We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bold food - Unique experience make this #1 Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lolo Lorena

Lolo Lorena
Ranked #3 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $2
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lolo Lorena will not be taking reservations until December 2015 while she is recovering from surgery. we are very sorry for any inconvenience. Dinner in a private garden around a communal table. Chef Lolo creates a different menu each night. Please tell the chef of any special needs, dislikes or allergies when you reserve and she will accommodate you
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bold food - Unique experience make this #1 Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

What makes this place special is the unique one table experience where you can eat with fellow dinners. If you read others reviews you will see that most people LOVE meeting new people and some even form friendships in that one night's experience!
The food is bold, unique and delicious - served by friendly and warm staff. For many people this restaurant is an anticipated yearly stop on their vacation travel.
My family loves exciting new experiences and this place does not disappoint!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkFlamingosrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    33
    22
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful and sofisticated experience on a small island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was by far the best meal and experience I had during my entire stay in Mexico.
Everything was perfect: the food, the company (we interacted with all present at the dinner), the service. And we had a great chat at the end with the owner and cook, Mrs. Lolo herself.
I read the negative reviews beforehand, and honestly, none of them apply. None of the pets were present at the table; the food was more than enough (and I'm usually a heavy eater), and everything was delicious, handcrafted and very original, full of surprises. I have dined in the best restaurants in the world (New York, London, Rome, Sao Paulo, Paris, Geneve) and I can think of no more than a handful I would place above this one in terms of food, especially due to the originality of the dishes (btw, there are no specialities, everything was great, from appetizers to the wonderful assortment of deserts)! As for interacting with the other people on the table (we were placed in one big table), I personally enjoy meeting new people, exchanging experiences. Be assured that the people at the table will be open-minded (you'd have to be to chose such a restaurant), and I'm sure it'll be a very pleasant exchange of experiences, only enhancing the experience itself. Just remember not to get carried away and enjoy the food, it really deserves your attention too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VSelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must do on Isla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well, this review has been a long time in coming. My wife and I were initially unsure of dining at Lolo's when friends of ours brought us there last valentines day. Well, what a pleasant surprise we had. Lolo is a wonderful and gracious host, you are literally dining in her home. The unique "one table" concept of her restaurant guarantees that you are going to meet new people, as everyone is seated at one large table - we met a couple that had been coming to Isla for 30 years, and they had some wonderful stories and experiences to share about the island. Can't say enough about the food, a 5 course gourmet meal (Lolo is a trained chef!) and the desserts that night - there was 5 different desserts on my plate - were absolutely decadent. We can't wait to go back again on our next trip in Feb\13, first day on the island we are going to make our reservation. The table is located in the courtyard with soft ambient lighting, right under the stars, which creates a nice intimate setting. We have been going to the east coast of Mexico for 12 years now, and have eaten at a variety of different restaurants all up and down the coast of the Mayan Riviera, and this was easily the best dining experience we've had in Mexico. We stopped in the day before our visit to confirm our reservations, and asked what was on the menu for the next night - Lolo laughed and said she wouldn't know until she went to the market the next morning to see what was fresh. This is a prime reason why the food is so good - it's always fresh that day. We had a choice of lobster or duck l'orange, and both were delicious. And the price was very reasonable, especially considering the quality of the food and the overall experience. You would have to be anti social at heart, and a fast food junkie to not enjoy this experience. Keep up the awesome work Lolo!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank islaaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique gourmet experience on Isla Mujeres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I went to Lolo Lorena with two other couples from CasaSirena B & B, with the owner. Another couple joined us there, in the open air courtyard of Lolo Lorena. The Belgian Chef at Lolo Lorena served up a five course gourmet meal that exceeded our expectations. Sitting around a U shaped table gave us the opportunity to meet the other diners and talk. Chef Lolo is delightful; she buys fresh food from the markets on the island, supporting local growers, and supplements the menu with ingredients bought in Europe on her trips there. She is friendly and knowledgeable about Isla Mujeres; she and her family have lived there for many years and are connected to everyone on the island, especially the community of musicians and artists. We felt like we had been invited into her fascinating home. This was a highlight of our trip: a delicious, sophisticated, communal evening under the stars. Go prepared to mingle, or book the whole table and go in a group. We enjoy meeting others while traveling, and this experience was truly lovely. BYOB, around $35 per person. Truly unique. And yes, we will go there the next chance we get.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anglojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Unique Dining Experienace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a wonderful evening we had dining at Lolo’s. The food is mouthwatering, with different delectable flavors. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I am sorry someone else at our table thought the 13 of us sitting with him were morons. Anyone who reads about Lolo’s knows it is an experience not to be missed, and the camaraderie is part of the fun. I highly recommend Lolo's, as she is a fantastic chef, the food is delightful, and the ambiance is unique to each person who dines. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationista10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lolo Lorena also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lolo Lorena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing