We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent small hotel”
Review of Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

great hotel , clean room, tv , refrigerator, use of kitchen....I stayed for 17 nights it was wonderful..close to beach and shopping , super market near by...would stay again..Gabriel was helpful ith reservations.......

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 237 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great price, nice location. Very quiet. Our room was small but clean. It could have been a bit cleaner in my opinion but I clean beach homes for a living so I seen the dust bunnies under the bed and the shower walls weren't washed during our stay but everything else was good. The air worked fine. Wifi wasn't on most of the time in the afternoons when we would come back to shower or change. It was on in the evenings though. There was just a little bit of hot water. For the price and location we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rms102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, Director General at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thanks for your comments. We put more attentaiion in the details you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great hotel, centrally located, comfortable room. Juan Carlos was most helpful and gave the best recommendations! Enjoyed meeting his family and the golf cart tour. Looking forward to when we can plan our next visit,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stay 6 nights in the January 2014. Upon arrival (just before noon), our room was not ready however we were able to leave our luggage in a secure place, given beach chairs and towels and told it would be ready in an hour, and it was. The room itself was just right, two small beds (which we put together to make one large bed--thanks to the maid staff that fit it it with larger sheets the next day). Perks were getting beach towels and nice Tommy Bahama beach chairs for the duration of our stay. Wifi was also nice, it dropped every once in a while but the front desk staff quickly fixed the problem. I would never complain about not having Wifi as you're not on vacation to check email yet to enjoy the beauty of the island.

The rooms were clean, staff was friendly and was very affordable. This is a place I will consider staying at on my next trip to the island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mineesnowtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I booked a room a month before coming to Isla Mujeres after I red these good reviews on Tripadvisor. But we probably got there on a bad day. At 4pm the room was not ready, the lady at the front desk could not find the key, the room was not so clean, many cockroaches and the wifi did not work good. Even if we did book in advance, we end up with room in front of the reception on the main level. It was noisy and busy. The good thing is that we were there only for one night. But I have to say that the hotel is well located near of everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, Gerente at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

I want to apologize with all the bad things you find in the hotel.
However in your arrival date, 80% of the rooms were checkouts. I remember I talked to you that day and asked for patience.

That day was a rainy day and the internet signal from the provider had problems. Sorry but the hotel can do nothing about that. Just report the problem.

About the cockroaches, Isla Mujeres is in a Caribbean Tropic and when it rains or it is too hot and humid, it is normal that the cockroaches and other bugs are in everywhere in the Island.. In the hotel, we often fumigate, but it is impossible to block the 100% of the bugs

Most of my guests made reservations more than half year and even one or two years in advance. When you made the reservation, the last room available was on 1st floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean and charming accommodation while visiting Isla Mujeres. Gabriel and Juan Carlos are very nice guys and do all they can to provide you with a comfortable stay. The hotels location is perfect...on a quiet street with close proximity to the Playa Norte and Ave. Hidalgo. The rooms are clean and sized and equipped for your needs. This hotel is one of the best values on the Island. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiverDave42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Xbulu-ha is located on a street paralel to the main Hidalgo strip where most restaurants and many other hotels can be found. Walking distance to the main strip is just a few minutes though, and it makes the location more quiet. A rocky beach, unsuitable for swimming, is located only 2 minutes from the hotel, and can be seen from any of the rooms at the front side. The nice Norte beach is about 10 minutes walking distance away. This is common to all hotels on isla mujeres apart from the few actually located at the beach though.

The deluxe rooms are very large, come with a king size bed, kitchenette etc. There is a coffee maker and microwave, which could be useful as no breakfast is available at the hotel (there are plenty of restaurants within minutes though). All rooms have aircon, a fan, a fridge and a TV. Wifi works throughout the hotel, including inside the rooms.

Bathrooms are fully functional, though hot water supply seems somehow limited, keeping your showers short. It appears to work with a boiler though, after 15 minutes or so it is back to full temperature.

The place is cleaned on a daily basis, including fresh towels and linnen. The staff is friendly and helpful, though sometimes hard to find: the reception is left unmanned for periods of time and you'll have to look for someone if you need anything. This brings a bit of a security risk too though, as the room keys are hanging visibly in the reception area and someone could grab one. The rooms come with a safe that is large enough to fit a tablet and/or a small laptop though - i'd suggest using it whenever you go out and leave the key at the reception (to avoid losing it at the beach etc).

Room Tip: Have a look at the standard and deluxe rooms if you can: The deluxe are larger with a king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, Gerente at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thanks for your comments.

I would like to say that every room has its own water heater.
Playa Norte is at 5 min walking from the hotel.
The hotel counts on security cameras and due to maintenance and remodel works, the staff and I were out of the reception for some brief moments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcianito
Hotel Marcianito
#25 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
462 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xbulu-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Address: Calle Vicente Guerrero # 4 | Col. Centro, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $48 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xbulu-Ha 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xbulu-Ha is like your second home in your vacation. The staff is always ready to help you in what you need. The hotel is located in Isla Mujeres downtown. Both the ferry and north beach are no more than 5 min walking from the hotel. Also in two blocks you are in Hidalgo street where the restaurants and bars are. So you are close to have fun, but far to do not be disturbed with the noise. Hotel Xbulu-Ha has WiFi, beach towels and chair for the beach as complimentary service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Xbulu-Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing