We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweetness”
Review of Casa el Pio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa el Pio
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“sweetness”
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I swear it actually was a little bird that lead us to casa pio. We got off the ferry not knowing a thing about the island, we did have a tour book to get us started, but that was it. We sat on a bench next to some folks who were about to leave the island and shared that we were looking for a place. They mentioned Casa Pio, it was across the way from the place they stayed at and they felt it would be just right for us. We rented a golf cart and set out on our quest to find a place. We found ourselves parked next to Cafe Mogagua, after chatting with Albert and sharing that Casa Pio was recommended to us he rejoiced, "Ah, Margaret is a friend of mine, she has a lovely place. I will call her and get directions". Before you knew it we were in the clean, humble, spacious, bright and nourishing little Casa Pio" It is just off the beaten path of all the shops and just perfectly close to them. At night we would watch the community games on the court, men's and women's volleyball and basketball. During the day we would explore the island & shops, relax on the beach, snack at Mogagua, cool off in the perfect little pool. Our time on Isla Mujeres and at Casa Pio was blissful. Thank You Margaret!!! Blessings! Jill & Rick

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodlust77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
132
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville,NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

This guesthouse is very well run, and the on-site manager Margaret ensures that all your questions and queries are answered. We stayed in room #4 upstairs and appreciated the spacious living area for lounging after a day at the beach. The bed was firm and comfortable (which you can't always take for granted in Mexico). This place is spotless, chic and for anybody who appreciates cool, clean modern design on a budget, this one is a no-brainer. The location is just south of the main square--so you can easily walk to beaches, restaurants and bars--but just far enough away from the hustle to be quiet and relaxing--some places by Playa del Norte can be somewhat noisy. However, being "in town" allows you to make the most of the funky, (surprisingly sophisticated) vibe.

The book of activities and recommendations in the room has lots of great tips. The owners know and love Isla Mujeres ,and the care they've taken with tips and info is very personal. If there's something else, just ask Margaret what you're looking for--she's approachable and most willing to help--in a very charming and low-key manner.

To me, the overall vibe is like having a friend lend you their place for a stay. I'd say it's ideally suited for independently-minded travelers who've graduated from backpacker-style hosteling, who appreciate comfort and value, but are not looking for a generic resort with TV's in room or swim-up bars.

This is the second time my partner and I have stayed here and we now consider it our home away from home. Margaret can set up breakfast for you at Casa Sirena across the street--most delicious and entertaining. Also try out the ice pops from the ice-cream/juice shop on the corner. Other recommendations: yoga lessons at Elements of the Island and getting a massage on the beach at Playa del Norte (surprisingly good)...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The headline says it all. Yet another perfect trip. The staff were awesome. That's about all I can say!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chnkltgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Reservations were easy to make on line with Paypal payment.
Clear directions were given on how to get there from Cancun airport (shuttle and then ferry).
Location is great: less than 10 minute walk from Playa Norte (best beach on the island) and on the main downtown street (Av Hidalgo) --though distant enough to be very quiet-- with tons of restaurants less than 10 minutes away.
Beds are excellent.
Margaret is a great host: always available and helpful, and with a smile.
Cleaning staff is excellent.
Beach towels and bag are provided for free every day, as well as purified water in a cooler.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoservais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I have vacationed in Isla four times and have never found a place like Casa el Pio. The staff is very friendly; the room was very clean. The beds were comfortable which is a
rarity in Isla. They had a beach bag and extra towels ready for us upon arrival. With its
off-the-beaten path, we rarely heard any noise. The hotel is located across the street from the supermarket and city central. Although the hotel is not located on the beach,
it is a very short walk. The rooms come with a mini kitchen, all the free filtered water
you want, and a day room with bed and chair which made entertaining guest very easy. All in all we would recommend this place and will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed at Casa El Pio because of the comments through TripAdvisor. In addition, we liked the location because it is downtown and most everything is nearby and within walking distance.

When we arrived we were greeted by Margaret, the property manager of Casa El Pio. She is a warm and friendly person, and was very helpful in answering questions during our stay.

We chose room #3 because of the ocean view (although you do have to look over rooftops). The size of the room was adequate for just the two of us. And for the price, you can't beat it! It came with a mini fridge, coffee maker (and the coffee), and two beachtowels (with the beach bag) daily. The dipping pool was very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. Housekeeping did a wonderful job of leaving us a clean room everyday. The premises was also well-kept..

The only thing that I would add to the room is one or two curtain panels to each window for added privacy and to also help keep out some of the sunlight in the morning. Perhaps even putting the bed on the opposite wall would help (and for privacy as well since it is directly across from the bathroom).

We felt Casa El Pio was a good bang for your buck and because of that, the cleanliness, and the friendliness we received from Margaret, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrcise4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed at Casa El Pio boutique hotel for 7 nights in Room No 1. We choose this room because it has a patio with table and chairs as we like to sit out and also it had a second bed which we needed as my son was staying with us for a few nights over from Cancun.

You get a great welcome by Margaret, who manages the hotel very efficiently, and an information pack is provided, which offers lots of useful guidance for eating out and places of interest to visit.

The room was clean and fresh and the contemporary decor and finishes made or stay most enjoyable. Sure you don’t have a pool or restaurant or other facilities that you might expect in a standard hotel but you not paying big bucks either. We like to eat out for breakfast, lunch and dinner so as to sample the local cuisine and I have to say we didnt have a bad experience at any of the local cafes recommended by Margaret.

The AC unit, coffee maker, safe and other amenities all work very well although the showers wasn’t great. The towels were changed regularly and the room cleaned daily. Beach towels were also provided daily, which was great.

Our only criticism is that storage/hanging space for clothes was limited and we had to live out of our suitcases, and the toilet paper bin had no lid, which made for some rather smelly moments. I must add though that none of this spoiled our stay at all.
We would definately return to Cas El Pio.

Email me if you wish denis.robinson7@ntlworld.com

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillarybee, owner at Casa el Pio, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Thank you for your positive review! We are so happy that you had a nice time and I just wanted to let you know of some updates we have made based on your response.

We actually do have a pool, although it is a small one. It's meant for cooling off and not swimming laps.

We have provided additional storage/organizing space in the closets to minimize having to live out of your suitcase.

We have also upgraded all of the shower heads to provide much better water pressure.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa el Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa el Pio

Property: Casa el Pio
Address: Av Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa El Pio, a small hotel located just off the town square in the center of Isla Mujeres' downtown district. The island's best beaches, food and shopping are all just a few steps away. Casa El Pio is clean, cute and modern. Amenities include a courtyard pool, free Wi-Fi access and beach tote with towels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa El Pio Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing