We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Tacos Mondays! But be very careful with the home made margs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail
Ranked #13 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2013

we ran into a local that said Mondays were the best day to go.....and they were right as the only think on the menu was Lobster Tacos....delicious! Not a negative for our group, but I will warn anyone that goes to be careful with their home made 'special' margarita cocktail. I have no idea what went into the "mix" but we saw one gal walk in sober one minute and was dead drunk in 30 minutes having had only 2 drinks....not big drinks, just very potent. We didn't fair much better and were toasty quick!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stempleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 66 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Soggy Peso

Glad I was traveling without the kids, didn't realize until I got there that no one under 18 was allowed.  Stopped after touring the island to find cover from the rain.  I enjoyed the fajitas & ice cold beer.  I liked that the fajitas come with sour cream & guacamole with plenty of peppers & onions.  Great, relaxed atmosphere!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank futbolchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the soggy peso feb 19 to the 22.The rooms are very comfortable. The owners Mal and Sally are very friendly and a pleasure to be around.the bar staff are all very friendly as well. this was the fourth time we have stayed there and we will return.If you want a nice relaxing time you cant beat the soggy peso,the bar closes at 8 so the noise dosnt bother the guest in are case that seemed to be the perfect time to turn in for the evening.The sun takes a lot out of you. By the way the beer is 2 dollars and I dont remember the price of the mixed drinks but they were of average price. all in all a very fair price for the atmosphere and nice people we spent are vacation with.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place looked to be a lot of fun based on reviews. So four of us went to have drinks and just to hang out. It was like visiting a sports bar/ Margaritaville type place. All US visitors or people who just left behind their lives in the states and moved to the island. Maybe it was just not the place to go after a week of indulging in the amazing culture of the island and the Yucatan. I found that it reminded me of a lot of things that are very arrogant and disheartening about my own culture. To say the least, it didn't make me homesick, rather it made me want to run away from that bar! We didn't eat, just had drinks. Went with a group of 4 and after spending way more than we should have on drinks and dealing with rude people who just wanted us to rent their properties from them, we left and went back to the northern part of the island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AmbrosiaB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stopped in the Soggy Peso only because of reviews on Tripadvisor. To get there you have to walk down a little alley next to a small hotel. Behind the hotel is the little beach side bar which not much more than a hut surrounded by plastic tables. The place is American ex pat owned and its clientele are mostly American locals hanging out for the cheap but really cold beer. There are daily food specials. On Sundays the place is packed. Sundays is ribs and the owner begins smoking and grilling them a full 24 hrs before. For about $17 US you get an enormous full rack platter with chorizo sausage, refried beans, assorted vegs and cornbread. The meat literally fell off the bone. It's was awesome. Next time back to Isla Sundays at the Soggy Peso is a must.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank galomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very simply you MUST go to the Soggy Peso for Sunday BBQ. No question. Go early, we arrived at 4 o'clock and the place was packed. Luckily some friends had arrived earlier and saved us a couple of chairs. They can also run out of the ribs, which are their speciality. As I do not eat red meat we ordered a plate that had chicken and ribs. Delicious chicken, corn bread, potato salad, corn salad, yummy. They smoke everything overnight so it has an amazing deep flavor. We did not stay at the hotel but our friend's parents are, very nice. The service was great, he asked our names and used them each time he came to the table. Couldn't have felt more welcome. We enjoyed the food so much we are going back for the lobster tacos today!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine1131571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

...but I'm so glad we did. The ribs at Soggy Peso are amazing. We arrived on the island Friday and ribs are served on Sunday. Soggy Peso was recommended to us at least a dozen times within the first two days on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessmont812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chac Chi Hotel & Suites
Chac Chi Hotel & Suites
#10 of 39 in Isla Mujeres
77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#2 of 39 in Isla Mujeres
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail

Address: Avenue Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $136 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISLAND TIME Located on the beautiful Bahia de Isla, The Soggy Peso --unique and full of character--is just a short distance from El Centro(the island's business district). Our waterfront view allows the visitor to check out the fishermen leaving in the mornings and returning with their catches at sunset.......sunsets that are absolutely breathtaking over a cold cerveza or a glass of wine. But we are also convenient to the white sands of North Beach and the numerous bars and restaurants on Hidalgo Street But don't forget the Soggy Peso Palapa Bar where fishermen and colorful characters of the Island alike take pride in swapping their Caribbean experiences-----some true....some not so true. And the bartender....who refuses to be outdone......has the tendency at times of being slightly more interesting than his customers. Our laid back life style at The Soggy Peso personifies that famous line in one of Jimmy Buffett's songs..."Keep it simple , Stupid".So..... Bienvenidos!!!! Parrot Heads,Yayhoos, SnubQueens, and Good Ole' Boys!!!!!!! ALMOST FORGOT!.....In keeping with our Bed & Cocktail theme, each room guest will be entitled daily to some free Bloody Marys in the morning and some free Margaritas in the afternoon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Soggy Peso Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing