We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always something new at Xbulu-Ha!”
Review of Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Always something new at Xbulu-Ha!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I feel a little cheeky writing as I didn't sleep there this time (for a number of reason that have nothing to do with Xbulu-Ha - I was at the sister property Marcianito) but I spent my fair share of time hanging out here for 3 days which included a great luncheon one day (from Bane - chicken joiont next door), breakfast the next day with the leftovers etc.

This time I saw, and was able to use, the lovely senior suite (family suite) that has a kitchen with stove, kitchen items, plates and silverware, table with 4 chairs, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender, flat TV, Sofa-bed, private bathroom with two sinks, hair dryer. It's on the main floor at the end of the hall and it's so clean, spacious and has lots of extras to the usual standard room I've stayed in (and love!).

Gabriel also gave me a peek at the roof top where there's a new penthouse being built! The roof top will eventually be a terrace with a really nice view (especially towards the malecon). Still bugging him for a dipping pool..funny how 'NO' in English and Spanish have the exact same meaning? LOL He said maybe a tiled out door shower...good enough..those roof tops get pretty toasty!

Always something new happening at Xbulu-Ha! I absolutely love this place...Gabriel and all the staff as very special people. :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, Propietario at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for the nice comments. I promise a tiled out door shower on the terrace and there will be a tiled out door shower, but before that, I will put a grill on the terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    75
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
109
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for Cinco De Mayo, 2012 for a few days. This hotel is GREAT, CLEAN and friendly service and above all the price is fantastic! They even offer free coffe, microwave and beach towels. Everything is within walking distance...the beach, resturants and super market. I would highly recomend this place. Looking forward to going back ASAP! Hello to all the staff members!

Room Tip: Top floor with kitchenette was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, Propietario at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for the nice comments. Now the hotel has a new project:. We are building a terrace in order that the guests have a wonderful view from the Hotel roof. Also, we have fixed our water pressure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just spent 10 days at Xbulu-Ha and it was great. Centrally located - close to beaches, the municipal market, Hidalgo. The staff are very nice and helpful, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The rates are very reasonable - I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imaginaryapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was my third visit to Xbulu and it was just as great as the other times! I love having morning coffee on the balcony watching the street come to life.

It's very fun to see the changes to Xbulu. One trip was a new reception area. This trip, there was a new room behind reception that was like a big kitchen/dining room with table/chairs, coffee maker, sink, dishes etc. It's great if you don't have one of the kitchenette rooms. There was also a new wash area by the steps to clean your feet off of sand. Gabriel is also working on a roof top terrace (I'm hoping for a outdoor colorful tiled shower where you can duck under and cool off lol) so this will be very exciting as I can just imagine the view from the roof to the malecon and the ocean.

Thank you Gabriel, Angelica, Juan Carlo, Nelly, Sam and Mary for another wonderful trip! xo

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
That´s right. Every year I like to add or modified something in the hotel to make feel my guests like a little piece of home. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

. . .and we’ll be back. This is our third visit to Isla and the third hotel we’ve tried in Isla — our favorite and at a bargain rate. We stayed two weeks in April. Our junior suite was roomy and well-furnished. We loved having our own fridge, microwave, and coffee maker, and we enjoyed our morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the street. Beautiful Playa Norte is just a few blocks away, and we used the complimentary towels and chairs supplied by the hotel. Friendly owner, friendly staff. Maybe we can stay longer next time.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelxbuluha, Director General at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thanks for you nice comments and thing like this help me to improve everytime room amenities and give better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

If you are thinking of booking do it!
Very good value and Central...five mins walk to the beach
Staff helpful in every way.
Rooms clean, t.v., air con, good shower, free safe
Free towels for the beach and fold up carrying chairs.
Outside seating area with views overlooking the road and sea.
Beauty salon and hairdressers on site.
My brother and I paid £15 a night each for a room.
There are larger rooms with a kitchen area if needed

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelanieSquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Lovely hotel. Nice location, clean, very comfortable beds and good aircon. Good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
448 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xbulu-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Property: Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Address: Calle Vicente Guerrero # 4 | Col. Centro, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xbulu-Ha 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xbulu-Ha is like your second home in your vacation. The staff is always ready to help you in what you need. The hotel is located in Isla Mujeres downtown. Both the ferry and north beach are no more than 5 min walking from the hotel. Also in two blocks you are in Hidalgo street where the restaurants and bars are. So you are close to have fun, but far to do not be disturbed with the noise. Hotel Xbulu-Ha has WiFi, beach towels and chair for the beach as complimentary service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Xbulu-Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing