We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget Cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Na Balam Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Forget Cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The beach here is absolutely fabulous. The hotel is ok, rooms and everything's fine, but the real gem of this place is its extremely comfortable beach side. They provide great chaise-longues to enjoy the pleasant caribbean surroundings in a rustic but very comfortable setting, and the beach is not crowded, you can always find a nice place where to lie down and relax. The sunsets are awesome and you can enjoy them from the restaurant right there, which provides great cocktails and very good free wi-fi.

And by the way, Isla Mujeres is a much better option than Cancun if you're over 30, just take the ferry and in half an hour you have your own little piece of paradise, as oppose to the horribly crowded modern, noisy and highly urbanised Cancun.

Room Tip: This place is all about the beach, get a room close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    241
    117
    61
    80
See reviews for
149
350
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just returned from an amazing 5 nights at Hotel Na Balam. Everything was perfect from the spacious and clean accommodations to the most helpful and understanding staff members. The restaurant and waiters were great and it is the most beautiful beach on the island. Cannot wait to return... thanks again Na Balam.. I relaxed which is not an easy thing for me to do!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chez77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ok. Quickly,this Hotel is a green mode (lacks technology), which that's its prime purpose to simply forget about time, internet, and other funky utilities that we use every dam day. At this Hotel we surely enjoyed our stay. However, the waiters SUCK and lack education. I felt they were lucky to even have a job in this field. I am from NYC and Yes, i did let the guy know, like hey, do we owe you anything, shape that attitude up. Over-priced menu, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and will Absolutely stay again. Rats? Never saw any. As per the reception staff, they were extremely polite and even helped me coordinate a ROMANTIC PROPOSAL dinner. They ordered the roses, which of course i paid. This tiny island is the best to relax your mind, unlike CANCUN strip, where so many idiots getting wasted. God bless.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Na Balam has rooms both almost on the beach and rooms half a minute from the beach. We were two couples and had booked close to the beach. One room was upgraded to almost on the beach, so we choose an upgrade for the other room as well. Cost $82 pr night but then with own outdoor pool and a large bath in the floor inside. The bath did not work, the outdoor did and it was overlooking the beach. Quite nice. The restaurant of the hotel was very good. Quick and friendly waiters, excellent food, try the variants of giant shrimp, delicious. Breakfast was with a lot of fresh fruit, good coffee and and (important to me) quick refills. The beach had service as well, also quick and efficient, and the beach was wonderfull. There was yoga at the hotel, only to be recommended. We hired a golf car for four persons and went all down to the south end of the island. Do it if you visit Isla Mujeres. It is easily done in a day. Then visit the turtle farm halfway down south. Very interesting and you see very small baby turtles, you hear about the programme for rescuing the sea turtles.
For us this was a perfect start for 2 weeks in Yucutan. After Isla Mujeres we went to Playa del Carmen, Rio Lagartos nature reservation, Valladolid, Chichen Itza and Tulum. Two wonderfull weeks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EbbeGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is my third visit to Na Balam Beach hotel and it was very relaxing! I found the people at the front desk to be very helpful, especially Brianna and Israel. The room was very clean & comfortable. This is not your 4 star hotel! It is low key and intimate-the amenities are basic, but that is all you need here if you want to relax. If you want bells and whistles, go to Cancun!!!


I would add a lock to the screen door so you can leave the glass door open at night!
This is just a minor crit - top sheet under the blanket!!!!!!!!!!

I love the restaurant, but it could be more up beat in the evening-different music each nite-love Laura Nero, but not the same tape each night?
A bit more variation on the restaurant menu - maybe a special each night, a barbecue on the beach?????( pork, fish, chicken- something special each night to bring more people to the restaurant)
The staff is lovely, but need to be a bit more aware of the customers.

Room Tip: Second floor-You get a breeze and do not have to use the air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irisjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Had read good reviews on this place and it was a complete letdown.

The positives - location is great and hammock with no tv in the room is a good fit for this island.

The negatives - apart from the nice Mexican lady that works mornings, the expat front desk staff are useless and didn't care for a couple of young travellers. We got in a bit early, our room want ready, that's fair enough, but they couldn't even check us in on time and we ended up waiting 3 hours!

The restaurant - terrible, staff are not friendly (I mostly got ignored), it's expensive and the food's crap

No Internet in the rooms - if you want wifi you have to go to the outside lobby which means you will get eatten alive by Mosquitos.

The room had no lighting and little natural lighting due to its positioning.

For the most part I just felt like they didn't care or like us, which was not nice. Have had some great hotels on my trip but this is not one of them. I say look somewhere else in the area.



  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djlowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

My title sums it up, just ok. We stayed on the pool side our room was clean, the beds were a little hard but not uncomfortable. The room key was completely irritating! It worked if you jiggled it just right, a couple of times the first day we just gave up. As others have stated the beach towels for pool side are brown and thin while beachside towels are striped and thicker. Why have two different types if it is all one hotel?!?
But you don't stay here for the towels you stay for the location which you just can't beat.
The service at the restaurant was good, only once did someone point out that tips weren't included. We ate lunch beachside most days from the restaurant. Not the cheapest way to go but super easy when you are in lazy vacation mode with two kids !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutbutterPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#23 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Property: Na Balam Beach Hotel
Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing