We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
If you're on Isla - DEFINITELY do this tour !!

we went on the Cultura Cruise with Jose as our tour guide - we were very lucky to be the only 2 and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
dreammaker987
,
Toledo, Ohio
Great experience!

We took the golf cart tour with Cultura Cruisers and had one of the best evenings on the island... read more

Reviewed June 12, 2019
TravelingMom89
Read all 39 reviews
  
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
37
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
37
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flan tamales food tour bicycle tour highly recommend this tour awesome tour hogfish golf cart highlight of our trip beautiful island marla jose colonias neighborhoods homes stories stops
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 39 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2019

This was a wonderful experience all around. Booking was quick and easy. We received excellent directions and Jose gave us a warm welcome and a quick overview of the tour. At each stop, he explained the food and gave us tips on how to eat it. He asked just enough questions to find out if we had any preferences and find out how hungry we were. He sat at the table with us and chatted as we ate. He never rushed us or pushed us to eat more or less than we wanted. My kids tried everything, which is extremely rare.

We loved learning more about Jose and his community. We talked about how our lives were similar (two working parents sharing responsibilities, eating dinner late and enjoying time together as a family) and different (safety and crime in Isla vs Chicago, ability to travel across the border).

Jose spoke fondly of his family and island. He showed us pictures of his daughters and wife. He talked about the close community ties and how people helped each other out. For example, he told us how he always stops if he sees a tourist broke down on a golf cart and offers to call the rental company for them. We also talked about the current divisiveness in the US in which Jose said, “in Mexico we love everyone.”

This tour allowed us to get a real look at island life without being intrusive. I was delighted to learn about how this tour helps create a sustainable economy. At one is the restaurants, a couple from Delaware excitedly approached us as they recognized Jose. They have visited the restaurants several time since their tour and raved about their experience. In addition, Jose raved about his work at Cultural Cruisers and was proud of his contributions. Although we didn’t talk to everyone at the stops in detail, they were all warm and friendly. When there was a language barrier, Jose translated for us.

We have been to Isla with the kids 3 times. We have met locals and explored the island but this is the first time I felt like we really experienced it. Meeting Jose was a wonderful experience and we can now say we have a friend on Isla.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culturac, Owner at Cultura Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Wow, Cindy, thank you so much for this beautiful review! We are so beyond happy that you and your family genuinely enjoyed your experience and that your kids were so open to a new culture and trying new foods! That is amazing!

When it comes down to it, we are all more similar than different! We truly hope that this tour is able to show folks that we are more alike than different, and even though there are differences in cultures, customs or foods, we can embrace it and learn about what makes people so special and unique! In today's world, we hope to build bridges and join folks together to connect. We love doing that through food, as we feel food is a universal language that can help folks make connections and get people talking.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, and thank you for spending time with us on your vacation! We so love when families join us! We love seeing the island, the neighborhoods and food through their eyes.. what an awesome experience! You will all have a lifelong friend with Jose and the whole Cultura Cruisers team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our time with Jose this week. He was knowledgeable, fun, and a gracious host. Our food stops were delicious, many at places we would never have tried on our own. The street corn, tamales, pastor tacos, fried fish, flan, sweet bread and more were amazing. Come hungry and you won’t be disappointed.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank klhDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culturac, Owner at Cultura Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2019

So happy to hear that you all had a great time and enjoyed your experience with us! We love that you left with full bellies, full hearts and soaked up all the good vibes and energy of the neighborhoods! We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and are so thankful you chose to spend time with us while on vacation! Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

All around great little tour ! Jose, our guide, was the best! So much fun and knowledge of the island. And obviously, well known and liked by others on the island. Love Marla's mission and purpose....affording tourists like ourselves the opportunity to sample and explore so many dining options we wouldn't have found or known about on our own, while patronizing the "locals" and giving exposure to their great food and hard work! Booking and communication was excellent!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank maxruby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culturac, Owner at Cultura Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We love that you love our mission and vision for Cultura Cruisers! We so appreciate you spending time with us on your vacation; exploring the colonias and soaking up the energy with Jose! We are so happy you had a great time! Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Booking and payment was easy, questions were promptly answered. Jose is so warm and friendly, sharing stories of his family and everyday life on Isla. Our golf cart tour involved 8 stops. Enchiladas verde, tamales, sweet buns, esquitos, fried hogfish, enchiladas con mole, tacos el pastor and flan. We went to some small restaurants and also some street vendors that, if we were not with Jose, we wouldn't have even known what they were selling, as well as a personal home for the flan. So fun and interesting. We have returned to 3 of the places since our tour (2 restaurants and one street vendor). Come hungry, it is a lot of food!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank sandmama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culturac, Owner at Cultura Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We truly appreciate it so much! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us; especially your time with Jose! He is wonderful!
You returning to some of the stops is fulfilling our mission and vision of Cultura Cruisers! Thank you for continuing to support the local economy and venturing into the colonias! There is just so much amazing energy, people and food! We hope to see you again on Isla Mujeres! Salud, amiga!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

My husband and I just returned from our food tour. It was a WONDERFUL time. Super helpful and prompt when booking. Jose was our guide and he took us to places that a typical visitor would not know existed. All of the food and drink was so good, even had dessert in a private home. Had some amazing sweet breads from a small street vendor, wonderful tamale outside a grocery store. She said she makes about 200 a day. Also pastor taco, amazing Hog fish...that is not all the food we devoured.
If you want to experience the "local" side book a tour, you will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culturac, Owner at Cultura Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Thank you, Jill, for taking the time to write us this awesome review! We truly appreciate your kind words and support! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us last night, and your time with Jose! It was such a pleasure meeting you and Brad! We are so happy you spent some time with us on your vacation! We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews