We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Rocamar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rocamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rocamar
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love Rocamar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are looking for the luxury and amenities of an All inclusive then Rocamar may not be for you, but if you want an absolutely stunning view of the Caribbean from your own private balcony which includes a very comfortable hammock, super clean room with a comfortable bed located just minutes from all the shops and restaurants of Centro, but far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle, then Rocamar should be high on your list of places to stay. I have stayed at Rocamar many times and it has always been exactly what I want.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    197
    63
    22
    12
See reviews for
49
240
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Well, i am not sure if it is a really, hotel.. I would rather say its a Unit Rent.. The same guy that was fixing something in one room, basicaly gave us the key to the room. The view is amazing. It realy is.. The furniture in the rooms is old, and some thing are hit by corrosian.. The pool is smaller but water is clean and refreshing... The ocean is a bit noisy, so be prepared, but when closing the balcony doors, you will barelly hear it. So view is nice but dont expect anything superb... And the water in tge bathroom runs reaaallyyy sloowly, and for 3 days i dont know how to turn on the hot water... Even i try both swithers it was still the same temoerature.,.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

For the price, and location, you can't go wrong. Super clean rooms, right on the water. The ac wasn't working properly this trip. They quickly offered to change rooms. The staff is great. Always beach towels at your disposal. My favorite little place

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank EricInCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We've been to Isla many times and have stayed in a number of different hotels and B&Bs. This was our first time at the Rocamar. We stayed in a corner room on the second floor. The hotel is literally just a few feet from the waters edge, and there is an AWESOME view of the Caribbean sea from the balcony and even from inside the room (the sea facing wall is floor to ceiling windows!). The bathroom has glass walls - so you can even enjoy the gorgeous view from the shower (there are curtains you can draw if you need some privacy) The room was very clean, the hotel lobby (open air) was spotless, The lobby has a coffee maker and fixings, microwave, TV and comfortable sofa and chairs. In the room was a TV, air conditioner and refrigerator. We found the staff was very friendly and professional. They were attentive and happy to accomodate with extra towels for the pool or beach, ice or whatever we needed. The website says free wi-fi in the lobby but actually there is free wi-fi IN THE ROOMS!! That was a real bonus! One day the wi-fi wasn't working. We let the staff know and they had it fixed in a few moments, they even checked back with us later to make sure it was still ok.
The location of the hotel is perfect - a short walk to Hidalgo centro, 5 minute walk to Playa Norte, two minutes to the ferry. Relaxing in the pool with its beautiful view of the sea and the sound of waves crashing on the shore was heaven. We'll be back - we've found our new favorite place to stay on Isla!

Room Tip: There is a walkway that runs along the sea side of the hotel, so privacy could be an issue on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoyfullNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

After visiting Isla Mujeres and the Rocamar Hotel more than two dozen times since 1981, it is about time I gave this outstanding hotel its due! In keeping with the relaxed atmosphere on IM, I generally arrive un-booked. So it is that occasionally I must stay elsewhere than the Rocamar; otherwise, I’d never stay elsewhere on the island. Still, I’ve stayed at five other places now, and have plenty of comparison. Rocamar beats anything ranked above or below it on IM, and at a quarter of the price of all but one of its reasonable competition.

Through three owners, two major renovations, and one restaurant format change, the Rocamar’s combination of on-water location, center-of-town convenience, unwavering cleanliness, friendly service and low price is unmatched. The pool is modest, the restaurant is modest, they don’t have a private beach, but they do have everything you could reasonably need, and what is not on site is a block away or less. Their balconies are large and private enough for an amorous couple, the sea breeze is the best on the island, the ocean noise lulls you to sleep, and you’ll never need your AC. They’re a reasonable walk from everything but El Garaffon (that’s on the southern tip of the island).

At a quarter the price of Ixchel, Na Balam, and Las Palmas (and without their pretense, bugs and claustrophobia, respectively) you can’t beat Rocamar! Osorio is cheaper, but much much hotter, noisier, smaller and less clean. Overall, nothing on IM is as good as Rocamar! Singles, couples, or family, (I’ve done it all three ways) it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: go for the second floor for better breezes, first floor if the occasional salt spray appeals to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidWGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel Rocamar is hidden in plain site in Centro. It is behind the Catholic Church. Most guests return time after time, even staying in the exact same room. It is a bargain directly on the Caribbean Sea. Do yourself a favor & check it out. Staff is professional. Location is perfect. Price is right.

Room Tip: Rooms 6-12 do not require stair climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chunkmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is the 7th place I try on the island and it has long been on my mind after seeing those beautiful sea-facing balconies with hammocks.
I showed up on the island without reservations and walked-up to the Rocamar, thinking I could get a better price than the web-advertised price. Turns out the walk-up price was more expensive and I only managed to get them to lower the rate a little bit by paying cash. I asked to see the room, which was spotless and fresh smelling and bit the bullet. My room had no hammock on the balcony but they quickly provided one. The next day, I got on the web and showed them the website price and asked for the same, which they gave me. Lessons learned though, the front desk staff does not seem to have much price-fixing power beyond showing you the rate in a binder.
The room was comfortable, had unbeatable sunrise views and was quiet. There was a tv but with only about 5 channels, all in Spanish so it won't be very useful to most guests. There are 2 wifi networks, one reaching all the way to the room but sadly onto which no one could connect. The frontdesk guy told me they are having problems with it. Everybody gathered in the common area for wifi and tv viewing, which actually made the place quite social. I met a lot of interesting travelers.
In conclusion, if this place had wifi in the rooms, it would be just perfect for me. In the meantime, I very much enjoyed my stay here and I think I will be back. That hammock is just too tempting....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaspezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#22 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rocamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamar

Property: Hotel Rocamar
Address: Calle Nicolas Bravo y Entre Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rocamar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable, relaxing escape in Isla Mujeres. Hotel Rocamar in Quintana Roo, Mexico. Reserve our Quintana Roo hotel online and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rocamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing