We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Posada Del Mar(Isla Mujeres)
$89
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa La Media Luna Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$97
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$271
$191
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nautibeach Condos(Isla Mujeres)
$204
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
$184
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$79
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rocamar(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$107
$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$584
$555
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
$479
$424
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (932)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveler rating
315
296
148
74
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
296
148
74
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach sideplunge poolplaya norteyoga retreatbeach bedsbeachfront roombeautiful beachcontinental breakfastpalm treesbest beach on the islandlaid backbeach locationhotel restauranthot waterwhite sandlobby areaan umbrella
Filter
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 932 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed in the nicest room in the whole hotel.
Very nice location. Beach is very relaxing.
Problems:
-Mosquitoes, think maids left doors open when they came in to clean, one sliding door did not close all the way so might have come in from there. We spent every night killing mosquitoes for almost an hour.
-Noise, right across the water from our room was vibrate the walls noisy on kereoke night until after eleven pm most nights (at the Avalon Reef Club). We were kinda in early to bed early to rise mode on this trip and it was not a quiet retreat as we had hoped. Had to use earplugs to fall asleep every night.
-If you wanted jets to work in hot tub you had to walk over to reception area across the compound and have some one walk back to your room and turn on jets for you.
Was a really nice place but would not have paid full price and will just get a regular room if we go again.
Food was decent at hotel but we enjoyed the walk to town to have our meals out most of the time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipti29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This has to be the best hotel on Isla Mujeres. We had a lovely beachfront room, which was huge, very clean and had a terrace. It is in a quiet location but still close to the centre (10 mins walk) for all the restaurants and bars. We were there in low season so didn't get to benefit from the beach bar and only ate in the restaurant once for breakfast (which we thought was overpriced). The staff are really friendly and helpful, great pool and direct access to the beach and use of the hotel's beach 'beds'. Definitely recommend the hotel to stay, but eat elsewhere. Definitely hire golf buggies and explore the island and hold out for a good deal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

This is our third trip to Isla. We love the island and the people. We have stayed at the Icxhel and Maria Del Mar but agree that the Na Balam is our favorite. It is a perfect mix of Mexican rustic and necessary amenities. We had a second floor room overlooking the child play area and the beach. This hotel sits on the nicest stretch of North Beach; shallow and calm enough for young children and plenty of shady palm trees. The room is clean, spacious and charming. As all bathrooms in Mexico, be prepared for low pressure and no paper allowed in the toilet :-). We arranged airport transport through the hotel. This was a great idea. Even after the flight times changed the hotel staff was able to alert the transport company and make the transport completely seamless.
The only improvement we would make is the addition of a large water container in the room.
Will definitely stay at the Na Balam again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyVaca085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at Na Balam, and we will most definitely go back again and again. This is the place to stay if you want a true Isla experience. We were a group of six - 3 married couples looking for a relaxing and effortless 5 day vacation. Both Na Balam and Isla provided that for us. All of the staff at Na Balam are friendly and helpful, especially our new friend Santiago. The rooms are basic but have everything you need. The second floor rooms on the Pool Side are really the most charming with the thatched roofs, and you can sit out on the little porch in either chairs or hammocks. While you're closer to the water if you stay in the beach side rooms, they aren't quite as "authentica". The location is perfect: on Playa Norte, and a really really short 5 minute walk to Hildago Avenue, where most of the shopping and restaurants are. Another short walk down the beach to the Sunset Grill where you can get buckets of beer and nice mixed drinks while you watch the sun fall. Honestly, this small resort is nothing fancy, but just perfect if you're not into Cancun style high rises and all you can eat buffets.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deniseg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We had a great time here. The hotel is quiet and has a really nice location at the reputedly best beach on the island. Our room was very stylish and perfectly suited our needs, even. The pillows were not very good, though. Helpful staff and good restaurant with great on-beach service. Be carefoul with moscuitos!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sshebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews