We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location next to Playa Norte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location next to Playa Norte”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrive after sunset on Isla Mujeres, we ended up at this hotel relatively well-reviewed on trip advisor. Let me share with you the experience. The location is extraordinary. It's next to Playa Norte, a wonderful and most commercial place on the island. The room on the ground level look clean (the bathroom look like brand new) but there's highway of ants on the floor and a hard smell of humidity... We ask for a room on the second floor. No ants this time but the room is older and we agreed that is not so bad. On the internet, we saw the room at 52$ on low season and get it at 48$ if paid cash in mexican pesos (650$) It was a very quiet stay, the hotel was empty, breakfast was basic continental, no smile from the staff, the pool was unclean (too much sunscreen at the surface)
The beach, however, was fantastic, free access (you just bring the towel from your room) If you want sunshade and chair, you have to pay for it but we didn't ask for the price... Playa Norte is the most beautiful beach of the island and the more commercial too... If you want some cheap beverages, get to a small local convenience store (the one on the street, without glass door and hold by an old mexican, you will get the ice and beer you need for your thirsty afternoon :) We believe that is important to encourage small local business!
For the ambiance, the place is not so hot for low season, go to Poc Na Hostel instead! It's cheaper and crowded by young people and the ambiance is perfect for meeting other travellers. And you are 5 minutes of walk from Play del Norte :)
Overall Maria del Mar is a good place but we will not returned at this hotel on Isla Mujeres. On low season, you can get something decent with AC for 350$ pesos. Hope it will help ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveReady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    243
    178
    84
    76
See reviews for
121
314
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Nice little hotel with the perfect location on playa norte. We stayed in room # 1 and had an awesome view out of our balcony. Right next to the beach, there is a nice bar with "swing" seats and curtained beds on the beach. Free water in the hotel, so we filled our water bottles up daily. Can't beat it for the price!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carloatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just loved the place. If we ever go back, it will be this place. Why? Relaxed, on the beach, a nice swimming pool with hammocks, quiet, a nice cafeteria for having breakfast, a big balcony...
The rooms are not luxurious, but hey! who cares! For that price, it is more than enough.
Recommended:-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bosnic_belkisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We loved this place! Cabanas are placed around lovely pool in lush green garden just few steps away from the best beach on the island. At the time of our stay there were a lot of families with children. Rooms are spacious with large verandas or balconies cleaned daily and with fresh drinking water. Breakfast is served in lovely bar & restaurant across the street called Buho's wherewi-fi is available only.
When we'll go to Isla de Mujeres again we will definitely stay here. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the cabanas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nenad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We booked our room online after debating whether to stay in Cancun or Isla Mujeres, and we were happy that we stayed here. We booked a "castle" room: the room was very clean, great view of the beach, AC worked well, updated furniture, plenty of room for luggage. We did not have any problems with reception whatsoever. Read about breakfast in the reviews, so already knew what to expect, but there are plenty other options in the city to eat breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner, and it is not expensive. Keep in mind, this is still a touristy place, so don't expect prices to be very low. You don't like the food, go to a grocery store. If you want to see a beautiful sunset - this is the place to be at. Overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank party_z_yanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

-I stayed in the Tower rooms, 3rd floor. I was here 2 weeks. Hotel is right on the beach. Very basic. Comfortable bed. Air conditioning worked great. In room safe, small fridge, and tv. Closet, but no dresser. Enjoyed the open balcony. They provide free purified water. The traveler photos accurately represented the hotel.
-The housekeeping staff are very friendly and cheerful. They came anywhere between 10 and 2.
-The bathroom is too cramped, more like a hostel bathroom. No water pressure. The biggest downside. I was fed up by the end.
-Noisier than I had expected. The doors made a lot of noise. I was woken up fairly frequently by people coming and going. The bar plays music until 11pm some nights (located next to the Castle rooms). It can be noisy around the pool area until late, mostly families with kids (located near the Cabana rooms). There was a late night karaoke party on the beach one night. And, the occasional party boat on the water kept me awake.
-I looked at several other places along the beach, and they have the cheapest rentals for umbrella/chairs.
-Rented a golf cart here, it was terrible. Rented from another place (Indio's on Ave Medina) that was much better and cheaper.
-Noticed that reception gave different answers for certain things-like taxi prices. One said 80 pesos no matter where on the island, this turned out not to be true.
-I contacted them two times about airport transfers, but never heard anything back. I made reservations with Best Day Travel and was exceedingly happy with them.
-If I stayed here again, I would pay more and stay in the Cabana or Castle rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank callee234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place should be better reviewed! I was wary after reading others' thoughts on Maria Del Mar, but pleased to find out they were not what I thought.

It is located central on Playa Norte, with beautiful beach views from the balconies in the tower rooms. The beach access is almost right outside your door. I stayed with a friend. We had a double tower room, and it was just what we needed. The rooms are rustic feeling, they've got wood furniture and shell lamps. We even had a fridge, and access to drinking water outside the door. I would say this, Maria del Mar is perfect for the price. We didn't have huge expectations, but were really satisfied.

Sand was hard to avoid tracking in to the room though. Maria's does not have a beach shower (or not one we saw), BUT Buho's is directly next door and has both showers and clean bathrooms if you want to rinse off. Also, the room was cleaned daily and the maid mopped and swept the floors.

There are some hold ups that come up for people it seems. For one thing, their included breakfast is coffee, juice, and toast. It's nice though if you just want to add eggs you've got a good breakfast. Or to have coffee before walking to get breakfast in town.

Also, beach chairs and umbrellas are not free for hotel guests. The are 50 pesos each. So two chairs and an umbrella are 150 pesos. Having read this prior to staying, we brought our own beach mats and towels and found shade under palm trees. The last day we did rent an umbrella (less than $4 when you think about it) and laid on our towels.

I was very pleased with the location and price. And would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Tower rooms have porches facing the courtyard and views of the beach. They are not completely privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Maria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Property: Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Address: Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Maria Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabanas Maria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Maria Del Mar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing