We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh, I would not spend my money here”

Garrafon Natural Reef Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Garrafon Natural Reef Park Day Trip with VIP Area Access
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Isla Mujeres Garrafon Natural Reef Park VIP Pass
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Drive and Snorkel Jungle Tour from Cancun
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garrafon Park is a natural wonder on the island paradise of Isla Mujeres. With a spectacular reef for snorkeling, sprawling green areas with hammock gardens, cliffside paths, zip lines, kayaks, bicycles and the best views in the Mexican Caribbean, Garrafon Park is the ideal way to spend a day with your loved ones.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eh, I would not spend my money here”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went for the day and spent 60 bucks each. Ships come over from cancun and pollute the area with the party atmosphere and it really is not that kind of place. We stayed on the island and would have rather stayed at playa norte beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PoshCGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    563
    294
    159
    140
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“LIKE SNORKELING IN NEW JERSEY”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I only leave a review when I am either very impressed or upset with something. My fiancé and I were so excited to snorkel before we headed back to Cancun. We stopped here on our gold cart and its was the worst mistake ever. We paid $60.00 and as soon as I jumped in the water I knew I made a big mistake. WHERE ARE THE FISH???? Not one fish. I swear to you. As the other reviewers said, its also roped off which makes the experience that much worse. The reason my title for this review is "LIKE SNORKELING IN NEW JERSEY" is because for the rest of our trip we laughed about it saying we just snorkeled in New Jersey. No offense New Jersey, but when you go to a Caribbean island you don't expect to snorkel in green water.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lino P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Deal for your $”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our day at Garrafon Natural Reef Park. We also went to Garrafon de Castille and it does not compare to the Natural Reef Park if you don't mind spending a little more money. For $49 you get an all inclusive day with ziplining, kayaking, snorkeling, bike riding, food and drinks. Service was great and the snorkeling couldn't have been better. The day at Garrafon was the best day of our trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like a theme park”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I personally disliked Garrafon. I will not be back. The techno-Mexican music blaring makes it next to impossible to relax, the food is horrible (fake nacho cheese on the quesadilla and very average dry hamburgers), the constant announcements on the loud speakers is annoying, the places to relax have beautiful views but there is not a swimming beach. The snorkling is lousy- really rough water, very little to see- the reef is dead. The zip line is ok...certainly leaves a lot to be desired. We are a young, adventurous couple, so its not that we dislike fun activities- this place felt like a very poorly done wanna-be theme park instead of a beautiful relaxing getaway. I would rather find a place on Playa Norte and enjoy the water. My husband and I felt that we had wasted a day at Garrafon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Day”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have been to Garrafon twice and both days were fantastic. It hasn't been crowded either time. There are plenty of places to relax and the people are very friendly. It is an easy day trip from Cancun and makes for a nice change of pace. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrafon Natural Reef Park also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Garrafon Natural Reef Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing