We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great hotel with very good service, even if most of the staff speak spanish. Nice rooms and clean, with safe box. Yoga courses. Pool. Try to get a room with sea view, even if the rooms at the back are new.

Excellent restaurant with local food. Definitely you should give it a try and taste the seafood.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with sea view, even if there rooms are older that those at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    267
    131
    64
    85
See reviews for
172
388
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went for a week stay at Na Balam with our two toddlers and loved it. It has a true Mayan feeling in my opinion. Yes, it is a little rustic in some areas but overall a great place and the most beautiful beach.

Pros:
Nice big rooms with great, QUIET air-condition (Mr. Slim)
Best beach. White sand, turquoise waters. Lots of shade and palm treesThe Caribbean dream.
No party people staying here
Nice beach beads that are free. Umbrellas and deck chairs also free
Great restaurant right on the beach
Play structure by restaurant
Other eating option on-site (Fenix) which was also great. Also several beach type restaurant on the beach in walking distance
Walking distance to Ferry and Downtown
Good snorkling nearby at Avalon
Breakfast included (some complain about it but I thought it was fine: bread, fruitplate and good coffee)
Refrigerator can be rented
Nice pool our kids enjoyed

Cons:
Restaurant and reception personal was friendly but not very pro-active
Plumbing system not so great. Sometime very hot water would come out of both faucets
No beach service unless you ask for it
Party boats come in to swim at the beach (worst in the afternoon where we were not on the beach). Didn't bother us though.
No WIFI or TV in room (available in reception and restaurant) which actually turned out to be somewhat a con for us :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6 close to the ocean and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We celebrated my girlfriends birthday here, a place she has wanted to return to for 15 years. Na Balam is serene and laid back. The staff is very helpful and the restaurant is beautifully located at the beach. The rooms are very comfortable, but slightly outdated, as this hotel was built over 20 years ago. The updates are nice, but they could do more. The service on the beach is non existent, you have to go to the restaurant to get service. I expected more for the price you play.
This place could be the nicest place on the island with a little bit of tender loving care and better more timely service from the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room as far away from the Fenix Bar, which is just to the east side of the hotel for a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After visiting Isla Majures several times on day trips from Cancun, we decided to stay there for 3 nights in August. We were worried after so many negative reviews about the staff and hotel itself. We found the staff to be very helpful and nice. They are a little reserved is all and there can be a little language barrier at times. The beach front room with plunge pool is very over priced for the amenities. The best thing about the room was it was spacious and clean. You cant see the beach because of the large wall off the room that goes to the plunge pool. The plunge pool should be removed, the walls taken down, so you can see and walk out to the beach. The plunge pool is nothing more than a square, full of rain water and bugs. Ours did not circulate. It does not appear that it has worked for a long time. Just sits and fells with rain water, leaves and bugs. After being all over the Caribbean, we both decided this location is way over priced for what you get. Someone could make it an ideal spot, with a nice makeover. We did enjoy the restaurant food and the staff there were also nice and very attentive. The hotel just needs a makeover badly!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is based in a perfect location and has good facilities for its price level. However, the maintanance and service level totally ruin the experience. Examples: for 4 days we couldn't get someone to fix a leak on the sink, the toilet room stinks with fumes that come out the drain pipe, a/c didn't work and we had to sleep without for a whole night because there's just no one at front desk during night time, there's never fruit in the restaurant and so on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korneevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Na Balam Beach Hotel is alright, as compared to the Avalon; however, the Avalon offers a QUIET place to sleep and the Na Balam has the WORST techno bar music EVER on Saturday nights! I am composing this review after being awoken from a sound sleep by the bass shaking my room next to the raging Fenix bar, also owned by Na Balam. This is unfortunate, as I can see past the bugs and rude staff; however, when you disturb my sleep and cause me to work during the wee hours of the morning on a vacation this is where I draw the line!!! DO NOT stay here if you would like to relax and SLEEP on a Saturday night. The Fenix staff is also VERY rude and they are just looking to make ANOTHER PESO from any poor drunk looking to tear up the "night." So disappointing... Please stay elsewhere and enjoy this amazing island!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttershit1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Isla Mujeres
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and my wife arrived to there yesterday ( 28-08-2013) , we orderd 2 nights and left after the first night, the hotel is very stink and you have many cockroach all over the place, staff is very tough and destroy my vacation.
the room look like a room from world war II and the sheet is dirty and wet, when we complain the staff we did not get a clean sheet.
another thins is that air conditin is not working and the toeilt is clean
plase do your self a favor and dont go to this garbich can.
Asaf And Oshrit

Room Tip: go to provilage we moved to privilage and it is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsafRomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Property: Na Balam Beach Hotel
Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing