We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem ”
Review of Amigos

Amigos
Ranked #25 of 206 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem ”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We ran into this place one morning for breakfast. Their orange juice is delicious! Great prices and friendly staff. Try their French toast it's to die for! We can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank Ashleyshea88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    62
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amigos, Isla de Mujeres”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our group of 4 friends happened on Amigos while walking down this shopping street near the ferry terminal. Very good Yucatan Mexican food at reasonable price with a particularly good lime drink - limonado.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomR501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Salt Fish”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

By far this was the best meal we had in the Cancun region. On the recommendation of a friend, we made reservations and placed our order for the salt fish in advance. This gives the guys an opportunity to hand pick the right fish off the boat (for two) on the morning of your dinner. It takes about a half hour or so to cook, completely encased in salt. (There is absolutely no salt taste to the fish). This was almost like eating lobster, it comes with drawn butter, potatoes, and noodles, but the meat is one of the most tender and delicious fish my wife and I have ever tasted. If you are planning a trip to Cancun, check out Isla Mujeres, place an order for salt fish at Amigos, rent a golf cart, drive around the island, and finish your day by having Salt Fish at Amigos before you catch the ferry back to Cancun. You will not be disappointed by the salt fish or the guys at Amigos. By the way, they mix a killer margarita and better than most we had in all of Cancun.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in Isla”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Amigos is a great little restaurant located right in the heart of Isla. It was opened by a couple of ment that had been at Rolandi's about 13 years ago. I have been eating there for eleven years. I have always had a great meal. They will cook your fresh fish if you go fishing and the Arrachara is excellent! Prices are some of the best and the drinks are well made.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salt fish”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Order salt fish 24 hours in advance needed for reservations. It is by far the best fish experience and taste on the island. Don't let the name scare you.....it is only the way it is cooked...taste like cold water lobster....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing