We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do I HAVE to leave???”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Do I HAVE to leave???”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I love this place! What more is there to say? From the staff to the service, the food, the rooms, the grounds, the pool and beach area, the housekeeping and even the other guests I have absolutely no complaints. Isla mujeres is a paradise and the aluxes was the perfect place to relax and getaway in an intimate setting. As someone who is always looking for the next adventure and hates to visit the same place twice I can definitely say that I will be back to Isla Mujeres and Privilege Aluxes will be where I will stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travelher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivFD, Reception at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Get good opinions about our services, facilities and care provided during your stay is the best prize we can get.

It is a pleasure to receive your congratulations and it will be a pleasure aswell to see you again where we hope is from now your home in Isla Muleres.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,677
    775
    233
    78
    52
See reviews for
306
1,969
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (896)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We were here for our honeymoon and we were very happy with the stay! The place was very clean and very modern! The pool was huge and the colored lights at night made it very romantic! The beach was close and the beds on the beach were a nice addition. If you're ever on the island, this is definitely the place to stay!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Martyxa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivFD, Reception at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are so glad to know that you had a romantic and memorable honeymoon with us.

We try our best to fulfill your needs and we will do it again the next time you come back to Privilege Aluxes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed in a premium suit for 4 nights this December. The hotel seems to be one of nicest on the island. Nice suit, the property is well maintained and pretty, great location across from the beach and also right next door to all the stores and restaurant. So it a good spot if you like to stay in the middle of things also located on the most popular beach on the island. All inclusive deal seems a waist since the island has many restaurants to offer, so if you like to venture out and try new places every night, that is the way to go. i must say though that the Thai/Sushi restaurant in the Hotel is VERY GOOD and a must if you like Asian. Friendly staff, and the spa is handled by professionals, great massages. My only remark and i hope they read this for improvement is that they do not give you beach service till 10AM! if you are there before as an early riser like me and my wife. you will get NO service on the beach not even a bottle of water. Second they do not have any fresh fruits juices or smoothies to make, on the beach or inside the hotel. They only serve consecrated juices! even at breakfast. One would think that being on an Island in the Caribbean sea, one of the treats would be to enjoy fresh fruits and juices not so much when you come here, disappointing!!! otherwise it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: upgrade to the one with Jacuzzi for not much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorianMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Isla Mujeres is nice littele island. This hotel is very well located walking distance from the center. Good food and nice restaurants .Thai restaurant had really good sushi. We had platinium suite and thats located highest floor and have own swimming pool on the roof. We will come back next year:)

Room Tip: Take the platinium suite, you have your own swimming pool and penthouse location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kati1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the resort 12/16/12-12/23/12. Our check in did not go smoothly as expected. Upon our arrival we were told by the resort staff at the front desk that we had breakfast-only plan, versus an all-inclusive plan that we thought we had paid for at the time of our booking through American Express. Furthermore, we were asked to pay an additional $40/day. As a result, our check in at the front desk took 3 hours on the phone with American Express, after a 16-hr. travel time. We were exhausted and frustrated. We arrived around 4pm and were finally given the room keys around 7pm.

After all that, the resort supervisor (young female) told us that our room was located in a quiet side and therefore we could rest and enjoy the rest of our vacation. I was exhausted to enjoy the jacussi on the balcony that night. The next morning, I went outside on the balcony to check the view and discovered a perfect seen from the movie "Six Sense." Our room was looking directly at the cemetary. Nice way to relax and enjoy the view.

When we asked at the front desk to change the room so that we could have a nicer view, they told us that none of the rooms were available for the next few days or we had to pay additional $50/night for Ocean view. In two days, we were able to change the room to have street view. The view was not nice because it was overlooking a construction site and it was loud, but much better than looking at the grave sites and crosses.
Otherwise, the grounds inside the resort where the pool and restaurants are located are beautiful, except the construction site between Cafe del Mar at the beach and the restaurant where they had the buffet breakfast and dinner daily. Food at the buffet restaurant was average. Cafe del Mar had the best food compared to the other two restaurants at the property.

We would go back again because overall it was a good vacation experience, but we know now that we would pay additional money for all inclusive plan and to avoid the rooms that face the cemetary.

Room Tip: Stay away from buildings 2 & 3 that face the cemetary and be ware that street view rooms can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I got married at Privilege Aluxes in early December. We had nearly 50 guests staying at the hotel. While not everything was absolutely perfect for everyone...it was close.

I read the reviews for the 9 months before our wedding weekly. My conclusion is that the negative comments have come from people with unrealistic expectations. Do your research on the amenities of the hotel, and the Island itself.

The staff on site were fantastic, from the front desk to food and beverage. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable hotel, perfect beach, and a little bit of excitement. We were drawn to the hotel because it was not a compound. You can easily mingle with locals, walk the downtown, and enjoy a great meal within a few blocks of the property.

The food on site was fine, and much better than I expected. I was not blown away, but I do not have a single complaint about food - there was definitely enough, and plenty of options.

I can't say enough about the location and beach. It was a highlight.

The wedding went very well. Elba was extremely helpful and prompt with replies or requests. My only complaint for the wedding would be Elba's constant charging for "extras" and the poor condition of the flowers from her vendor. The actual wedding was fantastic, and she was very accommodating to our wishes - including having a private rooftop wedding for 49 guests opposed to the publicly accessible beach area.

All in all, we would absolutely go back. Isla Mujeres is paradise.

Tips:
Do your research on the Hotel and Isla Mujeres. It is not your typical All Inclusive Resort. If you like spreading your wings and mingling and conversing with locals, you'll be fine. If you want to enjoy a beautiful beach but never have to speak a word of Spanish or see a local - this is no place for you.

Rent a golf cart early in your stay. The island is a beautiful, safe, friendly area. We spent 50% of our time walking or golf carting around the island. We never had any concern for our safety anywhere on the island, and every place we went we always felt welcome.

Room Tip: Go with a Suite Deluxe or higher room category. Platinum Suite room 542 has a HUGE rooftop deck and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CamNJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is nice, we had a standard room which was well decorated although the quality of the finish wasnt great (but hey, im not buying the room!). The hotel is located right on the beach, and also by the main strip so it couldnt be easier. The pool was nice and the stay included breakfast, which was good. The staff were always helpful. The hotel didnt seem to have that x-factor that you sometimes look for, but i couldnt really fault it in any major way. We did get a free upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi..this however overlooks the cemetary, so we downgraded ourselves back to a basic room...so if they offer you the free upgrade on checkin then its just to the room nobody wants! Best restaurants to visit - Olivias and Mango Cafe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whagwarning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Property: Privilege Aluxes
Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing