We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst hotel i have ever been in my life...dont go there....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and my wife arrived to there yesterday ( 28-08-2013) , we orderd 2 nights and left after the first night, the hotel is very stink and you have many cockroach all over the place, staff is very tough and destroy my vacation.
the room look like a room from world war II and the sheet is dirty and wet, when we complain the staff we did not get a clean sheet.
another thins is that air conditin is not working and the toeilt is clean
plase do your self a favor and dont go to this garbich can.
Asaf And Oshrit

Room Tip: go to provilage we moved to privilage and it is very good
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsafRomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
There are newer reviews for Na Balam Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 875 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a nice hotel. The room was spacious, clean, with a balcony and hammock. I visited in august, so it was very hot. Nice in the early morning and after sunset for walking.
Front desk gracious and helpful and good English language skills.
The worst part of this hotel is the restaurant. The staff are terrible. I am accustomed to the slow pace in mexico and do not mind, but the staff in this restaurant do not smile, ignore the customer, and stand around, even when the place is almost empty. Summer is off season, so I think there is disdain for summer travelers (budget travel). I even heard a discussion about how "they don't want to pay"
Sullen, lazy employees. The continental breakfast was a joke. Two small pieces of toast and a few small pieces of fruit. No refill on coffee here.
For the price of the room, I expected better. But the wait staff and service are the big and only problem at Nabalaam

Room Tip: Try the restaurant for the view but service and staff sullen faces a downer. Walk down the beach to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenalaobscura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Na Balam for 5 days for our honeymoon. It isn't like the big resort hotels that you see in Cancun. It's a small little hotel with private rooms. We had a gorgeous view of with ocean on both sides of our room because the hotel is located right at the north point so you get ocean and beautiful white-sand beach all around the hotel. The receptionist was very helpful and knowledgeable about the island and different activities to do on the island. The hotel is just a short walk away from the centro where all the shopping and restaurants are which makes for a fun evening. The hotel has 2 restaurants that offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We thought the food was pretty good but if you stay here you will definitely want to check out some of restaurants around the island. Overall we thought the food was good, the service was very friendly, and the views were amazing. If your looking for a huge resort type hotel this is not the place. This is a very nice quaint hotel located on the best beach on the island. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

THis was the worst place I have ever stayed, there advertisinig and room amenities are false, I satyed there for a week (just checked out 8/12) in a room that ad a bed 2 chairs and 2 mirrors, no personality, no warmth no comfort. When I wattempted to check out I was told that I was put there by a travel company (Expedia) and the person paying the bill woudl still be charged. Out of respect for that person I stayed the reaminder of the week.
The girl at front desk on check in was rather unwelcoming, and did not offer any assistance on renting a golf cart, where to eat, or cab fares. The restaurants on site are not part of the hotel so there is no charging anything to the room. Zazil Ha the Continental Breakfast consisted of Juice or a fruit platter (not both) coffee and some day old bread, ordering a drink from the bar, hope you are not thirsty, almost 15 minutes to get a drink, better bring your wireless device with you as you will need something to do while waiting for the slow bartender. The drink menu offerss various helthy drinks (juices) to prmote health and well being in line with the spoosed mindset of the hotel, well non of them were available for a week, they had no carrots, no beets, nothing to make a healthy drink. The FENIX (next door) was the best part of the hotel complex although not part of the hotel, the waiter and the bartender were extremely helpful friendly and took their time to explain how things on this island were done. This was the only place local that accepted AMEX so you knew you would get a fair exchange on the USD.

Room Tip: Stay in a different place, most rooms I peaked in on were bare bones
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We called the hotel to book for a week. A rate of $198 USD was agreed upon and the first of seven nights prepaid on CC. Upon arrival the room was not ready and we were instructed to go to the restaurant for a snack, at which point we noticed the rates were sitting on the counter. The room we had booked was actually $172 per night. After asking why we were paying $198, were advised that that was a walk in rate. We had just walked in ! After some discussion and the threat of not staying for the week , a nightly rate of $172 was agreed upon.
The view from the restaurant was very nice as were the drinks and snacks. Service which we had read being terrible was good. When our room was finally ready , we walked up the stairs and tried one of the three keys. We got in. Large basic room with patio and king bed. The patio had the lowest chairs which at a height of 6 inches would not allow you to enjoy the view over the concrete barrier. Small sitting area in room(2 chairs and a table) offered little comfort. The bed all be it a king was not comfortable and had stains on the comforter. The bathroom was tiny as the door hit the toilet bowl and was in desperate need of renovations. The room had no fridge , TV, WIFI, phone, ice bucket or machine, or drapes that fit the windows.
We did realize prior to booking that this was a simple "Yoga" retreat ( which is not included) but a few simple amenities would have been nice.
In our hurry to unpack we must have missed the jurassic size red ants all over the bathroom and walls but they introduced themselves before we turned in. Sleeping was entertaining.
At dinner we over heard a local speaking to his daughter and asked what his opinion was of Na Balam. He said over priced for what was offered and that he knew many places at less than half the rate with much more offered.
We slept (or attempted to) the night and checked out in the morning to stay at our locals recommendation. Which was fantastic.
The included continental breakfast was a joke . Bruised apple with mused mango and coffee with floaties was less than acceptable.
Upon checkout Jessica the front desk clerk who was friendly listened to all our reasons for leaving early and even asked us to write this review to help make some needed changes at the hotel.
We were not expecting fancy, or high end , and have spent much more for accommodations, but the value was just not there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylandDarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The location is perfect! We booked an ocean view room, which I recommend for sure. The room was simple but nice and clean. BE PREPARED TO HAVE NO TV, INTERNET, OR PHONE in the room. I wasn't aware of that prior to our stay, and it didn't bother me at all! It turned out to be really PEACEFUL! I was a little disappointed that the AIR CONDITIONING wasn't on in our room when got there. It was so HOT that day too---we turned it on but the room cooled down quickly. Good thing there was bottle water in the room to cool us down (will provide you with 2 bottles a day)!

There was a comfortable hammock on the balcony, along with beautiful lemon and coconut trees surrounding it. The beach was literally right outside our room-that is what I loved the most. There are cozy beds spread out on the beach along with wooden chairs ready for your comfort. If you want an umbrella put up all you have to do is ask free of charge. You can order food and drinks from the restaurant next door while you are relaxing on the beach. Did I mention how BEAUTIFUL the BEACH is?!?! SOOO GORGEOUS!!!!

The Hotel staff were okay.I would have rated the Na Balam higher if I hadn't had conflict with the staff. Israel (works at the front desk is the manager) seemed friendly at first, until we ran into a conflict situation. We booked snorkeling with Amilia (works at front desk) and she shared with us that the cost included transportation to and from the hotel along with food. Well the transportation wasn't there to pick us up to take us back. This was upsetting because we were tired from snorkeling all day (8am-4pm) and it was super HOT! We ended up taking a taxi back. When we shared this with Israel he quickly became upset and told us that transportation back was not part of the snorkeling deal. Meanwhile, Amilia didn't speak up about it and Israel became really snooty
and unprofessional. We asked him to pay for the taxi and he did but with an attitude and Israel or Amilia didn't apologize for the mix up/communication. DISAPPOINTING!!! This is why I am not sure I would book with them again--I LOVED EVERYTHING ELSE :D.

Also, we bought a pack of bottled waters and left them in our room (never opened) and they somehow mysteriously became missing. We asked our maid and front desk about it--and nothing!!!

Yoga was great! It is $15 to attend a class. They offered a 9:30am or 11:30am class each day. The teacher was a sweetheart and very good. They will provide you with mats/blankets/blocks :D.

Overall, I had a GREAT time!

Room Tip: Beach View room for sure!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vbonita813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and headed to Isla Mujeres to snorkel with whale sharks. After landing uneventfully in Cancun, it took about 30 minutes by taxi to get to the ferry depot for the 20 minute ferry ride over to Isla Mujeres. After a five minute taxi ride, we arrived at Na Balm hotel. Two-thirds of the hotel is on the beach side of the road; we were in the third on the other side of the road, with the small pool. The room was large, with plenty of storage. At first I thought the hot water was lacking, but it just took a really long time to reach us. The room was air-conditioned, but the maids usually turned it off during the day and it took until late evening to cool down sufficiently—it was August, after all. Our only real complaint was the extremely loud music that carried on until 2am on Saturday and Sunday nights—the bar (not part of the hotel) was right across the street from our room. We would be willing to stay at that hotel again, mainly for its convenient location, but only if we were guaranteed a room far far away from the loud music. When we asked about switching rooms, the front desk staff continually told us there were no rooms available.

Na Balm was only a couple blocks away from the main part of town; we had dinner at a different restaurant each evening, usually enjoying outdoor dining. A continental breakfast was offered at the hotel, consisting of juice or a nice fruit plate, coffee or tea, and toast. After breakfast each morning we waded out to the boat for the hour long ride to the area the whale sharks hung out.

Na Balam was handy to town and perfectly adequate, except for the noisy bar.

Room Tip: Don't pick room #31 or any rooms near the bar.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnderwaterDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $126 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing