We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Na Balam, the staff is very helpful and everyone is friendly. The perfect beach is a few steps away and the grounds are lush. The room was minimalist but had everything that we needed.

A few things that could have made the stay even better, but were in no way deal breakers: a more comfortable bed, wifi in the rooms, update the tile and grout in the shower and more options for the continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 9, upstairs facing the beach was nice. Quiet and a nice view through the palms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for Na Balam Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 873 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived from London Gatwick into Cancun 5th October 2013 and found it simple enough to book an A/C taxi via Easy Cars in advance that took us straight to puerto Juarez so we could get the 15min ultramar transfer to tranquility (140 pesos open return). Upon arriving at Isla Mujeres it's easy enough to pick a taxi up out front ( all have a minimum fare of 40 pesos so you know where you stand) and for the 2p it costs just get a taxi if you have posh suitcases is well worth the shrapnel - backpackers do the walk, you have already been carrying the trusted backpack for sometime now and will give you early bearings . The hotel is in a great spot, as my title states it is by far the best spot on the beach ( I hear Na balam has been going since the 70s). If you can, upgrade to a junior suite, it's well worth the extra money for simple classy comfort with views and a plunge pool to die for. Now the bar next door Fenix, is not open everyday but when it is your thoughts are accompanied with chill out lounge music that should be easy for all, if not - stay somewhere else. For the 5 nights we stayed we found the food, the staff, the views impeccable. Enjoy all...we did.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ztk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Super friendly staff make you feel welcome to this hidden beach getaway. Located with in walking distance to several restaurants, Bars and shopping make this a great place. Rooms are very roomy with freezing cold air conditioner, updated baths, and private balcony. Walk out your door and your on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite upgrade for only $30 additional.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were looking for a place to relax and enjoy for 5 days and we got it all at this quiet and excellent-located hotel. The best is the location of the hotel in Playa Norte, the most beautiful beach we have ever been. Water is calm, clean and warm, an incredible natural swimming pool. Forget about hotel pool and jacuzzi. Hotel buildings and facilities are in perfect harmony with the natural environment. Our room faces the beach, has a nice terrace, was big and clean, and with all the essential supplies. We feel comfortable, although it is not very sophisticated. Staff is very nice, efficient and helpful, especially Melanie at the front desk who made everything easier for us to have a great time. Restaurant food is excellent and staff serve you on the beach too. Continental breakfast was included: fruit plate or juice, bread, jam and butter, and coffee or tea; just enough. Menu has more good options. We definitely recommend it for vacation.

Room Tip: beach facing rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVU2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent one week here and really did enjoy it. It is no more than 3 stars though, and that was fine with us, but if you don't like 3 stars, don't stay here. Our toilet leaked and needed to be flushed several times after most uses. The AC is loud so we didn't hear the beach at night while sleeping but that wasn't a huge deal. Great food at the restaurant Zazil Ha though yes, the continental breakfast is a little lame. Staff is great, helpful, all spoke English and the staff who worked the beach were great. Like another reviewer said, the place does look tired but we didn't mind. The beach is stunningly gorgeous, the most beautiful I've seen. It was a great getaway for us. Besides for the dysfunctional toilet we were happy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charaudeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hopefully a fair reflection from someone who until recently used to stay in 50+ hotels a year globally.
Staff were amazing & the manager Israel can't fault. Restaurant meals were wonderful(a quick plug also though for Manino's restaurant<in the main town on the Ocean front, just right of ferry port was an outstanding eatery: their fish and ceviche is seriously to die for(caught daily) & wonderful owners), although the inclusive breakfast of 2 slices of uncooked toast/bread and tiny fruit plate was pretty lame. However, and I'm sure he(Israel) knows this but is prob out of his hands, the hotel needs seriously updating & replacing light bulbs/cleaning plunge pool, maybe adding some plunge pool night lights, colour in the white rooms, better beds/mattresses etc a bit more of a personal TLC as it does look somewhat tired. We stayed in an ocean front junior suite(small normal room really) with plunge pool(way way over priced for what you get~bathroom tiny, door only opens partially then hits toilet)<advise if you stay here choose the poolside rooms & negotiate a much lower rate, unless an Ocean view is essential(although view is mainly blocked out by palm trees, but still nice to hear the water & see the Ocean). The pool & jacuzzi located on the other side of the street were great.

So, in summary, would I stay there again? Not at the prices or current state~sorry Na Balam, as it could be a wonderful place, especially with the staff you have. Non the less we really did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Although the Ocean view(we stayed in room 16<next to restaurant) rooms are nice to have with a pa...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were here for almost 10 days and couldn't be happier. The beach side rooms are great, clean, quiet. The staff was super friendly, Melanie and Jessica at the front desk are who we dealt with most and they were completely awesome. The staff at the restaurant, and I mean everyone, were great, very helpful. The continental breakfast was a plate of fruit, some toast and coffee or tea. It doesn't sound like much, but it was the perfect amount. The standard rooms don't have TVs or mini-fridges. The jr suite has both, neither have alarm clocks, just something to keep in mind. If I hadn't been sick one day from the rain, we wouldn't have missed a TV at all. The hotel is right on Playa Norte, the most beautiful beach I've been on. and it's only a slow 10 min walk into town, which makes it away from the noise and cluster of business, but close enough to enjoy a night out. I felt completely safe the entire time on the island. The locals are very warm and friendly. I highly recommend this location. There is no room service, but since the restaurant faces the beach on 3 sides, I have no idea why you would want to eat in your room anyway. We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: beach side rooms are nicer. The restaurant cannot charge meals to your room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DataGirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $124 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing