We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cielito Lindo Apts

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cielito Lindo Apts
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

On the positive side:
By far this is the best location to get to beaches, restaurants, shopping, golf cart rentals...there is a store right across the street that can supply ice, pop, beer, bottled water. Tortas right across the street at the beach early every morning was wonderful & cheap for breakfast - $50 peso for 2 (they are great cold for lunch also, but get them early as he is only there each morning til he runs out) . Apt 1 has 2 balconies (1 private overlooking small courtyard - 1 street view), which was nice for all our wet beach wear & floaties (clothes line provided) lounge chair for afternoon naps or late evening reflections of the day. The frig was bigger than most rentals on Isla. The kitchen is fully stocked with all utensils, dish soap, dish towels & cloth. Bath towels/sheets/beach blankets & styro coolers were provided. It is very easy to catch a taxi in seconds to go anywhere on the island. There is a beautiful small courtyard space & the property is very secure. Joy is very friendly, helpful. She speaks english & spanish so she can help you with your spanish before and during your stay..... and her pup Petey is adorable.
On the negitive side:
It's very hard to post the negitive side, as Joy is very nice & friendly, but felt like she wasn't upfront about alot of things and it did cost more than I had budgeted. Price ended up much more than expected....I guess the price is based per person (which I wasn't told until we arrived), there is an additional damage deposit (which I wasn't told until we arrived, and an additional daily fee for a/c( I was told in advance) but that is really limited to a few hours a day. 16% tax is added (which I did know about, but think may have been calculated incorrectly and does make a big difference. If you chose to forgo the a/c beware that having the patio doors and windows all open can be extremely loud, since you are on the busiest street on the Island, and if it is a still night you will not get a breeze and being on 2nd floor can get very hot & muggy. The beach view is mostly blocked by trees, the store across the street opens alittle late in the morning, so it wasn't helpful if you want to get to the beach early (you may want to get your things the night before) Although secure it may be alittle overboard...getting in and out can get to be a hassle if your hands are full and/or alone. Also if visiting the island with friends, they aren't able to just knock at your door, they have to stand in street and yell up to you (and hopefully you hear them) Your friends are NOT welcome past the security gate (which I wasn't told in advance) but is posted on the wall by the gate ( and I didn't abide by)...the beautiful courtyard does not have anywhere to sit and was blocked by an additional locked gate. There are alot of extra rules. Although Petey is adorable and could just hug him everytime you see him...he will wake you up EARLY (5am) every morning barking for his morning walk, so if you stayed out a bit to late and/or have a hard time getting back to sleep it could put a dampier on your day if your not well rested. I think if you decide to stay you need to have a printed rental agreement in advance, and make sure all the extra's are added in so you can decide if this is the way you want to spend your vacation dollars.
All in all, you can find much much better accomadations for your dollars. We did make the best of it and even had a few good laughs over some of the things.....we always have a great time in Isla & anywhere on the island is better than not being there at all.
2014 was my 5th year...and have stayed at 10 different places...last year we stayed at 5 different places (trying to find our diamond in the rough, that we can return to year after year) which I don't recommend all that moving around unless you pack SUPER light. We always take 1/2 day & rent a cart to scope out our place for the next year...and believe we have found our diamond in the rough...will let you know next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ybcuzuru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The apt is lovely & has 2 balconies! Always a perk for us. Right downtown & across from the beach. Keeps cool during the hot days & nights. So close to everything. It is very clean & well stocked. Loved it.
The Clarks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jiplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Absolutely loved Cielito Lindo! The owner, Joy, is fun and accomodating, if you need anything just ask. It's an easy walk from the ferry on Medina. We stayed in Apt. #1. There was one double bed w/ceiling fan, one twin bed, a separate sofa, and a small dining table with chairs. Also an ample closet with shelves and hangers. The bathroom was clean and everything was in working order. I stayed here with my 2 adult daughters and we never ran out of hot water even though we showered 3 in a row many times. There is a clean little kitchen with a sink, refrigerator/freezer (yes, you can make ice), microwave, 2 burner cooktop, toaster, coffee pot, and 20 liter water jug with pump is supplied for drinking water. Pots & pans, dishes, glasses, utensils, all supplied. There is a super right on the corner to pick up anything you need, paper towels, juice, cerveza, etc. so close you don't even need to put shoes on to go. :-)
Joy also supplies beach blankets and a few nice little styrofoam coolers to carry your cerveza to the beach. A/C was also available, we didn't use it.
This was THE perfect location for Carnaval, the parades were right on our street everyday, great people watching! It's an easy walk to many many restaurants and bars, the town square, beaches, watch the sunset from the front balcony or walk 4 blocks in the morning to watch the sunrise from the other side of the island, it's so ideal!

Room Tip: Apt. #1 has a second balcony overlooking the courtyard and lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank mn_isla_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Cielito Lindo was our 1st stop on a 6 week tour of Mexico. Arriving from the snow at Gatwick Airport 'Isla' gave us a very welcome recovery from jet lag.

The apartment is comfortable and decorated with good taste and character. Joy was very obliging. I mentioned that we were not used to microwave cooking and she surprised us with a newly installed gas 2-burner gas hob.

The circus was in town and had non-stop loud-speaker vans driving up and down but otherwise the appt was quiet for sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob_Croxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River,NS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just spent five weeks at this Apt. and it made a good home base. Certainly close to the beach and downtown core. Joy was very accommodating and supplied us with a toaster, iron and large fan when we made an enquiry. She is also very knowledgable, informative and interesting to talk with. Plenty of hot water and bottled water and an adequately stocked kitchen for light meal preparation. It was great to walk across the street and buy fresh fish and have it filleted while you wait. This street is probably the busiest on the island with lots of traffic. However, It is a great spot for Carnival and to people watch. Met very nice neighbours and Adrian in the downstairs store was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haligonian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I just spent 2 wonderful, laid-back weeks on Isla Mujeres. What made it so, wasn't only the beauty and intimacy of this island, but the beach studio I rented in Cielito Lindo, literally 10 steps (mine) across the street to the beach. My room was spacious, airy, culturally and tastefully decorated, complete with a kitchenette and bathroom/shower, and free WiFi. I didn't opt for A/C, and found the overhead fan and the cross breeze from the patio doors and window on the other side provided refreshing comfort. But that's me, as I personally don't like A/C. The complex (three floors: ground floor has two businesses, second floor houses two studio apartments, and the third is the owner's home) is located on the main street and is busy and lively during the day due to local traffic, tourist golf carts, and tourists from Cancun coming over for a day's respite from the big city. It does make for good people watching while sitting on the balcony enjoying an ice-cold cerveza. :-) At night, however, the street is quiet; from around 9:30 PM through to sunrise at around 7:30 AM. The owner (and her darling dog) is almost always available and accommodating should you have questions or require information; or, just leave her a note! I loved this place and certainly will return. It's central, only steps from a terrific beach, and within a pleasant short walking distance to restaurants, cafes, and a supermarket. I loved this apartment and it suited me perfectly!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GypsyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

i am just glad to hear good comments about cielito Lindo, good work joy..

Room Tip: always find the position on where you want to be more for to safe.. meet locals around, local food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apache_islamujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#22 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#18 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel D'Gomar
Hotel D'Gomar
#30 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielito Lindo Apts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielito Lindo Apts

Property: Cielito Lindo Apts
Address: Avenida Rueda Medina 78, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished studio apts with kitchenettes, Cable TV, WiFi, across from the main swimming beach, in town, convenient to everything....shopping, restaurants, bank, ferry, all within 4 blocks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing