We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfy and close to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vida Dulce Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Vida Dulce Casitas
Ranked #10 of 34 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for three days because of positive TA reviews. Our room was clean, the AC worked well and it is located centrally in town. The hosts made sure we were comfortable and left us to do our own thing. We are the type of independent travelers who do not want to be catered on, and do not want maids knocking on the door to clean our room. We can make our own bed and reuse our towels, thank you very much! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reidkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
40
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Great stay @ La Vida Dulce....wonderful hosts, great beds, showers, etc and the location can not be beat. Very laid back and peaceful...just what we wanted for our island getaway. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felineflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athabasca
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

If you are looking for a nice friendly place to hang your hat and meet some great people then La Vida is exactly what you are looking for. A friend of mine who spends a considerable amount of time in Isla recommended this spacious, up to date, bed and breakfast to me without reservation, and I am so glad she did.
La Vida is extremely close to all the sights and sounds of Isla, but the feel of this great place, along with the Owners, made my stay truly memorable.
Thank you Steve and Jerry
Til we meet again!

Room Tip: Book Early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheremwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Had a fabulous time here, would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a friendly, clean, spacious, convenient spot...perfect for families (the back apartment has two big bedrooms, each with its own bath, plus a great little kitchen), reunions or groups (the rooftop patio is great as a sunny meeting place, with a super blow up pool, too boot :) or couples who can appreciate a free call home to check on the kids. Its an easy two blocks to the ferry, and two beaches are five minutes away. Plus, an awesome breakfast/lunch joint is just outside the door. Get the shredded chicken on tortillas for breakfast. The major shopping street, with lots of restaurant choices, is just around the corner. Jeri and Steve are super helpful, and after driving around the Yucatan checking out the ruins, we were happy to get directions in English. I went with my sister and our mother, who was celebrating her 70th birthday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganKira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac La Biche
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Our hosts Steve and Jeri make staying at this small hotel an experience.

We stayed here last year and loved it so much we returned this year.

The one bedroom suites are spacious and clean. The rooms are cleaned a couple of times a week. The beds and showers are great.

While we were not on the beach the hospitality, cleanliness and convience more than make up for it and the beach is only a short walk away. The hotel is close to Hidalgo with it's numerous restaurants and shops. Steve and Jeri are also very helpful in connecting you to activities you may be interesed in.

Once you've stayed here once, you will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doyoumissme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is my third stay at La Vida Dulce and my 12th trip to Isla. As far as I am concerned, there is no other place for me to stay. Steve and Jeri have become like family, you will never meet more wonderful people than the two of them. They have combined their Iowa-bred caring and compassion with the Margarita-ville lifestyle of Isla to create a special "Happy Place"...the magic which is La Vida Dulce.

Describing the rooms here would be redundant, as all that has been previously said is true. You should know they are almost finished a third/fourth apt./room upstairs that is going to be equally wonderful. It is a "Suite" of two bedrooms with a kitchenette in between. It can be rented as two bedrooms (and two baths) with the kitchen, as one bedroom only (That will have microwave/fridge in the room), or the other bedroom with the kitchenette only. It is going to be just as nice as the other apts. that have been described, and one room has a king-sized bed.

As a solo woman traveler, I feel very, very safe at Steve and Jeri's...and I am never lonely. If you are a private person, they respect your privacy, but if you are a social animal, there is a rollicking good time to be had in the space we affectionately call "El Patio"...the outdoor kitchen/dining area Steve and Jeri share with anyone who drops by...It is a magical place filled with a constant stream of laughter and characters...as this couple is greatly loved by many Islenos. A unique and very special place...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailMarie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Words can’t justly describe our stay at La Vida Dulce. The unit my wife and I stayed in is absolutely perfect, decoratively gorgeous and extremely functional! High pressure, hot showers from under an enormous showerhead that just rain over you. Two mini A/C’s and ceiling fans (living area and bedroom) kept us nice and cool. We’ve stayed @ 4 star resorts in the past and sweated it out in our rooms on more than one occasion. You have a separate bedroom! Bed was extremely comfortable w/ soft linens. Not the slab of concrete I’m accustomed to in Mexico. Kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave/pizza oven and fridge provided the perfect setup for my wife and I who frequented the local grocery store which is a couple minutes walk from your room. Free Wi-Fi and calling to the US and Canada! Location: WOW! La Vida Dulce is literally just minutes from everything on foot: Playa Norte- most beautiful beach on the island (my opinion), shopping- practically right around the corner, restaurants galore- I would never cheat myself from the wonderful, eclectic food offered on Isla Mujeres by doing all-inclusive. We did most of our adventuring on foot. The few times we traveled south was a less than $4 cab ride. I can’t say enough about our hosts Jeri and Steve. They were the icing on the cake! With my wife and I only speaking pocito espanol, I relied heavily on where the finds were: ice, silver, restaurants, televised NFL, money exchange and any other ins and outs I inquired about or they thought I should be aware of. I can’t get over their great sense of humor and genuine, overwhelming accommodations that only they make possible. They love the island life and it shows! I laughed till my side almost spilt from chit chatting w/ with Jeri and Steve. These people are like family now, and we will be back soon to revisit the superb experience that started w/ La Vida Dulce.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enviroexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vida Dulce Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vida Dulce Casitas

Property: La Vida Dulce Casitas
Address: Calle Benito Juarez 13, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Central Location - Blocks from the beach & around the corner from downtown shopping/restaurants. Newly remodeled, quaintly decorated w/ton of amenities, including: high speed WIFI, cable TV, bottled water, free calls home (to US & Can), kitchenettes w/microwave/pizza oven/fridge, mini split A/C & Ceiling fans in each room. New pillow top mattresses with high thread count linens. The back unit has 1 and 1/2 baths. Units do adjoin with double dead bolt doors to accommodate renting both units as one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Vida Dulce Casitas Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing