We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xbulu-Ha stands out on Isla Mujeres”
Review of Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

You are on the small island of Isla Mujeres where Xbulu-Ha stands out as the little hotel that reflects the laid-back down-home feeling of this small community. Everyone knows everyone - there is always someone to chat with - the inside courtyard is open to the breezes and available for chatting with your neighbours - and you are steps away from Playa del Norte - voted 14 out of the top 25 beaches in the world by Trip Advisor -as well as two more beaches. A fridge in all of the rooms and some rooms even have stoves - so you can supplement the wonderful food at the local restaurants with the local food and drink kept in your room. Xbulu-Ha is steps from the local market and around the corner from the grocery store and the local drinks store. Enjoy!
JCB.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, General Manager at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

To be more precise, Playa Norte is at 5 min walking from the hotel.
The port is also at 5 min.
The local market is at 3 min walking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 231 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been traveling to Isla Mujeres for many years and have stayed at many places. Xbulu-Ha does not come with a lot of bells and whistles. It is clean, comfortable and affordable. I come with friend and we each get a single room. The beds are not large but enough for one. There is a TV and small refrigerator in the room. The hotel does have some rooms with kitchenettes. It is in walking distance of the beach and a block off of Hildago where most of the restaurants are located. During my stays I have met some of the nicest people and everyone seems to look out for each other.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My Wife and I really enjoyed our stays at Xbulu-Ha! Clean, safe, comfortable, and a great location. Gabriel the owner is a pleasure to deal with and takes a lot of pride in his hotel. It's close to the action but far enough away from the late night noise on Hidalgo! Juan Carlos the manager is also there to help you with anything you need. Over all, a great place to stay at a great price. We have made a lot of new friends at the hotel, and love the way everyone gets together for a happy hour or to share food, conversation, and a lot of laughter!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, General Manager at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks for this rating. Now I must keep working to make other guest have the same opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and myself have been staying at XBULA-HA for a month at a time every year for the last four years. All the staff are friendly and helpful to attend to all your needs.Angelica keeps the room very clean and tidy. Juan carlos is a very friendly and a knowledgeable person, every year his english improves quickly.Anything you need he will get for you. We stay in the large suite which has a king size bed which is very comfortable,a large fridge,4 burner gas stove,all the utensils needed to cook with,a flat screen tv,safe,microwave and a/c, the bathroom is quite large with a large shower,2 vanities a toilet. and a closet to hang your clothes in,There is also a table and four chairs to eat at and a small chesterfield at the foot of the bed.There is also a 9 drawer dresser to put all your cloths in and also free to use beach chairs The hotel has a large party room to accommodate all the guest gatherings and celebrations ,There is also free coffee and a munchie in the morning. Gabriel is very accommodating and will go beyond your needs and is always trying to improve the hotel for all the guests and it just keeps getting better. You feel very safe and comfortable in this little GEM of a hotel on isla mujeres. can hardly wait to get back to see everyone as they are our second family.

Denny & Rosita

Room Tip: The best little hotel in the downtown area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DennyRosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I have been coming back every year for seven or eight years now. We love the place. It is conveniently located, reasonably priced, and the staff and owner are just like family. I guess that is why we stay at the hotel 2+ months each year. When we stay we get one of the suites. The suites have a refrigerator, a microwave, a small kitchen area with a sink and table service. The hotel is well maintained; it has internet connectivity for their guests; and the owner and manager, Gabriel, speaks three languages - Spanish, English, and German. One reason that guest like coming here is that Gabriel is quick to respond to email questions. He is also always willing to accomodate requests or suggestions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MortonTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, General Manager at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Both the long-stay guest as the one who stays one or few nights, are very important for the hotel. Everybody is welcome to the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A excellent place to stay when on the island. This was our fourth year to say at the Hotel Xbulu-Ha.The hotel is always clean and well maintained. The staff treats you like family and they are always courteous and extremely helpful. That is why I say that this is my home when I'm away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mickey851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stay here for an extended time. We just love it. Gabriel is the best! Always prompt in response to emails, always accommodating. He speaks perfect English. Juan the mg. is very friendly and there to assist in whatever you need or questions you want answered. He will assist in renting golf carts when needed. Our room is small but comfortable with TV, safe, apt.-size frig, ceiling fan and air conditioning. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Community room has microwave and two toasters. Hotel provides beach chairs and towels. Beach is 4- blk walk away. Grocery store is two blocks away. Close to all restaurants. Hotel also has hair salon and dentist. Atmosphere is friendly and fun. Gabriel continues to build his business and is always adding amenities to please his guests.

Room Tip: If you're a big person you would want to get a suite as they are much bigger and have king-sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank leyladog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcianito
Hotel Marcianito
#25 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#17 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xbulu-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Address: Calle Vicente Guerrero # 4 | Col. Centro, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $45 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xbulu-Ha 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xbulu-Ha is like your second home in your vacation. The staff is always ready to help you in what you need. The hotel is located in Isla Mujeres downtown. Both the ferry and north beach are no more than 5 min walking from the hotel. Also in two blocks you are in Hidalgo street where the restaurants and bars are. So you are close to have fun, but far to do not be disturbed with the noise. Hotel Xbulu-Ha has WiFi, beach towels and chair for the beach as complimentary service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Xbulu-Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing