We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Trip Stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail
Ranked #13 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Brandon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Road Trip Stop!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I made two visits to the Soggy Peso bar in early July. It is truly a "must-do" if you are taking a golf cart tour of the island, or easily reached by cab from El Centro.

Both visits were simply fun. A great place to take some time out of the sun and relax. The Soggy Peso offers a food special each day, as well as basic "pub grub". Or can sit and just enjoy drinks.

On my second visit, I happened to be the only one in at that time, and had a wonderful history lesson of Isla from Freddy, the bartender you have read about. I really enjoyed hearing stories and seeing some old photos of the island.

The Soggy Peso is the bar you wish you had at the end of your street back home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunDog61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Perfect spot to waste an afternoon. Freddy is extremely accommodating, and his margaritas are the best I've ever had. The guac is great too. Definitely worth a stop!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaB0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The rooms great, the bar and hospitality the best. We were treated like queens - a spot to play games, dynamite drinks, and a pool to cool off (or fall into) after trips into town. The beach was clean with lounges for us all - only drawback was you couldn't swim in the water. Definitely a positive experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poortravelingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

You have to go by and have a drink and lunch with the group at SP. Freedy and the guys will treat you right and you will have a memorable time. It a one of a kind place!!!plan on leaving a hat to sign and post on the ceiling!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil0164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had a great time thanks to the owner and Freddy. The steak fajitas were awesome. The bartender Freddy makes you feel welcome as soon as you walk in. Great place to relax and meet new people. Looking forward to going back in April 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKYnTonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Food is awesome,haven't gotten to stay maybe I should at least one night love the atmosphere, very friendly had a blast everytime i've been there,this is Isla an island not NY ,not Chicago,Isla Buffett land enjoy or go to some high end place on Hildlago I'll go to Soggy and see my friends...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslaholicIslamujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I went there for drinks and apps one night. We had the shrimp ceviche and it was awesome. The bartenders were super friendly - went out of their way to ask us our names and talk to us. The only downside was we both got very bit up by bugs. I wonder if its because its on the lagoon? They have Off at the bar but I waited too long to use it so I got bites up and down my leg, but that's the price you pay for an outdoor bar in the Caribbean! The ceviche was worth it: )

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DebO76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail

Property: The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail
Address: Avenue Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISLAND TIME Located on the beautiful Bahia de Isla, The Soggy Peso --unique and full of character--is just a short distance from El Centro(the island's business district). Our waterfront view allows the visitor to check out the fishermen leaving in the mornings and returning with their catches at sunset.......sunsets that are absolutely breathtaking over a cold cerveza or a glass of wine. But we are also convenient to the white sands of North Beach and the numerous bars and restaurants on Hidalgo Street But don't forget the Soggy Peso Palapa Bar where fishermen and colorful characters of the Island alike take pride in swapping their Caribbean experiences-----some true....some not so true. And the bartender....who refuses to be outdone......has the tendency at times of being slightly more interesting than his customers. Our laid back life style at The Soggy Peso personifies that famous line in one of Jimmy Buffett's songs..."Keep it simple , Stupid".So..... Bienvenidos!!!! Parrot Heads,Yayhoos, SnubQueens, and Good Ole' Boys!!!!!!! ALMOST FORGOT!.....In keeping with our Bed & Cocktail theme, each room guest will be entitled daily to some free Bloody Marys in the morning and some free Margaritas in the afternoon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Soggy Peso Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing