We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could actually rate it”
Review of Hacienda Mundaca

Hacienda Mundaca
Ranked #33 of 47 things to do in Isla Mujeres
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: House of a slave trader built in the 19th century.
Round Rock, TX
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wish I could actually rate it”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If I could have ever gotten in, maybe I could give it more stars. This is something I REALLY wanted to do. We went for three straight days while we had our golf cart, and it was closed every single day. No one ever knew when it would be open again, though it is supposed to be open from like 9-5 every day and we always went between 10:30 and 3:00. I am SO bummed about this!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cdnusbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    32
    47
    41
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manning, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent ten days in Isla and the entire time we were there,Mundaca was closed. We asked several ppl for answers but noone knew a reason. Really wanted to see it. The place looks very interesting from the place entrance.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rocky-n-beefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ZUMBA!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I got to teach a Zumba class at the Hacienda while I was on vacation - I LOVED IT! I was going to take the class and instead, I got to teach! What an awesome experience!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lad911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 740 helpful votes
“Worth for the price”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Its a nice place for 20/30 minutes there is the house of Mundaca and a nice walk for 30 pesos is worth for the price just check my pics.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank moineauQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place has really suffered from a lack of funding and care. It is overgrown, has some a limited exhibition - but all only in Spanish (which is quite typical in Mexico, they don't translate as other countries in museums). I explored hoping to discover a hidden gem but sadly it was missing. I get the feeling it should be a place celebrated but needs attention to make in a worthy attraction.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank onefliesoneswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Mundaca also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Hacienda Mundaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing