We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best view”
Review of Hotel Rocamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rocamar
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayied in Hotel Rocamar during Christmas. It was very relaxing to fall a sleep listening the ocean. And having breakfast in the balcony looking at waves. Location is excellent, peaceful and still a short walk to the Hidalgo or to the beach. We like to go jogging in the mornings, so Rocamar gave us just perfect location for that. I would definitely go again. Well we didn´t get hot water from the shower every time, but you get use to it ;)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soikkeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rocamar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 456 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just returned from 6 days at the Rocamar . View makes up for the lack of water pressure and the glass walled bathrooms. Close to downtown buy quiet. Can't beat drinking coffee on the balcony while you watch the sun rise. If bells and whistles are what you need, this would not be the place for you,if however you value great views, the sound of the sea at night and nice people, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are better, the last 3 rooms on the upper floors have the best views
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1oldcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Not our first stay here. Never disappoints. Small hotel that is located near the action without the noise. The hotel is on the rocky, breezy side of island. The sight and sound of the water is perfection. Amenities are not over the top. TV with local channels only. Everything is basic but clean. AC works great. Bathroom and room floor plan very open. No shower door and bathroom is a glass cube located in the room. If you are modest could be a problem. Low shower water pressure but who cares we got clean. Free wifi that most of the time worked in your room. If not connecting go to lobby. Open air lobby area has coffee , tea and a microwave. (coffee is instant so don't get excited) We always find the staff to be so friendly and kind. The whole ambience brings us back over and over. We even named our dog Roca…. wonder where we got the name?

Room Tip: The first floor is actually underground. Floor 2 is what most would consider one. If you want the be...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogerandvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is clean and in a great location if you don't want to stay on the beach. It is in easy walking to distance to the north beach and many restaurants. The ferry is also 2 blocks away, which makes lugging bags pretty easy. All day long you can listen to the waves crash in from your room or pool. The pool is small and quiet with areas of shade and sun. It is a clean room, but does not have extra amenities you would find in some basic hotels (if you need a hair dryer, bring one). Wifi is included and we did get it to work in our room for the most part, but sometimes had to move to the lobby area. There is a water jug to fill up water bottles, but the market is also only one block away. There is a small refrigerator in the room if you want to stock up on small things at the market. In the future I would try and get a room that is not located next to the lobby area and would want to be on the second or 3rd floor. It did get loud in the lobby at times, but only briefly. Overall, this hotel is a great pick for the price.

Room Tip: Stay off of the first floor so that your balcony is higher off of the ground. There is a major path...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in Feb 2014.

PROS:
- very easy ~3 block walk from the UltraMar ferry dock
- wonderful ocean view balcony with hammock
- air conditioning
- reasonable price
- wifi included
- easy walking distance to many restaurants and beach clubs
- on site pool overlooking ocean
- very clean
- filtered water available from water coolers (use your own bottle or pitcher from room)
- fridge in room

CONS:
- while on the water, no beach
- property / amenities are a bit worn out - shows in things like the towels and the room fixtures
- room style / decor won't suit everyone - bathroom is in full view of rest of room, although there are curtains that can be pulled
- minimally staffed which wasn't always a problem but could cause a bit more waiting around
- no elevator (so heavy luggage or mobility issues can be a problem if you aren't on main level)

A note on GETTING TO HOTEL: We looked at a map before our trip so we knew how to walk to the resort from the ferry. I imagine if you needed to / wanted to take a taxi, it should only be 20-30 pesos (less than $3 US) - be sure to ask before getting in the taxi.

SUMMARY:
We got a very good deal on this hotel thru the tingo site and our experience met & exceeded our expectations for the price we paid. Note that this isn't a luxury resort so expecting that will result in disappointment. The view from the balcony is wonderful and the location of this hotel is perfect if you want to do anything on the north end of the island.

For us, the PROS listed above certainly outweighed the CONS and the only one that was at all bothersome to us was the staffing. It seemed that there was only 1 or maybe 2 people (other than maid service) working at any time. It could be difficult to get their attention and on one occasion the staff person was so busy chatting with a friend that they either didn't see us or chose to ignore us.

All in all, we'd recommend this hotel to others, provided they were okay with the cons as noted, and we would not hesitate to return ourselves.

Room Tip: If you don't mind needing to use the stairs - the 2nd and 3rd floors have wonderful views and oc...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woohoozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel met and exceeded our expectations. We just returned from a 5 night stay at Hotel Rocamar. The location is very convenient, and the views are simply stunning. Rooms are cleaned immaculately, and staff always has a smile. Each day there are water coolers to fill up your own bottle. The pool area is well taken care of and right next to the sea as well. Hammocks are a beautiful touch! If your interest is simplicity and the sounds of the sea, you will not be disappointed here!

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor ocean view is a must!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in the middle of January. This hotel was in a really good location! Had a problem finding the place when we got off the ferry... Every person we asked where the hotel was sent us all different directions! E-mailed the hotel before we got to mexico for directions and they never answered back. Walk off the ferry dock, walk straight up the hill about 3 blocks... its right behind the church. Right smack on the rocky coast. Our room was on the second floor, #13. On the corner. I would say it was the best view. Room was clean, people really nice. Don't expect any breakfast here, all they give you is coffee. So walk down the street a block and eat breakfast at Q-Bravo. Yum yum food is great and owner is very nice. This hotel had a nice pool that was never crowded. Walk 10 minutes down the beach to a great bar called the Fenix. Good music during the afternoon. Stop and have a really good lunch. Drink the margaritas and crawl back to the hotel!! More Island advice... take a calculator to figure out the money difference. A few times we realized we were taken.. by just a few dollars here and there, it adds up. Grab some of the mexican food from the venders on the town square in front of the super market. You can eat for as little as $2 and the food is better than most restaurants. Go to the grocery store and in the bakery you can buy sweetbreads.. Yummy breakfast rolls that go great with your coffee, as you sit on your balcony in the morning taking in the beautiful view! I would go back here in a heartbeat! Linda and John from Ligonier,Pa.

Room Tip: Room #13. Best view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rocamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamar

Address: Calle Nicolas Bravo y Entre Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $87 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rocamar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable, relaxing escape in Isla Mujeres. Hotel Rocamar in Quintana Roo, Mexico. Reserve our Quintana Roo hotel online and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rocamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing