We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the best beach in Mexico”
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was not my first time staying on Isla, but my first time at Privilege Aluxes. We received a deal on Expedia that we couldn't pass by. So glad we didn't! My husband and I stayed there in August 2013.

Check in was very smooth, our room wasn't ready yet (we arrived around noon - check-in is around 3:00pm). No problem, they stored our luggage for us while we went to explore our options for lunch. We didn't opt for the all inclusive plan, this was my husband's first time on Isla and I wanted to introduce him to all the fabulous food this small island has to offer. They gave us our bracelets and off we went.

When we returned, our room was ready. A bellman showed us to our room which was very nice, but then he showed us our balcony and it took my breath away! We reserved the room with the jacuzzi on the balcony - the balcony was HUGE! I woke every morning just before dawn to watch the sun rise out of the ocean to my left. Around dusk, I could see the amazing colors of the sunset to my right. Unbelievable! The refrigerator was stocked with beer, soda and snacks (loved the mini Coronas!). The prices for these items was very reasonable. Also, the room was spotlessly cleaned every day - the towel animals were a nice touch considering we didn't opt for the all inclusive plan :)

The breakfast buffet was very good (included in price of room). We did not go hungry. Not huge, but plenty of choices to have a wonderful breakfast. I had scrambled eggs made every morning at the omelette station with peppers and onions in them. Yum!

The beach was beautiful with plenty of lounges and palapas. Never had to play the towel game, no matter what time we came out. Service at the beach was out-standing. The drinks were good, not overly strong, but not weak. Our servers checked on us frequently to make sure we were happy, and we were. We had lunch while on the lounges from Cafe del Mar and it was wonderful.

We did not use the pool as we are beach people, but it looked like everyone was having a good time at the pool bar. There were plenty of bali beds around the pool area and an occasional hammock to relax in.

Would I return to Priviliges Aluxes? Oh yes!!!!! I'm already booked for a long weekend in October! Trying the all inclusive plan this time :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaisinHeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for posting a great review for us, we really value your feedback.
We are delighted to see you mention our great customer service, we will forward your compliments to our staff as giving the best attention to our guests is our main goal.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you at Privilege and we look forward to seeing you in October!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,574 - 1,580 of 3,036 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Acctualy the best hotel i have been in mexico.
The location is amaizing the pool is great next to the beach the price are very good the stuf is very nice and what a brakefast!!!
Highly recomendad for honeymoon as well the room with the hot tab is nice worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful and kind words.
It is a pleasure for us to know that Privilege Aluxes is the best hotel you have been in Mexico.

The whole team sends their warm regards to you and we hope that we will have the pleasure to host you soon again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Amazing room, Amazing Service! Loved the Pool Bar with Ponce and Sergio. A must do for everyone!

The room was beautiful, definitely choose a jacuzzi room, it was well worth it! The cleaning service was great no matter how much sand we tracked through, it was always gone the next day. The towel buddies were so very cute we almost hated to use them.
Breakfast food and bar food was the best! Loved the breakfast buffet with special emphasis on the omelets. Other food was okay. But with all inclusive, we could not complain.

Must do's- Rent a golf cart and tour the island: walk to the end of the street that runs through the resort and watch the sunset. Drink a Mexican Flag made by Ponce at the pool bar. Order Chicken nachos to eat with your drinks.. & Whaleshark tour!!!

We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room, ocean view above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank your for choosing Privilege Aluxes Hotel for your recent stay in Isla Mujeres.

We really appreciate that you took the time to post your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you has an amazing experience including food, room and service!

Thank you again! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our second stay at Privilege Aluxes last week. Check in was quick and the front desk staff was very helpful. We had a room with a whirlpool tub on the balcony. This time, we opted for the all-inclusive. All the food at the buffets and at Café del mar was very good! The service at the restaurants and the bars was excellent!( the best mojitos by my amigo Rodrigo at the beach bar). The location is perfect to explore the town. The beach is clean and beautiful. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are returning at the end of October for our anniversary! Thanks to the entire staff for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

We are pleased to greet you and at the same time we would like to convey our gratitude for your preference in our hotel and your contribution with your comments.


Thanks to reviews like yours we reiterate our ongoing commitment to improve. We will forward your compliments to the team that made this experience possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Good services. Nice rooms (comfort) big beds, good and rich breakfast . Ask for balcony with sea view! Really upgrade your view. U can rent carts and sigh up for attractions in urge island throw the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your valuable time, we want you to know that your satisfaction is our greatest commitment and we will always be at your service.

We hope to see you soon, where we hope will be your home in Isla Mujeres from today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband just got home this last weekend. We were there for our honeymoon. All inclusive. We booked through expedia and did a standard room with balcony--however we did not have a balcony, i'll get to that story. We booked our shuttle service through the hotel (AGI) they were absolutely amazing. Very friendly and professional guys! Arriving at the hotel we were given welcome drinks which was very nice, and i believe Angel helped us. We were quickly taken to our room and showed around the grounds a little. We stayed in room 631 i believe. The room was pretty small but really did have everything we needed, the only issue is the sink was very slow draining and filled up quickly. The next few days were very rainy so it limited us a little. I was sad they didnt have a way to do music outside even if it rained, considering the rainy season is a good couple months. We had live music outside one night and it was great, but bring bug spray we got eaten alive by something! The food at the buffet is consistant for breakfast. Its pretty average, food is sometimes cold,and sometimes it takes quite awhile to have them come around a give you coffee/mimosa. Dinner changes every night and some nights are a lot better than others, the service at night is wayyy better! The captain-i dont rememeber his name was a very nice man who helped explain the wine selection to us. The food at Cafe Del Mar is freakin great. And service at the bar was awesome!! Try the shrimp ceviche! Dinner and Lunch was great. We only had dinner at satay once and it was fantastic, you need to make reservations, and i recommend doing it early in your trip.
The pool bar- this what what i was most excited about and it definitely let me down. Both my husband and i work in the restaurant industry and i am a bartender, so we tip. I found the service in the bar to be soooo slow and it wasnt that busy. We would front our tip money to start too and that didnt seem to help, didnt seem like they cared to make more money at all. I would start to order 2 drinks at once, which was super annoying. The snack bar was hardly open due to rain, not really there fault.
I ended up randomly checking our paperwork mid-trip and noticed we were "supposed" to have a balcony. However, i guess standard rooms say they have a balcony on expedia but some do not?? weird. Probably should fix that so guests know what they are getting. I felt like i was getting ripped off for the price we paid, especially after getting to know people and finding out how much less than paid for gigantic rooms. I went downstairs a little heated and Jesus was very kind. He asked us to give him about an hour, he came and found us at the pool and told us he would be upgrading up to a jacuzzi balcony room for the last two nights! It was fantastic! It was room 314.
The best thing about this hotel/area is the people who come here. If you are friendly and open to others you will meet tons of fun people. It was awesome. Every one had a great time. The town is just right across the street and it has great shopping and restaurants. I would recommend all-inclusive for the drinks and ease of not having to have money on you(other than tip), but its not necessary.
The front desk staff-except jesus- throughout the trip was a little cold and distant. Not too bad but not welcoming, or that helpful. Especially when it came to money (which they never seem to have enough of)
I wish they would let you turn the balcony lights off yourself--for the jacuzzi tub--They automatically went off at 11pm.
My recommendation is to bring $150.00 in ones for tipping. And dont bring anything larger than a $20. Bring lots of $5's and $10's.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a pool or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We want to thank you for taking part of your time, sharing your personal experience at our hotel as we are always working to improve our services and facilities and the best way is listening to you.

We are happy to know that overall you had a great time and you enjoyed our unbeatable location a few steps from the best beach and the heart of Isla Mujeres.

We would love to welcome you again and offer the best service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our stay, however it started off far from perfect. After flying, taking the shuttle to the ferry and then taxi to the hotel, we stood for twenty minutes as the front desk agent assisted a guest. Never during the twenty minutes did they look at us and thank us for our patience. As a person who works in Hospitality, you ABSOLUTELY acknowledge someone waiting, even if it is simply to ask them to wait and thank them for their patience. We just STOOD there and STOOD there which was a let down from the excitement of our arrival. HOWEVER...once we checked in and got acquainted with the grounds. We enjoyed the beach - beautiful and we enjoyed our room with jacuzzi. The staff at the beach cafe are amazing, attentive and fun! The pool is beautiful as well! I would recommend getting the jacuzzi and taking advantage of the ALL INCLUSIVE- its worth it! In the end, we enjoyed the trip and would stay again. I would say the lobby needs an update and a little more effort from the front desk staff to offer a more pleasant and higher end demeanor. The grounds are beautiful - but definitely a lobby upgrade is needed.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room which faces the front beach or pool - highly recommend the Superior Room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your valuable time.
We want to let you know that your comments do not go unnoticed as the main aim is to provide positive and unforgettable experiences.

We are glad to to know that you enjoyed the trip and specially to read that you would stay again with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $200 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing