We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach house relaxing”
Review of Mar y Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mar y Sol
Ranked #25 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 2 weeks in March/April 2013. The kitchenette was sufficient to make our meals. It had a microwave, fridge, sink, & 2 burner hot plate. Since we're on a special diet, this worked well for us. Some of the metal things in the room were a little rusty, probably from being near the water. The location was great. It was like having a home on the beach. There were not a lot of other guests when we were there, so it was very quiet for us. It's close to the public bus line also. One drawback is that the you can't get in to the water from the beach in front of the hotel. There seems to be a foot or so of much in the water that sucks you down when you walk on it. But, you can just walk south a bit to the pier and get in the water there and swim. The peace & quiet was disturbed occasionally by the party boats that come from Cancun to the restaurants/bars on either side of this place. But, it didn't bother us that much. For the price, we think it was a great value. You are right on the water and far enough away from the road that it's quiet. We really enjoyed out stay there. I can't say what it would be like with a lot of guests, but there are only 8 units, so there wouldn't be a huge crowd anyway. They were very good about bringing drinking water whenever you needed it and generally taking care of any problems we had.

Room Tip: The 'old' mar y sol was in much poorer condition than the 'new' mar y sol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2leela_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 9 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Cute little apartments with a small kitchen area. Overall it was fine and the beach was great...even had a perfect palm tree leaning over the water. We did not have any water pressure in the shower and the mosquitos were terrible in the room but that was an easy fix with the help of bug spray! So nice to sit on the little back porch and enjoy coffee while the sun comes up. We stayed in the newer building, room 6, which had a/c and it kept the room very cool. The beds were not very comfortable but that seemed to be the case everywhere. The caretaker and cleaning lady were extremely nice and we had a good time visiting with them and her kids.
At less than $70 a night (with a/c, and being right on your own beach) it was a great value!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtfrost81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We have stayed here before and it was about the same as before......we really like the area and the rooms, but it isn't for everyone. Like upscale camping. We were there right after the hurricane and there was flooding, but not as bad as many places. We were the only people there and loved the privacy. We will stay there again and would recommend Mar y Sol for people like us. Rented from Mornings in Mexico and they were great to work with.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ryansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Went on our first trip to Mexico in oct. 2009. Decided on Isla Mujeres based on reviews from friends. Wanted cheap accommodation, on the beach, away from all the tourist traps. It was perfect! Stayed on the old building - a yes, I admit it was a worn down, but the sea-view and the beach and the price makes it all worth while. We only used the room for sleeping and showering and in the regard, Mar Y Sol is worth it. We spent a lot of time on the beach, tanning and swimming in the sea - the snorkling isn't all that bad. Went into town every day - just walk along the road and a cab will come by every 5-15 minutes. We have now become parents - and would love to come back - might even return to Sol Y Mar with our son (we might prefer the new building now, as it is in a better shape than the old one, but I doubt the view is as good) - only down side is the looong trip from Denmark to Isla Mujeres.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FrkDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Omg the view from our balcony on our little beach was just amazing! It literally sits just 30 feet or so from the shore. It was such paradise, even though the beach was very, very small.
We stayed at the old Mar y Sol building (the white one closer to the water) in unit 4 upstairs and though the room at first sight looked really cute, there were a number of rather gross problems going on. Ok, I can handle geckos inside the room cuz they're cute and we're in the tropics, and maybe (just maybe) I can handle red ants the size of a dime crawling all over the front door and walls. BUT, I cannot- no matter what country I'm in- handle TERMITES! Gross! There were termites slowly eating the door, the table, the bed frame, and the bathroom sink. You can see entire chunks of wood from these items missing. It was in awful shape. They provide you with Raid, but it only goes so far to kill the termites and ants...ten minutes later they're back. I hate sounding like one of those Americans who goes to poorer countries and complains about their bugs, but I'm really not one of those. I can tolerate a lot (I've lived in Imbaba in Cairo and for those of you that know, it's one of the poorest places ever). I can handle not having a hot shower, tv or a bed even. Luxuries, I can live without. But I hate bugs crawling all over everything that I touch and use and sleep on.
BUT, don't make this stop you from going to Mar y Sol....stay in the new yellow apartments if you hate bugs...granted they'll still be there too but probably not as much and I'm sure there won't be termites there chewing holes just yet. They looked really nice from the outside.
However if you don't mind bugs, then stay here. The location is worth it and the price is AMAZING!
There is a radio in the room, a few books and magazines guests have left behind, a wonderful hammock on the balcony, table, mini fridge and some plates/silverware.
The cleaning staff is wonderful and really nice. But, I have to say, the groundskeeper, Freddy, is very inconsistent. People seem to have loved doing business with him, but on the day of our departure, he told the cleaning lady to ask us for an extra $100 because he claimed we came up short. Um, NO. My boyfriend counted out the money to him the day before and Freddy accepted it. It was SUPER sketchy to have someone come ask for more money. We of course didn't give it, and the lady didn't put up a fight- it was none of her business as a cleaning lady. She was really nice though, tip them generously when you leave.
Overall, probably the best place to stay on the island due to its private beach (almost ALL beaches there are private except for the north beach and gaffaron park, so it's nice to be one to have your own, too).
By the way, if you walk up to where they sell tix n nix (or whatever it's called), they have the BEST tacos de pescado (fish tacos) in the world. No joke. I would go back just for that!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LDarling87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I have stayed at Mar y Sol twice and am getting ready to go there again in June 2009. I stayed one night in the old building that is right on the edge of the beach. It smelled a little musty and was pretty worn, but it was incredible to be right on the water like that. I only stayed one night because the place I was staying the rest of the week wasn't avaiable that first night. But it made me want to go back and stay in the new building sometime later. I did that this past January. I was on the second floor in the new building. I was very happy. It's clean and the kitchenette provides all the basics. I really appreciated the water bubbler that is provided. It meant you had plenty of water for cooking, brushing teeth, drinking etc. The sunsets from the balcony were great. My only complaint was that the other people staying there were up late at night talking and drinking, but they were on vacation so who was I to say anything?I was alone and wanting to relax and drink a glass of wine and read my book and have peace. When I go back in June, I will be with two girlfriends, so I will probably be the one bothering others. Anyway, you definitely need transportation if you stay here. I rented a moped when I was alone, but we'll get a golf cart in June. This place is so inexpensive, with an almost private beach, and great sunsets. We're paying $60 a night in June (plus $10 for the extra person). You can't beat it!

12  Thank Reppulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank zukogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.0 mi away
Chac Chi Hotel & Suites
Chac Chi Hotel & Suites
#10 of 39 in Isla Mujeres
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,020 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar y Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar y Sol

Address: Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mar y Sol Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing