We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel on Isla Mujeres”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great little hotel on Isla Mujeres”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Xbulu-ha is located on a street paralel to the main Hidalgo strip where most restaurants and many other hotels can be found. Walking distance to the main strip is just a few minutes though, and it makes the location more quiet. A rocky beach, unsuitable for swimming, is located only 2 minutes from the hotel, and can be seen from any of the rooms at the front side. The nice Norte beach is about 10 minutes walking distance away. This is common to all hotels on isla mujeres apart from the few actually located at the beach though.

The deluxe rooms are very large, come with a king size bed, kitchenette etc. There is a coffee maker and microwave, which could be useful as no breakfast is available at the hotel (there are plenty of restaurants within minutes though). All rooms have aircon, a fan, a fridge and a TV. Wifi works throughout the hotel, including inside the rooms.

Bathrooms are fully functional, though hot water supply seems somehow limited, keeping your showers short. It appears to work with a boiler though, after 15 minutes or so it is back to full temperature.

The place is cleaned on a daily basis, including fresh towels and linnen. The staff is friendly and helpful, though sometimes hard to find: the reception is left unmanned for periods of time and you'll have to look for someone if you need anything. This brings a bit of a security risk too though, as the room keys are hanging visibly in the reception area and someone could grab one. The rooms come with a safe that is large enough to fit a tablet and/or a small laptop though - i'd suggest using it whenever you go out and leave the key at the reception (to avoid losing it at the beach etc).

Room Tip: Have a look at the standard and deluxe rooms if you can: The deluxe are larger with a king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, Gerente at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks for your comments.

I would like to say that every room has its own water heater.
Playa Norte is at 5 min walking from the hotel.
The hotel counts on security cameras and due to maintenance and remodel works, the staff and I were out of the reception for some brief moments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    71
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
107
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Gabriel greeted us upon our arrival and made us feel very welcome. His onsite manager, Juan Carlos and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Anything we asked for was provided. The room was very clean and we enjoyed the small table and chairs outside our room. We had a 2nd floor jr suite and would recommend it for other travelers. Air was cold and the water was hot. The one thing we would have preferred but was not possible, was for the hotel to be closer to the ocean. That being said, we were only a couple minutes from Playa Norte, shopping and many restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor suite overlooking Avenue Guerrero.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1700sumwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is five minutes from the beautiful playa norte, two mins from the ferry dock. Nice clean rooms. Didnt see any purified water on offer though. Fans and aircon, hot water, very clean sheets.
Only problem we had was the air con dripped on our heads all night! So moving your bed is a suggestion!
Nice place to stay, would come again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justiney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, Director General at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
You are right. This Air Condition was broken, but now I have installed a new one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time staying here and I have to say that this place was so clean. The staff were so helpful and friendly. It has a great view of the sea wall which is only a 90 second walk to and a great second floor openness. The doubles room we stayed in was small but perfect for what we needed. The king size room our friends stayed in was so comfortable and with the kitchenette was just great!
The rooms had great A/C and wonderful safes. Close to the action of "downtown" and Playa Norte.
Although the bed I had wasn't the most comfy I would stay here again anytime!
Just can't wait till they get the roof top finished!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxx B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I think this is our 3 or 4 time staying at Xbulu-Ha, Gabriel is always improving his very clean and friendly boutique hotel. It is not loud or noisy. The two rooms over looking the street is where we stay on every visit. There is some traffic noise, but nothing I can't sleep through. If you are a light sleep you should get a room in the back away from the street. The wifi is good here, esp if you on the balcony enjoying your morning coffee and watching the town come to life. He has beach towels and even beach chairs! I think all the rooms have microwave, mini-frig, coffee maker, hair dryer, large security box. All of the staff are very friendly and do an excellent job at the hotel. It is close to the grocery store and a couple of drop off laundry places as well as some good food places. Juan Carlos the night manager is normally there every evening, if you need anything. He is very helpful and friendly.

Coming Soon! Gabriel is currently working on getting a couple of roof top penthouse rooms and getting the roof terrace available to everyone! The room was ready before check in time and he let us stay after checkout because we had a late flight. No matter where we stay on Isla,,. we always come back to Xbulu-Ha!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wesnoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, Director General at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks for this wonderful comments.
Just let me confirm the room amenities:

- All rooms and suites count on fridge (for rooms) or refrigerator (for suites), air conditioning, ceiling fan, TV, WiFi, safe, private bathroom and hair dryer.
- Deluxe: flat TV, microwave, closet and luggage compartment.
- Junior Suite: kitchenette, plate and silverware, microwave, coffee maker, private bathroom and hair dryer.
- Senior suite: kitchen with stove, kitchen items, plates and silverware, table with 4 chairs, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender, flat TV, Sofa-bed, private bathroom with two sinks, hair dryer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We found this wonderful hotel about 5 years ago and have been staying there ever since. From the first day Gabriel (the owner-manager) has made us feel like we are at home. The hotel is very clean and modern with safes, air conditioning,and fridges.Everything you need to make your stay one to remember. There is several different styles of rooms, we have been staying in one of the suites with a small kitchen and a large fridge. Gabriel goes out of his way everyday to ensure that everything is right for you. He also has been known to help you celebrate your birthdays and other special occasions, or out of the blue has shown up with a tub of ice and beer, and guacamole.

The location is great as everything is quite close. The beach is 3 blocks, the markets and econo loncheros are only a couple of blocks. The grocery store is a block and half, the liquor store is right around the corner, and the laundry is right on the corner. It is just one block over from Hidalgo (the street with the majority of bars and restaurants). So most everything is close, but yet it is quite quiet at night if you can get some sleep to rest up for the next day. The way hotel is designed it makes for a very social atmosphere. Most guests start gathering late afternoon after a day at the beach for some happy hour drinks and snacks. there is always lots of laughs and good fun.


The staff of the hotel is wonderful and has become like family to us. Angelica has been there for the last 4 years and keeps our room very clean and make sure that we always have clean towels. Often there is a little gift that her Children have made or a small token of friendship left in your room. Juan Carlos manages the hotel during the evenings and weekends, so there is always some staff around. Juan's esposa Nelly, used to work in the salon at the front of the Hotel, but an accident last year has left her unable to work for a while. Over the last few years we have had the pleasure of getting to know these people and their families on a personal level. We have been invited to their birthday party's and other family events. Coming back to this Hotel every year is like coming home. There is many of the Hotel guests return every year, and over the years we have all become good friends. This makes it like a reunion every year meeting up with our friends from Illinois, Wisconsin, Oklahoma, B.C., Ontario, and Minnesota. We can`t wait to return for another season this winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We really only need a decent bed for a couple of nights in Isla Mujeres, but were extremely happy with our choice. The room was extremely clean and the staff super-nice. Our only issue was that the toilet flap broke the first night, but they had it fixed within the hour. The a/c was ice cold, as was the mini-fridge. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matlock_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, Director General at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su critica, la cual nos ayuda a mejorar día con día.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xbulu-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Property: Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Address: Calle Vicente Guerrero # 4 | Col. Centro, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xbulu-Ha 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xbulu-Ha is like your second home in your vacation. The staff is always ready to help you in what you need. The hotel is located in Isla Mujeres downtown. Both the ferry and north beach are no more than 5 min walking from the hotel. Also in two blocks you are in Hidalgo street where the restaurants and bars are. So you are close to have fun, but far to do not be disturbed with the noise. Hotel Xbulu-Ha has WiFi, beach towels and chair for the beach as complimentary service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Xbulu-Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing