We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Da Luisa

Da Luisa
Ranked #59 of 210 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Wonderful rooftop dining. Great Italian- Mediterranean food; specialize in seafood.
Colton, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooftop view was absolutely amazing - we saw nothing else on the east side of the island like it. The wait staff were awesome. The food was delicious. A great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hunting4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    53
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous rooftop dining views.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here for breakfast one morning not knowing what to expect. The view was GORGEOUS. The staff was very nice and attentive. And the food was great. No complaints!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Food with an Excellent View”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Da Luisa is located on the second floor rooftop of the Casa Ixchel B&B. The setting is superb as you dine outside under a thatch roof overlooking the ocean. Da Luisa is not situated in the downtown area but off by itself about in the middle of Isla Mujeres. The food and service is as good as it gets and at moderate prices. The staff are great and very friendly to carry on a conversation with, either in Spanish or English. They don't have a large selection of wine, but their house wine was very good. I would highly recommend dining at Da Luisa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Classy service and presentation!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

There are mixed reviews for this restaurant, however we stayed at Casa Ixchel and had wonderful experiences at the restaurant. I enjoyed the octopus salad, the seafood linguine of shrimp, mussels, and calamari, and the grilled fish with requested grilled vegetables instead of potato. Everything at the white tablecloth restaurant was served with excellent class and beautiful presentation. The restaurant is on the second story of the small hotel Casa Ixchel, in the Salina Chica neighborhood -a short taxi ride or 30 minute walk from town. We had very generous mojitos from our bartender before our meal on the 2nd story palapa restaurant overlooking the waves of the island's east side. The chef is an Italian transplant and always seemed to promote his dishes with fresh ingredients. I always felt like a valued guest in this establishment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Southerngirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Chilled out place”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just discovered this place while driving our golf cart around the island and looking for somewhere to stop for lunch. It was a really quiet spot looking over the sea. There was just one other couple there at the time so really relaxing. We had mimosas which were great quality. I had the tuna ceviche, but there was a good choice on the menu which made it difficult. Considering there was hardly anyone in there, the service was slow, but the quality of the food and the setting made up for that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beachymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Luisa also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Da Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing