We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our family stayed in a standard beach room and we were completely impressed by the quality and cleanliness of this place. It is gorgeous -- at night the entrances are torch lit with candles lining the walkway. During the day, the beautifully maintained grounds lead right up to the crystal clear blue water of the Mexican Caribbean. Inside, the room exudes a spa-like atmosphere. Very comfortable. The outdoor pool was also clean and lovely, surrounded by beautiful trees and flowering bushes.

On our last morning, I am embarrassed to share that our children accidentally knocked over a lamp and broke it. We apologized and offered to pay, and the hotel (which could have really gouged us) added a small "Miscellaneous Fee" to our bill for one quarter of what I expected to pay. They were so kind and gracious.

We will be back next year for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Pool side are just as lovely with an impressive cabana ceiling. We had a hard time deci...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenfoxpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments and we are very happy that you enjoy your vacation with us.
Hope to see you in a future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
There are newer reviews for Na Balam Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 875 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in a standard room for 5 days for a friend's wedding on the island; it was very clean. Loved the beach and the ocean view. My husband and I realized that Na Balam has the best beach in the area (sand quality, beds, view) and I was out on their comfy beach beds every day. The bar and restaurant had tasty brunches and I enjoyed many blended banana-rum drinks and mango lassi too (amazing!). My husband and I enjoyed our first yoga class together in one of their spacious high-ceiling yoga rooms. We had an issue with no hot water, but it was fixed when we notified the front desk.

Overall I felt safe in the area and it was an easy walk into town. Loved the ferry ride to the island. I would bring kids as they have a cool playground. There were some topless women as well as some interesting parties passing by on boats - but it's Mexico, what do you expect?

Room Tip: Don't get anything with a thatched grass ceiling. Our room was fine, but I've heard stories...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StudioDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments and we hope you visit us in a near future with your family.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Overall the place is wonderfull, just too many topless women in the beach and pool area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Mr. Jake H, our beach welcome all tourist and cultures most of our guest are from Europe and topless is how they take the sun on the beach.
We don't make any restrictions on this matter because all guest come to relax and enjoy a hotel that not only welcomes families but lots of couples who visit us and they are ok with this.
I hope you did enjoy your stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

After three nights in Cancun (Las Vegas on the beach) we wanted to feel as if we were in the Caribbean , not the US.
This hotel is perfect. We were to stay one night only, and rented an amazing upstairs suite, but when it came time to leave, we just couldn't, and ended up staying a second night, across the street in a first floor pool side room. So, having stayed at the best, and most economic room in the same stay, I'm confident in praising Na Balam.
The rooms are spare- clean and airy, white bedding, white sheer drapes, cool stone floors and walls. The grounds are so heavenly that there are not so many reasons to leave the property, other than walking onto the best beach in the Yucatan - Playa Norte.
We also enjoyed Zazil Ha, the associated restaurant for all meals, an a fresh green coconut drink.
Only one thing to mention to future visitors: I would make sure the hotel is not booked for a destination wedding. As we were checking out on Wed March 28, a large group, occupying almost all of the rooms was checking in. I expect our delightful experience would be different if we were surrounded by a large wedding party. So, when we return we'll be there mid-week, and check on wedding plans.
And we will be back- I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: Consider second floor poolside rooms, with palapa roofs, for best value.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bblair7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to read you had a Wonderful stay, please don't hesitate to contact us for your future stay so we can let you know what events we have in house.
The hotel is very popular for Weddings and January, February and March are the most popular months for this.

Hope to see you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had a great time at Na Balam. The staff were very friendly and helpful after there was a mix up with the booking through an agent. The hotel was overbooked and we had to stay in another hotel for a couple of nights. We were then upgraded to a nicer room for the last 4 days of our stay. The hotel is lovely with beautiful gardens and there are only 32 rooms so you get to know everyone very quickly. This hotel really has access to the best beach on the island (North Beach) and their restaurant is right on the beach so every morning you can look at the ocean while sipping your coffee. The food is great at the restaurant and they are open in the evening. The beach has great loungers and you get umbrellas put up for you and drinks and food service right on the beach too.Thanks to Gabriella, Adriana, Efraim and Romeo. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Go for upstairs rooms overlooking the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to meet you both during your stay, I'm very happy you had a great time at the hotel and we can only hope you will visit us again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Bleary, after a red-eye flight my friend and I entered the serene lush Na Balam gardens and were greeted by such a friendly and warm receptionist. All smiles, she made sure we had breakfast while our beachfront rooms were readied. The palapa style restaurant sits on the beach overlooking the heavenly blue waters and the food, including the continental breakfast, is wonderful. Our upper floor beachfront room, #3, was spacious with a ceiling to floor window/door which lead onto an equally spacious deck complete with 2 lounge chairs, table and a hammock. We were steps from sunbeds and Playa Norte. For a switch, we often spent languid afternoons by a charming garden pool where geckos and birds like to congregate too. Staff were always pleasant and were happy to give us ice for afternoon wine, and when there was a discrepancy with the final total they were quick to change it.
One little note to future visitors, you will have to get a big water jug into your room. Buy it when you are closest to Na Balam unless you are Hulk Hogan. This is an enchanting property, one which attracts visitors over and over again. That will be us next year.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms, especially the upper are the best, but there are stairs if mobility is an issue L...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments and I'll make sure our staff gets them. We hope to see you again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

First Isla Mujeres is a pearl, lovely atmosphere and very relaxing! I love it! I have been at Isla 7 times. I have lived at many different hotels at Isla, the best one is Na Balam!
My favorite beach is Playa Norte, it have palm threes at the beach and wonderful sunsets.
And Na Balam is placed right on the beach. Its worth to spend the extra on beachfront rooms. ;-)
Rooms is good and the staff friendly. The restaurant is very nice, excellent service and extremely well placed right beside the water and a beautiful overlook to the sea and the sunsets.
Watch this video at youtube its a little memory from our vacation: http://youtu.be/0F8x8P7PmMo

Look forward to the Na Balam and Playa Norte experience!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christin_Winther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments and for the video it look like you had a great time with us.
We hope you visit us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $136 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing