We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Affordable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada Del Mar
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Isla Mujeres (if you have never been you are missing an absolutely beautiful island and its people). I read many reviews for Posada Del Mar and some of them spoke of the rudeness of the staff. I am not sure what Posada Del Mar they were staying at but certianly not the same one we stayed at. Jorge greeted us when we arrived, helped us with our luggage, arranged for us a golf cart and let us know that he would be glad to help us with anything that we needed. The hotel is right across from the beautiful beach and within walking distance to downtown where most of the restaurants are located. The hotel was extremely clean, great air conditioning, provided beach towels and has a wonderful pool. The staff made reservations for a snorkel trip that was wonderful. Jorge and the rest of the staff were always happy to help us with our lack of Spanish, money exchange, directions and anything else that we needed. The rooms are not super fancy but we rented a mini suite and it was huge and very very affordable. We are already planning our next trip and we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 586 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Posada del Mar is a great place! It is right across from the beach and about a 5 minute walk from the Ultramar. The rooms are average bus still very clean and made up. Lets not forget about Rommi, the bartender. He has the best margaritas on the island, all fresh squeezed and good prices. He is very kind and will make you anything you ask. He is the main reason my family and I go there

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aglenn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I knew when I booked this, it wasn't going to be a "nice" hotel. I just wanted a clean, decent place to crash for two nights while on a whale shark trip. I've stayed at nice hotels, and not-so-nice hotels... but I think this was one of the worst. Our first impression was of the rude man at the reception desk. I had to say "hola" for him to even acknowledge us and we were the only ones in there. He was texting. He said he put us in the "new" building. Well, that was a flat out lie. The room was clearly about 30 years old. At one point they had painted the walls and left on the blue painter's tape, which is probably part of the wall now. There were brown splatters on the ceiling which I'm guessing were bug splatters? There was mold at the base of the shower and cockroaches in the bathroom. The bathroom sink faucets were busted and were just shatters of plastic. Hoteles.com says there is an in room safe. Well, there's not. So we lugged our expensive camera equipment around with us. What else... the AC unit was stuck on 16 degrees celcius, so it was either hot or freezing. They had a disgusting old coverlet on the bed and a smelly old brown blanket in the closet. There was one outlet in the room about a foot over the television, good luck charging your phone with that. Oh! and the TV.. is only fuzz... but you can at least hear the channels ok. And there's no wi-fi in the room. The bed is a rock. The patio had some dried brown liquid that had ran down the wall. Ok, I think I'm done. The hotel is cheap and in a good location but needs serious TLC, stay somewhere else. I can't understand the good reviews. I live in Mexico, I'm used to the "good enough" attitude. But this hotel just does not care.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mistinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is no five star resort but a perfect, low key, beautiful view and great location spot! The staff will help you book any tour/excursion you would like to take. Safe, quiet rooms. And the beach is right in front of you.. Couldn't get a better deal for your buck on the island!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed at Posada Del Mar several times in the past and always had a great stay, we had not been in over 6 years until May 29th, 2013. We literally booked and arrived in less than 24 hours with no worries or issues at all, thanks so much Nacho!!!! When we arrived Jorge took us to a room held for us, but we asked for something different and without any problems, Jorge took us to look at a couple of other options and got us a great 2nd floor room in the new section with a nice ocean view. The new buildings are nice and have great views. The entire staff at Posada are so nice and helpful and make sure to say something to you every time they see you, our maid Guadalupe "Lupita" was great, our room was always cleaned early and she made us pretty towel are each time and always said something to us when she was walking around the property. I can't wait to go back, we love Isla Mujeres and the Posada Del Mar. I want to mention a few of the staff who made our stay so great: Nacho, Jorge, Adrian, Romi and Guadalupe "Lupita", thank you all so much!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THEONLYMRSHOLLYWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at Posada Del Mar several times in the past and always had a great stay, we had not been in over 6 years until May 29th, 2013. We literally booked and arrived in less than 24 hours with no worries or issues at all, thanks so much Nacho!!!! When we arrived Jorge took us to a room held for us, but we asked for something different and without any problems, Jorge took us to look at a couple of other options and got us a great 2nd floor room in the new section with a nice ocean view. The new buildings are nice and have great views. The entire staff at Posada are so nice and helpful and make sure to say something to you everytime they see you, our maid Guadalupe "Lupita" was great, our room was always cleaned early and she made us pretty towel are each time and always said something to us when she was walking around the property. I can't wait to go back, we love Isla Mujeres and the Posada Del Mar. I want to mention a few of the staff who made our stay so great: Nacho, Jorge, Adrian, Romi and Guadalupe "Lupita", thank you all so much!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THEONLYMRSHOLLYWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Posada a few times now and love it. We booked our room less than 24 hours before arrival. We we arrived Jorge greeted us and took us to our room. It wasn't exactly what we wanted, so we checked out a couple other rooms. Jorge was very nice and we loved our 2nd floor room in the new section. Nice view of the bay overlooking Cancun. Some people complain about poor service or lack of caring from the staff, but we've never witnessed this. I think these people just don't understand Isla. It's very different than Cancun and other parts of Mexico. Very slow paced, which makes a great getaway! It's a place you have to go with the flow which is what we love about it. Can't wait to go back. The drinks at the bar are a little pricey for Isla, but there are plenty of options for that!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#18 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chac Chi Hotel & Suites
Chac Chi Hotel & Suites
#11 of 39 in Isla Mujeres
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Del Mar

Address: Avenida Rueda Medina 15A, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $70 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Posada del Mar, an island tradition! The Posada del Mar is located close to the downtown area, and a short distance from the island's world famous North Beach. We have 98 rooms with ocean and/or pool view, including rooms with flat-screen TVs, mini-refrigerators and in-room safe deposit boxes. All rooms have individual air-conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, cable TV, and private bath. The relaxing friendly atmosphere, is ideal for a pleasant and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Posada Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Mar Isla Mujeres
Posada Del Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing