sleep that first night. When I walked out on the balcony the next morning the view and proximity of the beach initiated a new outlook, we can make this work. Running the air during the day and turning it to fan at night solved that issue. They were the softs beds I have experienced in Mexico, unfortunately not great for my back. My wife loved them. The rooms are old, modest and clean. Not the musty smell I have experienced in more posh hotels. The grounds are adequate and continually being cleaned.

The location was the key. Beautiful beach, short walk to some adequate snorkeling and easy access to a plethora of dinning. Everything was convenient. Quit and quaint. I can overlook the quality of the room interiors for the beauty/aesthetics of the balcony. I would stay there again merely due to location and the quite quaintness.

Room Tip: Room choice would depend upon your preference of convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnytripsvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

First of all I would like to share my thoughts on Entertainment Plus/USA transfers.Everything was perfect. The booking process was easy and went just as planned. I was doubtful about the service and booking online.
However, there was a person waiting for us at the airport and she was so kind and helpful. The driver Wilson was very helpful and friendly. It all went so smoothly it was a pleasant surprise. On the way back to the airport it went just as good. It couldn't have been any easier. The driver's name was Jose Mandito? He was also very pleasant and prompt. The service is 5 star. I would definitely recommend to others and use the company again.
We stayed in room 33 in the tower section. I think it was the best location of all. The help was friendly and accommodating. I think if you are friendly they are also. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The grounds well kept and the pool clean. We truly were just steps from the most wonderful beach and downtown just a couple blocks away. The morning toast and coffee was a nice start to the day. We had no bugs in room, hot water always, drinking water always available on each floor. Mini fridge in room was helpful for keeping pop, beer, rum.lunch stuff, etc. in room to save money. We rented chairs some days and just used beach towels in the sand some days. We had great neighbors and enjoyed meeting other hotel guests. It rained one day out of seven. Clothesline available on patios for hanging out towels and suits. Hint; bring a few clothes pins. On the way downtown we found a lady who sold the best mole tamales I've ever had and only $2.50! Mangos was good also. I found most drinks and food rather expensive.
Rented a gulf cart for 24 hours to tour the island and try a few restaurants further away. Stop at the turtle farm, Captain Dulche beach club, Punta Sur and the floating plastic house. all was good and I would go back.

Room Tip: All rooms in the Tower section have partial ocean views and are away from the road so are quiet. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iguanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a rather lengthy but hopefully provides a definitive account of our February, 2014 stay at the Cabanas Maria del Mar which was included as part of a flight/travel package. We had previously stayed here in 2002 and there has been little change since then, which may be good or bad depending on one's point of view. We have enjoyed many previous Isla visits, staying at various locations. When all is taken into consideration, IMHO there are quite a few better hotel options available for equal or less cost.
-Hotel location is directly on the beach, about a 10 minute walk to Centro. Beach, Buho's bar & restaurant is 50' walk from Castle;
-Advertised wi-fi is very weak & available only in Buho's bar;
-Housekeeping was excellent-highly suggest leaving a daily gratuity if you agree; also if you are leaving any drinks, etc behind when you check out, leave a note saying the housekeeper can keep them;
-Castle-rooms 1-10 are on second floor, 11 & 12 on 3rd, 13-18 on 1st floor; 1,3,5,7,9, 11 are on street side; 8 & 10 are over kitchen;
-Always have a written (email) notice of the balance due on your room as there seemed to be 'confusion' with that amount with several other parties also arriving. Confusion cleared when guests produced paperwork reflecting the proper balance. Was the same situation with our previous stay in 2002.
-No assistance with carrying luggage up stairs to room;
-Rooms are very plain-completely white, large slider & bright, bed, sofa, desk with approx 20” old style TV-no English channels (you are in MX), table with 3 chairs, 2 night stands, clock radio;
-Bath-(tile floor can be slippery when wet) large shower, toilet in separate room and yes, toilet paper goes in the basket;
-Hot water arrives after about 5 minutes, then turn on cold for pressure;
-Sink with decent size counter & mirror; 2 drawers, 2' hanging rod, 6 hangers, several open shelves with safe on one; refrig underneath holds 12 cans, a couple of water bottles & has a little other space;
-Shampoo, bath soap, bath towels, hand towels, face cloths, bath mat provided;
-Outside patio (slider)-approx 3'x12' had 2 chairs;
-AC worked fine, quiet;
-Beach towels provided-can be changed every 3 days-some were very stained, ragged;
-Beach loungers & umbrellas are 60 pesos each/day but there are trees that will prove shade if you don't mind moving around some; also are beach beds-don't know the $; rental includes a free coke at the bar against the building-get it before 5PM;
-Breakfast-OJ, coffee & 2 slices of toast with butter & jam require a slip obtained from the hotel lobby after 7:30 each day; full breakfast available at cost;

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tfp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in the Castle section(room4) for a week from 2/26/14-3/5/14. The room was very clean with Dominga changing the sheets, towels and the soap/shampoo daily and moping the floor. We kept the balcony doors shut at all times and had no problems with bugs. We were on the second floor so maybe that helped a bit too. There was a pitcher and two cups for water, which was available for guests at no charge in the hallway by the room. We had a small TV in the room with a variety of channels. There was no WiFi in the room, but there was at the hotel bar/restaurnant Buhos for free. It was not fast enough for Skype, but it was okay for email, google search, uploading pictures to facebook. We had a small fridge in the room which was good enough for a six pack beer or a couple of tequila bottles :) which we bought from the big supermarket 5 blocks south at the main square :) We turned on the AC a few times during our stay, as don't like the room to be freezing when outside is 80F. We slept comfortably. The bed was not too hard and the pillows were soft. There was a small safe in the room,not big enough for a laptop, but you could fit a kindle. Beach towels were checked out. Try not to lose them. The breakfast was toast with jam, one cup of coffe/tea(free refill) and a cup of orange juice. It was sufficient to keep us good untill lunch time. It was from 7 to 11. We didn't eat at Buhos because it was pricy and not that great. We ate at other places in the downtown area. The food is better than the food in USA, so it doesn't matter where you go you will still like it. Trust me. Unless you are super picky:) The beach by this hotel is really the best. Shallow, clean waters and sand, palm trees. No need to pay for chairs ($6 each,umbrella another $6) because you can throw your towel under the palm trees and you'll be fine. If you do pay for chairs/umbrella, you will get a free soda drink for each thing you pay for. So if you get two chairs and ubrella(12$) you get three sodas. The only thing we didn't like about this hotel was that the walls were not very sound proof, so if people were talking in the hallway, you could hear them very well and if you want to sleep in you better have earplugs.Anyways, this wasn't a huge problem for me because I would wake up everyday ~7 because I wanted to take advantage of the weaker sun rays and be out of the sun by 12, when you could really burn for 5 min with an SPF45 sunblock. If you expect luxury and are spoiled little brat, go somewhere else. In fact, go to Cancun because we only want chill people on this island anyways. The staff at the hotel were nice. If you ask nicely they will help you. Make sure to throw in a Gracias here and there. They do appreciate it if you make an effort to speak their language. If you respect them, so will they. If you are a snob, go somewhere else. As far as the weather goes, it was warm enough during the day(80s) and for me a bit cool at night especially by the windy beach, so bring a light jacket,swetshirt, or long sleeve shirt. It rained on one of the days we were there,and the streets flooded, so bring a small umbrella if you want, or just wait it out in one of the many restourants on the island. I actually swam in the ocean while it was raining and it was awesome because the water was so warm it felt like I was in the shower. :) The nightlife is pretty good.Live music in many of the restaurants. If you want something wild, go to Cancun. This was our second time staying on Isla Mujeres and we will come back for sure with friends and family. We did a trip to Chichen Itza, Garraffon Park, and did the Dolphin Discovery. Also rented a golf cart and drove around for an hour (15$). Current prices are $50(9-5) or $60(24hours). We brought pecos with us from the states at rate of 12.5 pecos per 1$. Also arranged a transfer from airport with Best Day for $52(2ppl) round trip. Ferry was about $7 one way(they give you round trip for $14). Taxi from ferry to hotel was 45pecos.

Room Tip: Castle rooms are the best. Go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ici85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed in the Castle rooms for two weeks. Clean and comfortable. Bed was comfortable for Mexico's standards. Proximity to the beach is perfect. This is the best location on Playa Norte. There were a couple issues on our first few days, but these were rectified by staff promptly. The free breakfast (toast and coffee) why bother. Buho's Bar aka the Swing Bar... oh so much could be done here. It is nearly impossible to get served. It is as if you are an inconvenience. This could be such a great gathering place. I would definitely stay here again due to the location.

Room Tip: I think the Castle rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Maria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Address: Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $86 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Maria Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabanas Maria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Maria Del Mar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing