We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always among friends!”

Soggy Peso Palapa Bar
Ranked #5 of 13 Nightlife in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always among friends!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The drinks are cold, the margaritas will knock you over, the service is spectacular, and the staff is lovable! We planned our evenings around dropping by to enjoy the food and the incredible hospitality. Each night of the week has a new dinner special, so we measured time while we were there according to "oh, it's lobster taco night" or "barbecue night"...wayyyy better than remembering a day of the week! Freddy, Gustavo, and Jojo the backbone of this place :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    14
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Margarita Ever!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A great place with great snacks. Freddy makes the best margarita I have ever had. Caution more than one margarita and you will likely not remember the rest of the night. :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great signs on the walls!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Iguanas visit here everyday. People are fun, great conversations. The bartenders are very talented :). You can sit in the shade or the sun. I will visit Soggy Pesso every trip to Isla Mujeres.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank boo074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

After walking around for almost an hour trying to find the restaurant, we arrived. It looked like it could be a cool little place. Starving and looking forward to the lobster tacos that were promised in an ad for Monday, we arrived at 8pm...only to be told that the kitchen closes at 7:30. Where was THAT in the advertisement?? AND that the bar closes at 8:30. What? A bar that is adult only 18+...and it closes at 8:30? AND it was pouring rain!! We asked them to call us a cab after our ONE drink. They said the cab place didn't answer. So to summarize: no food, one drink, closes early, not helpful in keeping us dry. Won't be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottS_540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally and Mal R, Owner at Soggy Peso Palapa Bar, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
This is the type of customer that reminds us, as owners, not to take this whole thing too seriously. After all, we are retired and we opened this bar to have fun in our retirement years and meet new friends. These people came in at closing time and actually threatened our staff with a bad review on TripAdvisor if we did not reopen the kitchen. I'll give them credit for one thing though. At least they had sense enough to come in out of the rain....rain from Tropical Storm Andrea which dumped 8 inches of water on the island the day they were here. And I understand that we were just one of three restaurants that were even open that afternoon because the island was virtually under water. On the island taxis do not work if there is a foot of water on the roads. And there is no central tel number for taxis here. They have to be hailed down on the road. If Americans think they are going to get the same here on the island as they do in the States, they are setting themselves up for a big disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very so-so. Not very good food.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

At first seemed very pleasant. Went there several times, but wont go back. One of our party got VERY sick (three days vomiting / diarrhea) after eating the ceviche. Other food greasy. Food service and prep definitely not hygienic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally and Mal R, Owner at Soggy Peso Palapa Bar, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
This review illustrates how anyone can post a negative claim about a business without a shred of merit or proof. Just three days previous to this post we were inspected by the Health Department on Isla Mujeres and received very high ratings. During Season we serve dozens upon dozens of ceviche orders every day. Although we are not perfect, we refuse to be " held hostage" by public forums that allow this type of nonsense to go unchecked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soggy Peso Palapa Bar also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Soggy Peso Palapa Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing