We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Puerto Morelos, MX
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This past weekend I stayed for the 2nd year in a row at Cabanas Maria Del Mar. Nothing spectacular but nothing bad either. Beds were comfortable, plenty of hot water and great pressure. Mini-fridge in the room was a plus and being just a few yards from the pool and a short walk to the beach made t a pleasant experience. I will definitely return here to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuertoMorelosFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    247
    181
    85
    78
See reviews for
127
319
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
H-town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was an older hotel with a very pretty garden (with iguanas) and a small pool. The beach access was great, but not private. I expect to pay for the umbrellas and chairs unless it is all inclusive, which this is not. It has a great sunset watching bar. There was plenty of hot water in the shower but the air conditioning unit got really loud and my husband and I kept shoving it back in to stifle the vibrations. But it really got cold! There was a mini fridge and a safe and a TV which we really did not use. The beds were comfortable and the linens clean. From looking at the other places on the island it was probably one of the better ones in walking distance to the tourist area. Did not try the food at the beachfront restaurant. The front desk was helpful when we asked questions or needed a taxi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwexplorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochailort, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed three nights here and it was ok. Nothing special but having the best beach on your back door kind of made up for the areas it was lacking. If location is your priority then come here - if it's luxury you need then choose another place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lochailort470222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is our second (and last) visit to this hotel. We chose it because of the location and the price. We stayed in the older section on the 3rd floor. The room was clean but tiny and outdated, with 2 double beds, a small night table in between, a small table against the wall with a chair, NO bureau of shelves, a small closet with 5 hangers, and a mini fridge. The bathroom is so small that the shower, when used (no curtain) sprays water all over the place. Please get rid of the polyester bedspreads. WIFI only available in the restaurant. But the main reason we will not go back is the service, specially in the restaurant. Basic continental breakfast is included, canned juice, tea or coffee, 2 toasts with one serving of butter and jam. I asked for milk (instead of creamer) and was told they had none (but they have capuccino and cereals on the menu??) The worst was the rude service, despite of which we still left a tip. Breakfast starts at 7h30, you have to get a coupon every day at the front desk. One day we arrive at the front desk at 7h20 and they told us to wait !
The barman at their bar "Buhos" has the personality of a doorknob, the drinks are not as good and more expensive than everywhere else on the beach.
I don't know who owns this property, I'm sure they still make money, but it is a real shame because it could be so much more.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer section, upper floor, are better if still spare, but you'll still get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michele639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHL
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The grounds are very nice and the pool is small but OK. Never a problem getting a chair. The hotel runs the chair concession on the beach but guests still need to rent them for $25 for 2 and an umbrella. At least they could give guests a discount. It said free wifi but was only available at Buho's restaurant, not in rooms or even the pool area. The rooms were small, as were the beds, and could use an update. Check-in took about an hour. The breakfast was toast and juice and coffee. The first day the waiter came by and put a plate of fruit on our table without saying anything. An hour later they were knocking on our door with a bill for $60 pesos. Very near some good loncheria's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thadcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here because we wanted to be on Playa Norte and the hotel we usually stay at (Na Balam) was booked. Playa Norte has by far the best beaches on the island and it is only a couple of blocks from town. After reading the reviews, I was a little concerned - we brought our own towels, made sure we had a copy of our reservation and came in with low expectations. We had absolutely no problems - our room was simple but clean (castle room), the staff was low key but accommodating. Part of what I love about Isla Mujeres is that it is not a luxury island - it is a small charming fishing village. If you are looking for luxury, I am sure there are some all-inclusives that fit the bill but you would probably be better off in Cancun. This was a perfect place for a few days away from everything. Clean (for a beachfront place), simple, and much more affordable than Na Balam. The fact that you had to pay for the chairs actually gave us the freedom to try out chairs all over the beach instead of just staying with the ones at our hotel. We never tried the breakfast because there are amazing breakfast places in town. We also rented golf carts from the front desk to explore the island. We had a great time and would come back.

Room Tip: Castle rooms are newer (less charm) but closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2dkdkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've been to Isla Mujeres many times....I go for one reason and that is I am looking for a low key, no worries time away from the hustle and bustle of my "real" life. The problem I am seeing with many of the reviewers(especially more recent reviews) is that their expectations are similar to what I would look for if traveling to a spot that is EXPECTED to have amazing everything in their properties. The Island has certainly changed over the years, but it still maintains the charm I expect.

Now, as far as the Cabanas Maria Del Mar: The rooms are fairly dark, but who spends time in their rooms if they stay on a beach? The other truth is that the beds are a bit hard, and you are allowed to exchange your beach towels only once every 3 days. You must sign a charge slip for the key to your room, a tv remote, and the lock for the room safe. The service can be slow, but if you say out loud "Hola!" the gals will appear from the other side of the glass. The pool is darling and the garden surrounding it is as well. The staff does a great job with maintaining the grounds. The Island is known for the MANY stray animals that wander, and you will see cats(there were 3) and we saw two large Iguanas that hang out at this property.

Golf Cart rates are fair(at hotel) and in fact, I believe that they list at 450 pesos a day and many on the main ave list at 500 pesos. You CAN always ask for a better price...

I would recommend a room around the pool. You can sit at your patio after a long day in the sun and enjoy a beverage. :)

I would also recommend paying for the room in Pesos, or US Currency. They accept Travelers checks but we ran into a problem with the signatures and we had to go to the bank to take care of the matter. This was not a good experience.

Buhos used to have an awesome happy hour which attracted a ton of people and would be a great afternoon party-It no longer does this and I have seen a big decline in the bar/restaurant business as a result. The restaurant closes at about 530, and the bar stays open until 10 ish. We would go there as it was the spot on the property that provided WiFi-Get the code/password at the front desk when you check in.

They do charge 120 Pesos for chairs(this was new to me) which if you go to the Mercado and buy blow up floats(about $4 US), they will provided comfort on the beach and the water for you throughout your stay.

Again, if you're looking for something high end, and new and fresh-stay at one of the new AI's on the Island, and you'll get that. If you want charm then stay at one of the hotels that has been around for awhile. They are simple and tend to be less expensive also.

Happy Travels!

See ya soon Isla Mujeres.

Room Tip: The Cabanas around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrsande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Maria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Property: Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Address: Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Maria Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabanas Maria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Maria Del Mar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing