We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Asia Caribe

Asia Caribe
Ranked #36 of 202 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were on the island for 8 days. We kept passing by the restaurant but did not eat there until the last day. We made a terrible mistake not stopping there earlier. The food was incredible. The best dinner we ate on the island. I am a vegetarian, while my husband is a carnivore. They were the only restaurant we found that had tofu. I had a curried tofu that was to die for. We will be back in the summer for whale watching, and will not wait until the last day to eat there next time. Don't miss out. Run don't walk there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    116
    39
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Asia Caribe and all four of us loved it! Two of us had the pecan-encrusted grouper and we could not stop moaning! The other two got something else but were able to sample our meals as well. The owners are delightful and had we had more time in Isla Mujeres, we definitely would have visited Asia Caribe a few more times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try it...you'll love it!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ate at Asia Caribe twice while stayin on Isla Mujeres. The Owners are from Maine and put their hearts and souls into the restaurant. Food was delicious, portions were generous and our hosts were wonderful and accomodating. The Beef Tenderloin was magnificent and huge! The sticky ribs were aweome too...every dish that all 6 of us had were great. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthBeach_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua Adventures Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well executed seafood and asian fusion”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice complex flavors in a range of dishes. Good curry. The owners, Peter and Analisa are great and attentive, Fun location in the center of Hidalgo.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiveIslaMujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The menu says “fine dining” and that it is. The food is very good and upscale with interesting combinations. Their flagship dish ‘pecan encrusted grouper in tamarind sauce’ is delicious and much different from the standard fish fares on Isla. Their move to the new roomier space near the north end of Hidalgo permitted more space between tables, which makes it convenient to move about, provides for private conversations and saves you from overhearing chatty neighbors. The locale is standard Mexican style with three cement walls and no wall toward the street. Not very romantic but good for people watching. Owners Peter and Annelise are on the premises every evening, so in the unlikely event you would have any concerns, they could be addressed right away. All in the staff speak English

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErikE878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia Caribe also viewed

 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Asia Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing