We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zip Lines and Hammocks”

Garrafon Natural Reef Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Garrafon Natural Reef Park Day Trip with VIP Area Access
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garrafon Park is a natural wonder on the island paradise of Isla Mujeres. With a spectacular reef for snorkeling, sprawling green areas with hammock gardens, cliffside paths, zip lines, kayaks, bicycles and the best views in the Mexican Caribbean, Garrafon Park is the ideal way to spend a day with your loved ones.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Zip Lines and Hammocks”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is an expensive park, but a great place to spend a half a day. The zip lines go out over the crystal clear water and are really fun. The hammock garden is true zen.
The infinity pool is gorgeous and relaxing.

Two tips - half a day is plenty and is a much better buy. Ask for the half day price (1-5pm). You will be offered a VIP option. It includes zip lines and a fancier restaurant. If you are not ziplining, don't waste the money. The 'fancy' restaurant was not much different from the other one and there are much better places on the island to eat anyway. Just go half a day, relax, have a snack and enjoy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelling P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello, thank you to taking time to comment, we appreciate it. We are glad to know that you had a great time at Garrafon Park, we invite you to come back soon to relax at our beautiful infinity pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    978
    552
    284
    152
    136
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

At the end of the day - four boat rides and sunburned, we felt we didn't have the most enjoyable experience. While waiting for the first boat to take us to Isla Mujeres we got swindled into buying a $20 bottle of sunscreen that was labeled biodegradable by someone unrelated to Garrafon but was selling it in the waiting area for the Garrafon boat. We were told by this person that the Island requires the use of this type of sunscreen. Well, it may have been only moisturizer because we were all sunburned at the end of the day. Once we arrived at Isla Mujeres the dolphins and the patrons were fun to watch. We only opted to do the snorkeling at Garrafon Reef. We were told that we had to take another boat ride to get to the reef. Once we arrived at the reef there wasn't much instruction on where to go or what to do. We changed and unloaded in the locker room and put our things into an empty locker to find out that we needed to get a key outside the locker room and be assigned a locker. We walk towards where we think the snorkeling was to find out we needed a form of ID to borrow the snorkeling gear. Lucky one of us was not snorkeling and had their wallet otherwise it would have been a trek back to the locker room. The water was a bit choppy so no kayaks were allowed to go out. The snorkeling was swimming along a roped barrier with buoys along the reef. We did see fish but the closer we swam towards the dock the water felt like it was pushing directly into your ear. It got too uncomfortable so we headed back. In order to catch the earlier boat from Isla Mujeres back to Cancun we had to leave on an early boat from Garrafon Reef to catch that boat. The buffet food was average. Overall, information about the facility and how to do things, where to go, etc. should have been better once you arrived.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank calmtmpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello, thank you to taking time to comment, we appreciate it because this is the way that we can hear the experience of our guest. We will let you know to management about your feedback in order to improve our service. Thanks again and we invite you to come back soon to enjoy a relax day at Garrafon Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My family had a great time at this park. Most of our family hung out by the pool and beach. Although, my son told me that the zip line was extremely fun. Also, my husband and other son went out snorkeling and they said that the view was great under the sea. Overall, a great time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayp2745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hello, we're glad to know that you and your family spent a great time at Garrafon Park, thank you to taking time to share your experience. We invite you with your family to come back in your next holidays to enjoy another great time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit for family with kids.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We headed to this reef park for snorkeling and Kayaking after swimming with the dolphins which are included in the package to Dolphin discovery tour. The view here was breathtaking and the water was beautiful. There were multiply hammocks hanging in the shades from the coconut trees which I wish I could lay there forever.

Zipline is extra charge.The Zipline was from the island to a tower in the water then to another tower then back to the shore. Kids loved it so much they did it twice. I enjoyed it too but wish it would be more steep or faster.

The snorkeling, however, was the worst I have ever experienced. Well maybe it is unfair to compare with Maui or Caribean or Phi Phi island. The water was not clear enough and fish was not colorful enough.

We also enjoyed the all inclusive drinks and food. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The services were friendly and helpful. Three hours there was not enough time. We were pretty content when we left. The boat ride back to Cancun was nice with the free drinks on the boat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi! we're happy to hear that you and your family had a good time at Garrafon Park, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Normally the wather is clear in the park but sometimes it changes because of the weather. We hope you and your family come back soon to enjoy another great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clairsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great day of relaxation!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This park is gorgeous from the minute you walk in. Palms and flowers. Hammocks in the shade. Facilities are clean and the employees are very friendly and helpful. Snorkel, swim in the infinity pool just to cool off. Beautiful. Relaxing under the palapas and enjoy the all inclusive beverages and food, a great place to visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Palacerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello! thank you for taking time to comment. We are happy to hear that you had an excelent time in Garrafon Park. We hope you come back soon for another great day at our infinity pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrafon Natural Reef Park also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Garrafon Natural Reef Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing