We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sol and fresh fish”

Restaurant Bar Velazquez
Ranked #94 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sol and fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We ate lunch here at least twice--we would order the guac, a couple of Sol beers, and the fresh fish. We ate lunch at the tables on the sand and watched people on the beach and on the tour boats.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank love2shop4kidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    54
    6
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best place on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Might be the best place in town!! Walked down and had shrimp tacos, civieche(sp) and some of the best fish I had ever had for lunch. Better come hungry of split an order with a fiend. Prices are very reasonable. Places like this are why I do not do all inclusive in Isla Mujeres!! Fun watching the pelicans and sea gulls with your toes in the sand with a couple of cold ones!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksuroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple but nice restaurant, good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is not a luxurious restaurant, is very simple and cheap, the best is that the tables are on the sand with a palapa, right in the beach. The food, is good, the garlic fish and the shrimp cocktail, it taste soo good!! just like a great restaurant. The thing I dind'nt liked very much is that only sol beer is sold here, I do not like the sol beer, this is an accelerated and light beer, no good taste as a pacifico.

It takes some 15 minutes for bring what you ordered, anyway there's no hurry, you can stay here a long long time, before and after eating, The view is so perfect, and the sea is so clear, so, you can eat here, wait for 2 hours and then walk a few steps to the beach, and have fun!!!

The perfect day in Isla Mujeres is: arrive early, go to the market, buy stuff, there are a lot of things you can buy, if you need things, here's a big store (walmart or chedraui don't remember), take a taxi that costs only a dolar, and then go to this restaurant, and then go to the beach, the perfect beach, there are fishes and the water is soo clear, don't forget your googles, dive here, it's amazing!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora Springs, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our Annual Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Each summer when we visit Isla Mujeres, our first stop off the ferry is Restaurant Bar Velazquez. The only thing I've ordered there is a Grande Margarita and the Grilled Shrimp. One of the best grilled shrimp meals on the island. There were 8 good sized shrimp, salad, french fries, rice, beans and tortilla shells for around $12 USD. When you walk through the small, round building, you are sitting on the sand with view of the small fishing boats going in and out...such a peaceful setting. We love eating here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank spkinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“simple but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The best grilled fish I had during my trip was from this place. The decor and service are very simple (I heard that this is a family owned business for 30 years or so). Get the garlic grilled fish.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PEDSED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bar Velazquez also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Restaurant Bar Velazquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing