We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just spent a week on Isla Mujeres, Mexico for our vacation.
I would highly recommend this little island. Very relaxing, people are super friendly, and the island is beautiful. We stayed at Privlege Aluxes for the 2nd time. It is a small but beautiful hotel, not the typical oversized all inclusive's. Although this is an all inclusive we opted not to use it this time.
Our breakfast was still included. We enjoyed going out to dinner every night to see what the island had to offer. 2 places i recommend, Soggy Peso, best day to go, Sunday, they have a rib special that is fantastic. Owner is super friendly and it is a great atmosphere. Also loved Oscars, the owner came out to meet us, he was from Brooklyn, best pizza and seafood. Great place to see sunsets. The staff is super friendly and the room was nice, but i'm not there for the room.
If your looking for true flavor of Mexico and a more geared down island this is the best place to go. Just beautiful. Can't wait to go back/ Be back soon! Thanks Privlege Aluxes for meeting all of our needs

Room Tip: Any room but 624. would rather stay in back building next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patty753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
First of all thank you for your preference and for choosing us for your second time.
We are pleased that your expectations were met and that you enjoyed this peaceful island and its relaxing atmosphere.

The whole team will be happy to see you soon again at your home in Isla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,717
    784
    238
    80
    54
See reviews for
312
2,009
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I travel frequently and have stayed on Isla before @ a different resort.
We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite. Room 142 (building 1/4th floor/room 2) At first we had an obstructed view but requested a higher room. They accommodated us the next day to a 4th floor with beautiful views.
The Honeymoon Suite had a jacuzzi tub on the extra spacious balcony. It also has a kitchenette and a living room. Great for a small family.
The platinum suite has sweeping views from its 2nd floor veranda. Esp when sitting in your private pool. The 1st floor resembles the honeymoon suite but no jacuzzi. The 2nd floor has its own bathroom and a pool. Great upgrade!!
The food was very good. Satay for dinner was soo good. We got so much food! We were also with another couple so we all shared. If your a picky Eater then buffet style is probably not for you.
Only negatives for me were that although we chose all inclusive, we had to sign a bill. It read 0 but we would have to do it for every meal and drink order. Most all inclusives have a wait staff that walk around and take orders while u swim or sun bathe. They don't have this. Also, the wood around the pool gets exceptionally hot and a few pieces were sticking up.
One more thing. The beach. It's shared with the public do its not like u get out of bed n walk to the private beach. No u have to cross a small street and walk past a ton of lounges and a bar (not always bad) and then there's the water. But it was clear and calm and warm so maybe it's worth it to u.
Still a great time n nice stay. We just love Mexico and Isla. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We appreciate you took the time to rate our hotel based on your experience during your stay.
We are committed to get better day by day and listening to your comments and observations is the best way to achieve it.

We are glad to know that you have a enjoyed the gorgeous views from your suite as well as the restaurants options and we also take notes of your recommendations in order to improve.
We would love to see you again in this beautiful destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I agree that this hotel is very nice, probably won of the nicest on the island. However, we were not given the room we booked and was switched to a "nicer" room. We found this to be the case with a few others staying at the hotel as well. It was a very nice room but the bed was VERY, VERY firm. We did not do all-inclusive but did eat at each of the restaurants once. The breakfast was good at Sabor and we ate once at each of the other restaurants. We were very pleased with both of them. The pool closes at 8 PM and make sure you keep up with your towels and cards.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebHyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We want to thank you for taking part of your time, sharing your personal experience at our hotel.
We measure our success by the feedback you give us when you return. We are sorry that the room was not the expected, When there is availability we always try to give you upgrades or nicer rooms but we apologize if the bed was too firm, on your next visit please let us know and we will add a topper to make it softer.
We are glad that overall you had a great stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 2 years ago and decided to try it once again. We had been on the island already for 5 days (Villa La Bella for the first half) and stayed the last 6 nights at the PA.
We had a smaller room this time with a huge balcony and hot tub. We tried to get an upgrade for an Ocean View but the place was sold out. It still worked out since we spent most of the time out of the room anyways. At the Ocean…hehe…
The beach is wonderful and we loved laying on our floaters in the ocean, cooling off with our cool cups filled with yummy drinks.
But here are the pro and cons we experienced this time around:
Pros:
-Beach staff absolutely wonderful. The guys do a fantastic job bringing drinks and food all day long in the hot and muggy weather. Always friendly and a smile on their faces. We tipped them endlessly for their hard work. Thanks guys ! You all rock !
-Lobby staff friendly and very helpful. We had a broken showerhead and reported it the same night to the lobby staff and sure enough the next day we had a new one. Also reserved a golf cart and it was there within 15 min. Super service !
-Maid service did an excellent job – we had extra towels and the room was cleaned by noon everyday.
-Beach bar food (lunch)was good and they did change the menu around since we have been there last.
-Hotel property was taken care of very well. Those guys work hard out there.

Cons:
-Beach chair cushions are so dirty. They were already very dirty two years ago. So glad to have had a towel under me…
-Gym needs air conditioning and not those three fans. Way to hot in there to work out. Also the water coolers needs a COLD outlet. Not much refreshment if you are hot from your work out and then drinking warm water…Yuck… One treadmill out of only two was broken all 6 days – seems like nobody really cares to fix anything.
-Beach Bar food (dinner) was alright. Nothing to get excited about. We had dinner only twice at the Beach Bar although we had all inclusive. The menu is to boring and the buffet inside the hotel is no better either. Satay was not good two years ago so we did not want to bother to try it again. We chose to eat at the local restaurants the other nights.
-Breakfast Buffet is the same as well. Nothing exciting going on there. Loved the smoked Salmon and the Omelet station, although the cook was not able to make eggs over easy for the love of his life. He was a nice guy though. Fruits at the buffet were not ripe yet either – the Pineapple was so sour !
-TV stations are all Hispanic with a few in English with under titles. What I do not understand is that there is not ONE English News Channel. Considering that 80% of the guests are US or English speaking there should be at least CNN or BBC to watch. Don’t get that at all…
-Never went into the pool because the water is warm and the pool area is just to hot to be at.

Last but not least: My husband treated me to a massage at their Spa since he was scuba diving one day.
So I am not gonna name any names here and I won’t get into detail but make sure you the let them know to be REALLY gentle. I assumed the pressure given was how the massage was to be - but I was not happy the next day, to say the least. And I am still not, even after having the massage a week ago and being at home.
All in all the PA is a nice place it just needs a little work. Guests are getting more and more spoiled these days and PA needs to keep up with appearances. The PA needs some excitement, some color, some change. But we will come back in a few years because it is a pleasant place to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoopiRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
First of all, we thank you for choosing us again for the second time and for the time taken on writing your feedback.
Your valuable recommendations are the best assistance in our daily improvement to get the highest standards in all the hotel areas. We will take into consideration your comments from restaurants to rooms in order to improve the product we are offering.

We are glad that overall you had a nice time with us as we want to do everything in our power to satisfy all guest's

We look forward to welcoming you back to provide you with an unbeatable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Bow, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have been to this Hotel twice and both times the stay was an excellent experience. The staff is great and friendly and go out of their way to make your stay a great one. Thank you so much!!! We will be back again next year

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is so flattering to read about experiences like yours.

About our staff, we are very proud because we know that the guest experience depends on the good personal contact so we really appreciate when you mention them.

Thank you for giving Privilege Aluxes the chance to offer you such a wonderful experience.
We look forward to welcoming you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just returned from Privilege Aluxus in Isla Mujeres Mexico, This was our second visit to this hotel in a year and we are still in love with it exactly like the first time. It is the best All-Inclusive we have ever stayed at...and we have been to Dreams-Tulum, Dreams Huatulco, Secrets Huatulco, Dreams, Puerto Vallarta & Dorado Pacifico in Ixtapa....nothing compares to Privilege Aluxes. It has great food, great service, availability to walk into the enchanting town blocks away, golf carts to tour the island, and a beach to die for. Need I say more.....we will be back next year, our favorite place and our favorite hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor have better views....rooms in bldgs. 1 or 2 are nicer areas either facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Iguana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are grateful for your preference and for sharing your good comments.

Privilege Aluxes seeks to provide experiences and services based on criteria of excellence and the best reward that we can get is a feedback like yours, we are delighted to read that the Privilege is the best All-Inclusive you have ever stayed.

We will always be at your disposal and we hope to see you very soon in this wonderful destination to pamper you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green brook
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Isla Mujeres is a small, laid-back island and Privilege Aluxese is the hotel to match that scene. With just 6 buildings clustered around two pools, you never get the feeling your going to be overwhelmed by other people either at the small swim--up bar, at the beach or in the restaurants. For most of the five days we were there, we felt relaxed, unhurried and free of stress. This is not a five-star hotel, nor are you paying five-star prices, so for the money I feel Privileges is a great value and well worth it.
We stayed in the Platinum Suite and if you can swing it I highly recommend it. Just when the crowd at the pool bar was starting to get on my nerves - calling across the patio "Hey Larry! There's a slippery nipple here with your name on it!" - we simply retreated to our own private pool overlooking the ocean and the view was just spectacular. We ordered up a platter of fresh fruit, some frozen drinks - all included of course - and all was right with the world. It was absolutely heaven.
This was in stark relief to the standard room we booked for our teenage children, knowing full well they would be spending all of their time in our room except to sleep. The standard room was very small and the balcony overlooked the street - very unappealing. It didn't matter because we weren't using that room but if it had been our primary room we would have been most unhappy.
As for the food - there is no denying that it is not top-notch. If you are a foodie you will be disappointed. But this shouldn't scare you away. If you come knowing what to expect you won't be disappointed. At the beach bar, the shrimp tacos, guacamole and burgers are all great. At Sabor, the buffet restaurant, you can always find something good to eat. And Satay is a lovely Thai fusion restaurant. My one complaint is that it does take too long. Two hours from start to finish is a bit much and that happened both times we ate there. I know we are on vacation and it's Mexico time, but still.... two hours.
There are a few other issues that made our stay less than perfect. One thing that really bothered me was the wine. The only wine included with the "all-inclusive" was pretty much undrinkable and I am no wine snob. It was bad. So unless you are prepared to pay extra for wine you have to go without. Second - the beds are not that comfortable. It's not a deal breaker but still. At least in the high-end suites you should have a great bed. Last complaint - there are no activities like snorkel gear or stand-up paddle boards or anything. Might have been fun to have a little something to play with.
Okay - now here's what we loved. The staff. Especially at the beach bar they never stopped running. They. work. hard. Brought us lunch and cold drinks to our lovely Bahia bed right on the beach; thought I'd died and gone to heaven. Upon arrival they brought us lovely Cava to drink which was awesome because we were so hot and tired; it fixed us right up. A few minutes after we got to our room we heard a knock on the door - champagne and fresh fruit compliments of the house. Yes please. The platinum suite is very spacious, we had no issues with smells, or enough hot water or anything like that. Loved our pool, loved our view. Always plenty of palapas on the beach and umbrellas and lounge chairs around the pool.
All in all, I think if you manage your expectations you will have an enjoyable, affordable, all-inclusive, relaxing, vacation on the nicest beach (playa norte) on Isla Mujeres.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Ask for a room not on the street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishgirl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor, we value your coments and sugestions as they help us improve the service we are offering.

We were delighted to see you found your suite and the views to be heaven and enjoyed a relaxing experience.
We would love to see you again in this beautiful destination soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,099 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
341 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Property: Privilege Aluxes
Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing