We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Playa La Media Luna Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$167
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Joya(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Del Mar(Isla Mujeres)
$79
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
$233
$211
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nautibeach Condos(Isla Mujeres)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa de los Suenos(Isla Mujeres)
$254
$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $263/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$91
$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$600
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
$584
$515
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveler rating
310
293
144
72
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
293
144
72
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach sideplunge poolplaya norteyoga retreatbeach bedsbeachfront roombeautiful beachpalm treesbest beach on the islandlaid backbeach locationhot waterhotel restaurantwhite sandlobby areaan umbrellahotel is beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 913 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just stayed for 4 nights here, it was alright. Great location on the island and would recommend that. No wifi except for the lobby where you get eaten by Mosquitos at night. The restaurant is overpriced and pretty poor really. I'm happy to tip people when they do a good job but when they do nothing and ask for tips I find that a bit rude, especially when you have an abundance of staff working doing nothing. Wouldn't bother with the eggs they are really oily. Other then that the food is decent. Our room was comfortable and clean. With a hammock in the room which was cool. Would stay there again if the price was right. And would recommend to others too. I'm sure that there are better places in the area though.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Nice beach, nice rooms. I am up at 12:41 am writing this review thanks to the fist pumping jersey shore ghetto club music pounding from zazil ha bar and restauarant in here. Have already asked to have it turned down once as it woke up my two and four year olds from a dead sleep an hour ago. Sucks sucks sucks. If you don't mind that, then find out the construction schedule before booking your stay. Starts REAL early, people. No naps for the toddler, thanks. Without the kids, I'd say the continental brekky was fine, the beach and services were good, and Israel at the reception is great (the ladies seem serious and/or jaded). Mind you. . . .i like a quiet place to relax and this has, for three days, not been it.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms with streetlights pouring into them. Look outside the window.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank otxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Na Balam and this time we brought my wife’s bother and his family. What was supposed to be a one night visit turned into a two nights because quite frankly it is hard to drag one’s self away from this bit of paradise. Located on the picturesque Play del Norte, Na Balam is a boutique hotel catering to those that want a quiet and relaxing Mexican vacation….however if you are looking for the Ritz, party life or a Four Star resort, them may I suggest staying over in Cancun. This is after all rural Mexico on a Caribbean Island with the main transportation is a golf cart.

This is a place that you want to spend the whole day on the beach reading a book and sipping your favorite adult beverage under the palm trees. The waters in front of the hotel are probably the best you will find on the island.

As for the rooms, large, minimalist, with firm beds. The first night we were over on the beach side and the second night we had to move over to the poolside – if staying over on the poolside, make certain you get a room on the second floor as the thatched roofs give a more open feeling and during the hot summer months, will help displace the heat buildup in the rooms…even though there is air conditioning. Word of warning for those that are squeamish with large lizards, I had the opportunity to share the shower with one of the local iguanas. He hung out on the top near the thatched roof and slept / observed my showering activity. If you are squeamish, Cancun is right over there…..

We did rent a golf cart to tour the island, and the front desk arranged for it and it was dropped off right at the hotel…so if this is your first trip to Isla Mujeres, do take advantage of the gold carts and spend the day touring the island.

If you have read these reviews you will see that they are pretty much polarized between people who expect the very best….and those that realize that this is a taste of “Old Mexico” which is the charm of Na Balam. Quite frankly, take a few days and sit on the beach and in the water and just chill….who cares about showering with iguanas and warm watered showers or if the hotel is under construction.

Room Tip: Do get a room over on the beachside.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpazCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a great time at Na Balam when we visited in March 2012 and I wrote a very positive review. This made us want to come back and we stayed at Na Balam again in November this year. As last time, we stayed in a room on the poolside. When we arrived, we realised that the pool was being worked on and when we questioned whether it would be finished during our stay the answer was simply no. Not even a sorry from reception. Not only the pool was being worked on but also the entrance to the hotel. The wonderful quiet area near the entrance where you could sit and go online last time was gone. Again, not a sorry that this might inconvenience the guest. The rooms in the back have a straw roof. This is generally not a problem, but this time around we saw a rat climbing across it, which was not great. After a few days, we asked to move rooms because of a very strong sewage smell, maybe because of the work outside. We were moved to an inferior room without so much as an apology. I also don't think it is appropriate to have separate types of beach towels for guests in the poolside rooms than for the others, it makes one feel like a second class guest. I still feel that the location of the hotel is great and the restaurant is very good. The guys in the restaurant, Ephraim, Romeo and Gabriel were always fantastic. Having said that I would not chose the hotel again. For the price charged, they did not deliver on quality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimi2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The room smelled pretty bad and as other commenter said, an iguana crawled on the walls of the Palapa we slept. The staff is is not very friendly and the breakfast is just basic (coffee or tea, toasts and juice, anything else needs to be paid). No wi-fi at the rooms, only near the reception.
I liked the location, since the sunset from the hotel beach is spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the rooms close to the ocean, never the ones in front of the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepsimax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews