We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi, sushi, sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Asia Caribe

Asia Caribe
Ranked #37 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sushi, sushi, sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been enjoying Asia Caribe on Isla Mujeres for many years. Their food is always good and we like the personal service. But this year was extra special. Asia had hired a new sushi chef and we were very impressed. My sweetie had salmon sushi mi and it was the best she'd ever had anywhere. She loves sushi and enjoys it whenever possible. I had tuna wrapped with plantain and I was also just delighted. I'd never had anything quite like it. The plantain was sliced very thin and wrapped around the rice and tuna. It added just enough sweetness to the dish. Asia Caribe is certainly on our must go list again next season. I sure hope they've kept their new chef. We've loved other dishes there, but this year was something else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    116
    38
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly, yummy and flexible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

With a few different food allergies in the family, eating out can be tough, but the chef-owner at Asia Caribe created some wonderful, healthy combinations for each member of our family. The other owner, chef's wife, is nothing short of delightful, engaging and helpful. We will be back each year :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Excellent food and caring service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a stellar restaurant for Isla Mujeres. The menu is quality and varied; the chefs cook well, including leaving cooked vegetables a little crisp, the wait-staff serves professionally and kindly; the proprietors understand that the customer is paramount. Having eaten in most of the restaurants on the island, I will gladly call Asia Caribe my overall favorite. I should note that my wife and I have probably dined with Asia Caribe at least ten times in the last two years, just as tourists. We will certainly be back. I particularly recommend their own version of Tik en Chik as well as the pecan-crusted grouper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sorry no..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I feel bad writing a not so stellar review because the service was very nice and timely.
However...
The plantain sushi...
Why did I choose that.
I like sushi, I like plantains...
Why not...........
It was so sticky/heavy. Maybe their other sushi were better or the waiter could have advised that its more ideal as dessert?! I don't know, it was just weird.
The plain salmon cone was quite good so it's possible more 'traditional' choices would be totally fine. Hey if you have a sushi craving, try it out.

My husband loved the pork with dark sweet sauce. I tried a bite, it was fresh and tender. Quite delicious!

Atmosphere is a little lacklustre and "cheapey" although you can get a table on the terrace on Hidalgo.

Service was very good and price seemed moderate.

Unfortunately, a forgettable place and not somewhere to go out of ones way for...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heart12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I am picky, oh so picky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 days on Isla Mujeres. While there, I was in my first trimester of pregnancy, which sometimes can be challenging, particularly when it comes food- and quality of service-related sensitivities. Asia Caribe has been wonderful in every way--the hostess was very nice and welcoming, the waiter was very attentive to detail and genuinely willing (and able) to be of the best service, and the food was delicious every single time we dined there (which happened to be many times!). I highly recommend to start with their Chicken Satay and their Miso soup and then just work through their menu as you wish. The chef certainly has very sophisticated taste pitch! Ah, and one more thing - nothing came out of box/can, which I can't tell about some of their neighboring restaurants. This is the second time we are on the island, and this is the second time we are impressed with the restaurant! Lovely experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia Caribe also viewed

 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Asia Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing