We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location/LOCATION/Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location/LOCATION/Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Maria Del Mar for four days in Feburary of 2013. The hotel is very clean. It could use some updating. The toilet flushing was a challenge and hot water was spotty. The staff is friendly and responds to requests in an acceptable manner. The Beach Bar which is owned by the hotel has acceptable food. However, the" breakfast included" in the price is a stretch; unless you consider OJ coffee and toast breakfast. The bar is large with a good seating area.

The outstanding feature of this property is the great beach!! You will find that the high priced hotels do not have good beaches. There are chairs, umbrellas, good liquor, and unique swing seats at the bar. Yes swing seats, just like when you were a kid!! Some of the swings hold two people.

Maria Del Mar has a number of its own golf carts, so renting is easy. The difference in price vs. the convience of the hotel makes price a moot point. Overall, our stay was without any major problems, and we would return.

Charles Bray

Room Tip: Request ocean view second floor. Balconies are spacious, and have a line to hang and dry swim suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesbray5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    239
    174
    83
    74
See reviews for
118
304
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hardly worth staying in...there have to be better places that have staff that appreciate your business. Electric light sockets hanging out of walls, water pressure non existent, extremely small rooms, and again staff with no customer oriented attitudes. Wild cats running everywhere, so if alergic to cats dont stay here. Was 1 minute overtime on cart rental and they doubled the price on me. Breakfast was a joke ! Will never go back here a true rip off

Room Tip: Old poolside rooms unkept, no maintance, no service, no blankets, if I could have gotten a refund I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank burlfish777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Waseca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

this is my 4th time staying here.....love it, it is a basic simple place to shower and sleep, Quiet and on the best beach. I have always found it safe for us and the kids, even the teens love it. prices are great and the toast and tea with juice is perfect way to start the day.. We miss it already.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalainanutshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Maria Del Mar and found the accommodations to be good enough for that short stay. The room was small, but since we were only in the room to sleep, that didn't really matter. It was nice to be able to rent the golf carts so easily. The wait at the front desk was a little annoying--especially when you could see and hear people in the office, but no one was in a hurry to help (this feeling is made worse after a long day of traveling with 2 kids). Breakfast was bare-bones, my husband and I gave ours to the kids and opted for just coffee. Overall the stay was satisfactory. I wouldn't want to stay a whole week, though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This property needs some help on customer service guidelines. Your not able to EVER check in early or get a late checkout. The service staff are less than frinedly. However they will store your bags behind the counter for you. If you want to rent a golf cart I suggest you book it right when you check in. There is NEVER anyone at the front desk, so you have to ALWAYS wait, to get your breakfast voucher, exchange beach towels, check in/checkout. The grounds are OVERLOADED with cats...so if your allergic - steer clear. It was humid and drizzly a few days that we were there, and it smelled like a litter box, sin most of the grounds are sand. The overall value is not worth it. At $100+ per night, your not getting your monies worth for sure. Our room had a huge crack in the ceiling, there was a frame for a mirror, but no mirror, the bathroom window was missing a louver, so anyone on the patio could hear your bathroom business, the door had a crack in it, where any small reptile could get in. There was a larger frig in our unit, but since there is absolutely no counter or shelf space we had to make sandwiches on the bed. The only plus is that it is so close to the best beach on the island.

Room Tip: Our friends had a poolside room - the location was better, but they had a much smaller frig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ybcuzuru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is in a great location right on playa Norte,the gardens and pool area are well tended with limited hammocks and sun beds,but in reality you will be on the beach,where you will be charged for sun beds and parasols,but the ticket entitles you to a free soft drink at the bar.
The continental breakfast is simple but you can add to it for a small charge.
We had a cabana which was slightly dated but the maid kept it spotless and changed the towels everyday,there was a fridge and a/c.
On balance the overall feeling was that it was a little tired,but well cared for and appeared to be reasonably priced.
Don't expect 4/5 star luxury or you will be disappointed

Room Tip: The cabanas have more space than the rooms in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humpty299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Isla. We stayed four nights and loved it. Our room was directly above the restaurant, so we were lucky enough to have a beautiful veiw of the water from our deck and the window. No frills but very clean and quaint. Lovely garden area with hammocks and a pool. If you are the type of person who is up early exploring the island, on the beach in the afternoon, and out eating and dancing at night this is the ideal Hotel. If you are looking for plush with a lot of extras, this won't be the place for you. The staff in the lobby was also kind and friendly. Breakfast staff were slow and not interested in working, but we usually ate breakfast downtown. Will I go here again? You bet, as long as the price is right!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teach2Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Maria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Property: Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Address: Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Maria Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cabanas Maria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Maria Del Mar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing