We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most amazing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most amazing vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My boyfriend, good friend and I just got back from a terrific vacation at El Milagro Marina and Villas. In my opinion the most remarkable thing about this "resort" was the service. Truly, neither of us have ever been so well cared for. The staff, led by Inga and assisted by Julios, Felix, and a number of Juans were constantly checking with us to make sure our vacation was always enjoyable. This was service way beyond what we were expecting, especially after what we payed to stay there. Even though we went near the end of the winter season, the weather was amazing, really warm and invigorating. The beach on the resort however was the only disappointment. It was quite slimy and full of weeds, although, it was quite nice to have the marina dock to jump off from! The white sandy beach was also wonderful and the water was very comfortably warm and was evidently a breathtaking colour. There was a cute palm cabana, many lounge chairs and hammocks by the beach, a perfect place for a ciesta! The villas also came equipped with snorkelling gear, floating tubes and kayaks/life jackets for anytime use which were all fantastic and in good shape.

Yet another thing we really enjoyed about this place was that our rooms had a kitchen. We were able to buy the freshest local produce and delicious fish right in town and were able to cook it ourselves. Definitely beats resort food in my opinion! It was also nice having help from the locals to cook our fish. Jonathan and I highly recommend the beach front cabana. It's perfect for two and has a great view of the ocean from the patio doors!

In conclusion we all highly recommend this resort and this beautiful Island to anyone who wishes to travel to Mexico. It was by far one of the most fantastic vacations we've ever had!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed quite nice although like I mentioned previously, the beachfront cabana was fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseJohnathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    38
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
123
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

As I sit here and watch the wet snow falling outside, my mind drifts back to our recent stay at El Milagro. We arrived home last week after spending 16 wonderful days there. It was a vacation that my husband and I will never forget. Eric and all his staff have done an amazing job renovating the property and making it into an authentic Mexican paradise. Each room has it's own personality with brightly coloured tile work, full kitchens, great bathrooms with lots of water pressure, and appealing Mexican décor throughout. We stayed in villa #3 and it was perfect for us. HUGE room with everything you would need in the kitchen to cook your own meals. Full size fridge, microwave oven, stove, coffee maker, bottled water, pots, pans, dishes, you name it!

The open air lobby-sitting area is a great spot to curl up and relax on a comfy leather sofa. You can have a wonderful time getting to know people from all over the world, or you can have some quiet time to read a book or catch up on e-mails. There is a small library there as well as a ping pong table, and a small movie theatre too, just off the lobby.

They have a small beach area with beds, and loungers, as well as a small dipping pool. This was always quiet and a nice change from the crowds on Playa Norte beach. I really enjoyed relaxing on the loungers.

If you visit El Milagro you can't miss the weekly bbq the staff puts on. They are the best!! The first week we actually had 2 bbq's. The first one was fish. The best fish I've ever had, and the second one was chicken and ribs. YUMMY!! Jaime, Julio, Inga and all the staff work very hard to make sure everyone enjoys their meal, as well as their whole stay at El Milagro. The bbq's are a great way to socialize with other guests as well as those staying at the marina. We met some wonderful people from all over the world.

We loved using the bikes everyday to ride into town. They are a great way to see the island. We also had fun on the sea kayaks. They also have paddle boards to use. El Milagro's location is just perfect. You are a 15 minute walk to town or a 5 minute bike ride. You are away from the noise of town, but you have several great restaurant/beach bars on either side of you. They have live music several times a week, but they stop playing by around 9pm or so, as to not disturb anyone into the night. The restaurants also have great food!!

I have to mention how much we loved the staff. Inga is just a lovely person and we chatted everyday. She has a heart of gold!! She takes great care of Foster, a beautiful 14 year old dog belonging to Eric. Foster is enjoying his senior years at El Milagro...a very lucky dog indeed!!
Jaime and Julio make sure the Marina runs smoothly as well as any work being done on the property. I can't remember all the other names, but they are all very special people who make El Milagro the paradise that it is.

As much as I want people to know about this place, I also want to keep it to myself. It really is a gem, and I can't wait to return. Thanks for making our vacation one we will never forget!!

Lynn and Allan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starfishNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for 8 days at the marina. After our relaxing trip on the ferry and a quick taxi ride we arrived at the marina. We were welcomed by the staff and the dog Foster. Inga was always around to help us plan our days. It is a prefect location to town, music and delicious restaurants. Each apartment offers a comfortable place to relax. Each day we met new people that were staying in the villas or on their boats. It is large enough to find a quiet place to nap and read or to join in a friendly chat. We also met the owner which is very involved in making the marina into a Travelers dream place to stay.

Room Tip: Each of the apartments are well equipped, clean and comfortable. There are numerous spaces to read a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syracusehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

my husand and i recently visited isla mujeres for the 5th time...last trip we found el milagro marinas and villas...we stayed there this trip and we felt like we had a room,but that we were a part of a beautiful hacienda!!the views are spectacular, especially from the penthouse, which offers 360 degree views of the island and waters!! eric, the owner, has recently done some fantastic renovations...in the evening , some of the guests mingle in the open air lobby...one afternoon several guest brought their various instruments downstairs and had a delightful impromptu jam session!! you can keep to yourself or be a part of the other guests who are there!! julio will even cook the catch of the day for you!! jaime is a great part of el milagro, as is inga!!! they made our stay delightful!! foster, the marinas live in canine will be waiting for a pat on his head every morning!! i highly recommend you give el milagro a try..it will be the highlight of your isla trip!! elaine m. fort worth, texas

Room Tip: their website has a very accurate description of the rooms and their location...we prefer the bay vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a great place for those who want to get away from the large resorts and feel a little more connected to the island through the intimate setting. Each villa is a little different but all are done in beautiful tile-work, feature colourful decor and contain all the essentials for your trip (everything from full-size fridge to coffeemaker, microwave and nice plush beach towels). Some units have full kitchens, which we found we didn't make full use of - too many great places for dinners!

We especially enjoyed the delicious authentic Mexican dinners cooked by the staff, where we met other guests and boaters. The guys gave my husband a cooking lesson a couple of nights later - nice to learn some tips to take home with us! The communal kitchen and BBQs, courtyard with couch groupings, library and movie room are all designed to bring people together. We met some great people this way. However if you want privacy, you can have that too. Some of the units have their own private balconies or you can just kick back on the beach chairs.

There are bars close by on both sides that feature music, which we really enjoyed (great dinner specials too). However the music stops at 9 pm, so you needn't be worried that it will keep you up at night. If you want to stay up late, there is always El Centro - a short 30 to 40 peso taxi ride away (or you can walk it in 15 to 20 minutes).

The bikes, kayaks and paddle boards were also nice to have and we made full use of them. But the best part is the staff. Jaime, Inga, Julio and everyone else made us feel truly welcome. We had a small problem with our room when we arrived, and it was rectified quickly and without question. Kudos to Eric for communicating promptly as well, to deal with our complaint. We were so impressed that we have already reserved for next year!

We travelled with one other couple and they were similarly impressed.

You know a vacation has been good when you come back feeling grounded and refreshed. There is something magical about this place that is hard to put your finger on, but you know it when you feel it. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, MN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just returned from an 8 night stay in the Beach Cabana. We really enjoyed our stay. When we first arrived it seemed a little quiet. After having stayed in the north area the majority of our trips we were concerned. They were quickly eliminated after the first day. We met so many amazing people and attended a wonderful barbecue chicken and rib dinner. We had a couple days of bad weather and passed one complete day listening to some guitar picking by guests! Sang and drank the day away!

This trip it was just my husband and I so the beach cabana worked great. We toured other rooms and got some great ideas for future trips. Everything other people posted in their reviews was right on. We took a bike ride, wi-fi worked great, location and staff was awesome. What we enjoyed the most was the community feeling - met some great people!

Thanks El MIlagro staff for a great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitland, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We came to Isla Mujeres with the hope of having a relaxing, fun time. We also wanted to experience the beauty and culture of Mexico without the commercialism of a resort or the city of Cancun. El Milagro Marina was the perfect place for this. We had two couples on this trip so we had a condo and a studio conjoined by a deck. Our rooms were colorful, well-stocked, and well-maintained. About ten iguanas could be spotted from our balcony during the day. We greatly enjoyed the community of El Milagro. The other guests, boaters, and the staff were very friendly and fun to socialize with. Many of the guests (ourselves included) enjoy spending time on the community kitchen or the lobby area. We also appreciated the thought put into making sure El Milagro will have everything guests could possibly need, including WiFi, bikes, kayaks, games, books, lounge chairs, an array of kitchen utensils, etc. Inga and the other staff were friendly and ready to help and answer questions. There are many great places to eat on Isla, but we would highly recommend one of the incredibly tasty community dinners cooked by the staff.

Overall, El Milagro is a great location, fun vibe, and an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina

Property: El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina
Address: MZA.77 SMZA.2 Lote 04 Ave Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly El Milagro Marina and Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Milagro is a Specialty Resort Compound and Marina you get much more than Just a Room: Helping Enjoy a Mexican Vacation Experience*Private Sandy Beach with Palapa’s and lounge chairs*Private wooden dock for sitting and relaxing over the water.*16 boat slips at the marina full service, water, power, cable TV, Internet*Free use of bicycles and kayaks *Laundry Service on Site, 24 hour turn around on service*Mini Market on site: beer, liquor, ice, snacks etc for the BYOB bars (locals buy here)*Security 24/7 gated and personnel on site*Huge Community kitchen with refrigerators and stove great for group parties plus out outside BBQ*Three BYOB Bars areas for your use with views decks Palapa’s and more*Second outdoor Cooking area with Wood BBQ* Community Room with ping pong, sharing library, social lounge with WI-FI *Air condition Digital Movie Theater and Cable TV for sports*Sunset /Sunrise Deck looking over the Caribbean to Cancun** Full-time staff to help with all of your needs, cooking, questions, directions Guests and staff regularly host Potluck Fiesta’s (you plan they help)*Fishing co-op next door. Buy your own fish or lobster and staff will help you cook it*Palapa with picnic tables WI-FI and bar*Office- fax, phone, copier and computer access*Dipping pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing