We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Sandals - Kudos to Management and Staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Better than Sandals - Kudos to Management and Staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

You can have the best location, beautiful clean well maintained hotel, huge gorgeous rooms with comfy beds, picture perfect grounds/gardens/pools, extensive amount of unbelievably comfortable loungers and beds, amazing food and food options, abundance of staff.....(all here at PA!) But, without good management it will still not guarantee a good experience for guests. Not the case here! Kudos to the management and all the staff of PA as you have outdone yourself and have truly perfected the art running a good hotel. Every single employee, including gardeners/security/chefs/servers and maids, did a fantastic job and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable - and always with a smile - our thanks!! Just wish I would have learned more names but no worries, we plan to come back! We travel often and I can honestly say I enjoyed this hotel over sandals. Location is really best of both worlds - hotel peaceful and quiet but entertainment literally right around the corner. I debated about not writing a review as we don't really want everyone to find out about this gem (sorry fellow Isla lovers)but that just didn't seem fair for all the hard work they do. We went with another couple Mar 8-16 and we both stayed in OV deluxe suites - room 341/331 incredible! Thanks to Jesus (whom unfortunately did not meet) for honouring our request and reserving great rooms. We tried every restaurant and room service and never ate anything we did not like and I'm picky! Wonderful "boutique" buffet and Gerardo makes the perfect Spanish coffee (even if it was just the 2nd one you have made in years!) Wifi worked everywhere even on beach. Also bought the Mapchick map - useful, and enjoyed a great golf cart day. The only reason I am having difficulty giving a 5 star review is the alcohol - house wine was ok but could be better (your amazing food requires a better wine!) and unless you pay $6. extra a glass you are not served "top shelf" liquor - house liquor is very harsh and all taste the same - not a huge prob but my suggestion would be get rid of the cheap stuff and serve everyone top shelf (charge a couple bucks extra to each room?) Beer selections were good though and all served in cans or bottles - that's class. Aside from that I cannot say enough and can't wait to return! Thanks to previous trip advisor reviews/forum your advice as always helped book another great vacation (tripadvisor best vacation planning tool avail!) Email me if you have any questions. :))

Room Tip: Ocean view deluxe 3rd floor or higher - huge and well worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annacoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor, we value your feedback to help us improve the quality of the product we are offering.
We were delighted to see you found the hotel clean, amazing food options, comfortable loungers and beds and the staff friendly and helpful.

We would agree we are in a fantastic location to enjoy the best beach and local life on Isla so we look forward to welcoming you back to your slice of paradise soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,657
    766
    232
    77
    52
See reviews for
300
1,952
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our first time here will not be our last. PA is extremely clean, comfortable and relaxed. It is also in the perfect location on Playa Norte which was voted a top 10 beach worldwide in 2013 on Tripadvisor. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite room 342 for the first half of our stay and upgraded to a Platinum suite 251 for the rest. Both rooms are large with incredible views of the ocean and Cancun in the distance which made for amazing sunsets. The Platinum has the private rooftop with pool and large deck while the Honeymoon suite has the jacuzzi tub on the balcony. Both are incredible.

The service is what sets PA apart. Great service from the front desk, pool and beach service, restaurants (all of them), and room service. The employees are always smiling which sets the tone for a happy and fun environment. Although this is a large resort it still had a small resort feel as there was plenty of room at the pool and beach even during spring break week and you will learn the names of the staff.

We had a few great nights at Cafe Del Mar (which is right on the beach) listening to the live music at night and enjoying food and drink before taking the short walk to Hidalgo street to explore. We went for the all-inclusive and were not disappointed. The food and drink was great at all the restaurants and same with room service and at the pool.

Very impressed and will be back.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is a must. You can relax on your balcony and enjoy the sunsets. I would suggest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_h13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to read.
It is great to learn that you found the hotel to be clean- our housekeeping team are very passionate about keeping the hotel "tip-top" so it's great to see their efforts recognized.
We are proud to have such a fantastic team of staff at the hotel offering great service to our valued guests so thank you for taking the time to mention them.

We are delighted to read that you were very impressed and will be back, we look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattituck, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I who have been to Isla many times, and our good friends,who joined us for their 1st trip to Isla spent the second week of March at PA and I can't get over what a great experience we were treated to.
This was the 2nd time my wife and I stayed at PA,we were there in Oct of 2012 and had a great stay,but were surprised by the improvements since then.
1st of all our travel agency never forwarded our request to have balconies in both rooms,once the front desk saw our paperwork had the balcony request they worked tirelessly to help us.Ophelia informed us the hotel was completely full with guests,and a wedding but by day 2 Ophelia brought us to talk with Mr.Escalante,the hotel manager,who informed us how they appreciate repeat customers and upgraded our group to the Presidential sweet,large enough for us all to stay with 2 bedrooms, a huge balcony and private pool! We really felt Presidential from this great treatment but we know we would feel this way no matter the room from the welcome we got from so many of the staff that remembered us from our previous stay and the times we ate at Cafe Del Mar when we visited the restaurant on a trip with our kids that we stayed at a condo.
Jesus,Enrique,Luis,Sergio,Raul and more greeted us with such friendliness,we really felt at home.
The service,the food,the cleanliness,100% of the staff really work hard and with a smile to make your stay unforgettable and seamless.
The all inclusive package is such a great deal I honestly think you can not match the deal on Isla,even at a lesser hotel.We find that if you eat one meal out a day,which is unnecessary, but nice to do on Isla with all the great restaurants,you end up saving $ in the long run while staying in the nicest hotel.
The beach is beautiful and inviting and the location outstanding.
We can not thank the staff enough for our excellent stay,your heartfelt kindness,and the professional atmosphere on the entire property and we are looking forward to our next trip in December

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at Privilege Aluxes was an incredible experience because our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations.

Your positive comments regarding the improvements from your last visit help us to keep working in our continuous effort to get better day by day.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My five girlfriends and I all celebrated a special birthday last year and decided to highlight it in style by vacationing on Isla Mujeres. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a glass of champagne to the day we left (sadly), we could not have asked for a better vacation. The staff at the front desk, particularly Ofelia and Jaime, went out of their way to look after us. The rooms that we had (honeymoon suites) were immaculately clean, and the bar fridges were kept well stocked, and if you wanted more, you just needed to request it. We enjoyed Sabor for breakfast and almost all of our dinners, while we ate at Cafe del Mar for lunches and enjoyed one dinner there also. The food was fresh and well prepared, and service was excellent, but the staff - particularly Gerardo, Omar, Ricardo, and Ponce at Sabor and Gerardo and Sergio at Cafe del Mar - served us with such care, courtesy, and attentiveness. The variety of menus at Sabor kept us coming back, but the flaming coffees and Mexican Flags were special treats! On the one day just around lunchtime that we had a downpour of rain, some of us chose to have room service deliver lunch. Here again, the service was courteous and fast, and food was excellent.

Every one of my friends and I went home happy with our vacation. Every one of them is recommending the Privilege Aluxes to their families and friends. (I think we should keep it a secret!)

The Privilege Aluxes is a facility that is exceedingly well run and maintained as well as having staff who are courteous, friendly, and attentive to their guests. Rooms, restaurants, bars, and spa all are first class. Our vacation was truly a delightful experience, and we WILL be back!

Room Tip: Preferred rooms are on the pool/ocean side of the hotel, and if you want a view request one at the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PianoSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and your time.

We will share your comments with our team, who certainly will be encouraged by your remarks.
It is an enormous pleasure to know the satisfaction of our customers because this is our aim, give you a delightful experience, being satisfied and making you feel at home.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent 10 days at PA on the island and coudn't have asked for a better place to stay. Our room was located in building six and had both an ocean view and pool view. The staff from beginning to end was more than accomodating. We dined on the beach and frequently visited the pool bar. We were concerned the first day we were there that we would have to do the "put your stuff on the beach or pool chairs by 6am or risk not getting one" routine but we NEVER had to do that. Chairs, space, and service at the beach or pool was never a problem. Several times we didn't make it to the pool until around noon and we always had our choice of where we wanted to relax and enjoy the sun. We can't say enough about how much fun we had with the staff at the beach and pool. Enrique, Miguel, and Jesus were always smiling and present with whatever we asked for (usually BEFORE we asked for it) :). Be sure to go to the pool bar and have Miguel concoct a "Miguel Special"! The beach and pool were always clean and great for swimming. Raul will make sure things are to your liking on the beach. Rosanna was so nice and helpful at the spa, Maria gives AMAZING massages! Thanks to everyone at PA for making our 10 day trip romantic, relaxing, and one we will never forget. We will certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience.

The efforts of our team worthwhile when it results in your satisfaction. We really apreciate your compliments to the staff as this is the best motivation.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere at Privilege Aluxes and its facilities.
We would be happy to welcome you again to provide you with more unforgettable and romantic moments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our third stay at Privilege Aluxes. We enjoy the beautiful beach(quite close to rooms). The beach loungers are padded with palapas for shade. The pool area is also nice but we only used it when it was too windy on the beach. There is a pool/swim-up bar. There is a jacuzzi tub (cool water). The hotel is across from a school so weekday mornings you hear the kids on the playground if your room is on that side. Did not bother us as we were getting up to enjoy the day. The town is right there so easy to walk through the town's streets for shopping and restaurants if you are not eating exclusively at the resort. The rooms are nice - modern and clean. We didn't eat out as we enjoy the food in the resort's restaurants. We mostly ate at Casa del Mar which is the beach restaurant. It has a nice menu that alternates weekly. We ate at the Satay, which is the Thai restaurant and requires reservations, but not limit on number of times. Lunch is available in the main dining room and at Casa del Mar. We always ate at Casa del Mar for lunch as we could just come up from the beach as we were. A couple in our group at the main dining room for lunch and enjoyed it as a break from beach and sand. Unlike some all-inclusives, there is waiter service on the beach for drinks. The service at the hotel is very good. Everyone from the front desk, bellmen, maids, spa, waiters, cooks, bartenders, maintenance men, and security are helpful, friendly and kind in way that is fun. We had the most contact with the waiters and bartenders. Raul, Antonio, Sergio, Reynaldo, Bladimir, Jesus, Enrique and many others provided us with great personal service. The managers Augustin and Sebastian were very helpful and considerate of our needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mew57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing Privilege Aluxes for the third time.
We know that loyal customers are largely responsible for our success and we are very grateful to you.
Allow us furthermore to thank you in particular for your kind comments regarding the staff. We take pride for them to be our most important asset and it gives us great pleasure when our guests recognize their efforts.
We appreciate your trust and we will do our best to continue giving you the kind of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was our second time back to PA in two years with a small group of friends and can't wait to return again! Location, rooms and food are all superb.

Even though we visited during a busy spring break week, we never felt as though it was crowded and always received prompt service and attention from the staff. We were able to rent golf carts directly from the front desk for a reasonable price which was a nice bonus.

Thank you for providing the perfect location for a fun and memorable spring break trip! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blush228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing Privilege Aluxes for the second time and posting a great review.

Get good opinions about our services, facilities, location and care provided during your stay is the best prize we can receive.
It is a pleasure to receive your congratulations, we will always try our best to fulfill your needs

We look forward to offering you another fun and memorable vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Property: Privilege Aluxes
Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing