We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location!! High price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location is very bad, the hotel is not close to the beach.
There is smell of fishes from the near restaurant.
The price is too high for what you get..
Near the beach you could find much better hotels and fair prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yairmela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 420 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a nice stay at Bahia Chac Chi. It is right off Puerto Juarez so it was super easy to find when getting off the ferry. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of the ocean. The location was convenient in that its a short walk to Playa Norte and also a quick cab ride if you need to get to the south side of the island. We enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jansen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is steps from the ferry. It is clean and bright. The pool is small but perfect after a hot day on the beach or sight seeing. They provide bottled water that you can refill whenever you like.

The front desk staff were amazing. We needed a legal document printed and scanned on a rush basis. When we asked where the local internet cafe was they insisted on doing it for us. They directed us to great places to eat and drink.

Highly recommend this place as a convenient location to be close to everything. Plus they serve a continental breakfast.

We stayed August 21-23.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean room so you can sit on your balcony and watch the sunset.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onelawgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Thank you to all the great staff who made our stay a great one (especially Adeymar & Maria). The hotel is clean, comfortable, and in a great location. The beds are firm, yet very good quality and you will have a good night's rest. We loved our shower, tv, and the purified water. The hotel and island are phenomenal. We will be back again! Muchas gracias!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Continental breakfast, enough to get u by to lunch. Swimming Pool was cute and no sun comes thru because of the surrounding buildings, but the shade is very welcoming after a hot day at the beach. Rooms are clean and bright, except the beds are firm, we told the staff and they placed a mattress pad which helped, I loved the fact that it was steps from the ferry, maybe 2 blocks.
Do pick a Ocean view, stepping outside your room watching the ocean and the activity on the main road. Renting a golf cart is necessary to view the entire Island. All Activities are priced so much less than in Cancun!! didn't care for the vendor pressure in Cancun and the high prices (example) they (vendors) wanted to sale a bottle of liquor for $40.00! we found the same bottle at a market for $13.00 !!! Need to wheel and deal with the vendors or they will rob u in Cancun!
An excellent place to eat in Isla is Amigos resturant (ask the staff) in hotel for directions, Damian recommended it to us, we ate there twice! One more thing my daughter and I had a massage on the beach, the one that has pink lace on there Canopy, It was awesome!!! just let them know you don't want to sweat during the massage and they sprinkle water on you as they massage-A must before you leave Isla.... also you have to visit the far North side of the beach, very calm water and u can walk far into the beach. We also found a place where they do your laundry for $5.00 (depending on the weight) i believe it going towards the Amigo resturant. Ask a vendor he/they can direct u. we also did snorkeling from an individual vendor, skip that and do the zip lining and it includes snorkeling, boat ride,private beach and a buffet, we didn't have time to do this activity. Also ask hotel if prior visitors left toys for the beach. We left water noodles and a small surf holder for other visitors we bought at walmart in Cancun. by the way if you are in Walmart buy your souvenirs- there much cheaper.
Cancun visitors, take the bus downtown -its .80 cents one way. we had a group of 12 and most of the time we took the bus, we did take cabs but they can be expensive. we rented a car 1 day and were able to drive here and there and that's all the time we needed.
Resturant in Cancun, Mex-treme -great food and entertainment, once you get downtown ask for directions. Hope all this helps....have fun.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vgc217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I wish I could rate this property based on the front desk staff - they are truly amazing and I would provide 5 stars. Unfortunately, our impression of the comprehensive stay was not quite as favorable as during my prior visit to Bahia. With some adjustments though, I think the hotel could be top notch without much effort so I hope feedback will be considered.

The challenges faced during this stay:

- Housekeeping services (These were really below par on this stay. It was common practice for us to have to ask for washcloths, soap, etc. When I had to hunt down toilet tissue downstairs though, that was a little much. There should be an extra roll in every room. Our shower curtain was removed one day for an unknown reason. Later in the day we had to go find another one of those as well. It would also be ideal for housekeepers to be complete by early afternoon. Late room cleanings can be inconvenient for guests.)

- Inconsistent internet service without prompt repair (This was critical for me and one of the reasons I selected Bahia since I was working while on the island. Because it would not stay connected even with an ethernet cable, I had to leave the room and go to restaurants to work instead which was disappointing. This was not resolved over the 10 day stay which is sufficient time for a repair.)

- Phone outage (Rarely do I need a phone on an island, but I actually did need to change a shuttle reservation and could not do so because the entire hotel's phone service was out for multiple days. The front desk employee graciously went above and beyond to use his personal cell phone to assist us which was amazing but also very lucky because not all of the desk staff have this ability and the first person we asked wasn't able to help due to their coverage plan which is totally understandable.)

- Water (It is wonderful that there is a little purified water cooler by the pool where guests can refill water bottles. Unfortunately, this was empty one day. There really should be an extra jug on hand at all times.)

Room Tip: Select a high floor, bay view, whenever possible
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuburbtoSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very clean, modern hotel, half a block & just across the street from the ferry docks (fast or slow). Free continental breakfast is included, full service bar in the lobby, front desk staffed at all times. Free parking, free water, small and immaculate (but wonderful) pool shaded by buildings most of the day--was hardly used. The rooms were good sized, beds ok, flat screen cable (english & spanish viewing) tv's, each with its own balcony. The stand up marble shower was amazing with three heads, towels/soaps & shampoo/conditioners included. Air conditioning was great.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a refridgerator.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iskuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.5 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Chac Chi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Chac Chi

Address: Mza 8, Smza 01, Avenida Rueda Medina Lote 12, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $73 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bahia Chac Chi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Chac Chi is set in the heart of Isla Mujeres, just steps away from downtown restaurants, shopping & entertainment, the main ferry port and the powder white sands of Isla Mujeres' North Beach. Boasting a contemporary architectonic design, Bahia Chac Chi invites its distinguished guests to enjoy its modern facilities, top of the line amenities and the magnificent views of The Mujeres Bay, the Turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean and Cancun's famous Hotel Zone skyline. The property features 25 superbly appointed Deluxe Rooms featuring flat screen TVs with cable, digital security box, complimentary in room wi-fi and fridge. A pool solarium and lobby bar. Friendly Staff to fulfill your needs and make your stay the most pleasant and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bahia Chac Chi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing