We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem on a perfect Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem on a perfect Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just returned from Privilege Aluxes, and I am already planning the next trip. We have been to the Cancun area at least a dozen times over the past 5 years, and I can honestly say that I will never stay in Cancun again after finding this resort. It's a smaller resort than what you would find in cancun, so if lots of action is what you're looking for then stay somewhere else. But, if you are looking for a beautiful quiet laid back resort, look no further. The room was enormous, we booked the suite premium, which is basically two regular sized rooms together, one is the kitchen/living room, and the other is the bathroom/bedroom. We had a gorgeous view of Cancun.
The restaraunts were good. Breakfasts were wonderful, and Cafe del Moar had fabulous lunches and great dinners too. We aren't big fans of Asain cuisine, so we didn't try Satay. The pool bar was great thanks to Miguel who made our time there a blast, and in the buffet Ponce catered to our every needs. There's lots to do on the island as well, so i recommend gettign a golf cart for a few days. Don't go through the hotel as there are deals everywhere. I got one for 3 days and it was $35/day. Jax across the street is a fun bar, and the Soggy Peso is not to be missed. Oscar's has awesome pizza which I highly recommed. Overall I would rate this propoerty 4.5 - 5 stars. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank capozzi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivFD, Reception at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your words about our hotel.It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time with us.

We hope to see you soon and we will try our utmost to make of your holidays another unforgettable moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,677
    775
    233
    78
    52
See reviews for
306
1,969
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (896)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is amazing!! I stayed there from Nov 15th to the 19th with my husband for our anniversary! We chose the All Inclusive option and it was totally worth it! In my opinion, the All Inclusive option of the hotel has a totally reasonable price.
The room is big, with living room, mini kitchen... lots of space! And our room had a private jaccuzzi, so it was just fantastic to enjoy the sunset, the beautiful view of Playa Norte, while relaxing in our jaccuzzi! Awesome!
All the staff was very pleasant and willing to help!
The island itself is very charming and calm, great for couples. As everybody else, we rented a golf cart to explore the island and this is really a great idea!

The only negative point: transportation service the hotel offers from the airport to the hotel. Don´t use it!! It is kind of expensive, but we decided to pay for it since we didn´t want to worry about taking a taxi, then taking the ferry to the Isla all by ourselves. We thought it would be much easier to have someone waiting for us at the airport, ready to drive us to the ferry. Yeah, if the service worked, it would have been great! But we got to the airport and simply there was nobody waiting for us!!! Lots of people holding signs with names on it, but none of them for us! We were lucky that one guy saw us with the worried faces and helped us. We told him that we were waiting for someone from Agi Tour company and this guy called the company for us. So after waiting a while, someone picked us up at the airport. They simply forgot about us! Then, when we arrived to the Isla, the second guy from the company asked us about what we were planning to do and we told him we would go to the Dolphin Center the next day. He scheduled a taxi to pick us up at the hotel and guess what? No one showed up!! It wasn´t a big problem since the island is full of taxis and we easily got another one. In the day we left, they arrived late at the hotel too! So, my point is.... don´t use the transportation service the hotel offers at their website since they are not reliable at all. It´s easier and cheaper just to take a taxi from the airport to the ferry.

Anyways, besides this little problem, our stay in Isla Mujeres and Privilege Aluxes was fantastic! We had an amazing time there and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria Fernanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed from September 24 - October 1, 2012. We used Best Day shuttle from airport to Puerto Juarez ferry. Roundtrip $34 for 2. Great rate. Was suppose to be shared shuttle however, we were the only 2 going and returning. We have been to Cancun area 7 times and this was our first trip to stay on Isla. We loved the island, people and hotel/resort. It is very laid back compared to Cancun. If you are looking for slower pace, this is the place for you.

We chose All inclusive since we like to eat and drink when and what we want. It was worth it for us and if you like to drink while on vacation. Everyone's needs are different. Some thought it wasn't worth it. Again, depends on your needs. For us it was great.

We arrived during the rain so we took the cab. $4.00 plus tip. We were greeted with Rose Champaigne at checkin. Bellman took our bags to our room and explained everything. Room, key, safe, restaurants. You get 2 bath robes and a pillow menu. We were in room 443 which was a Deluxe Suite. Very spacious and comfortable. Living room and seperate bedroom both had sliders to the balcony which overlooked the pool and ocean view.

Try the mayan coffee in Sabor. Ask for Marcos he is great. It was the best show I've seen.

We loved Sergio, Raul and David at the beach bar. Everyone was very pleasant and I can't remember all the names.

Food is individual taste and some people just can't be pleased. The food was good and some dishes were great. The buffet one night had whole fish which my husband loved. Cafe Del Mar was also great for lunch and dinner. We loved the ceviche, baked fish and was the best cheeseburger we have ever had in Cancun. Satay was also very good. Some give this bad review. However our dishes were flavorful and spicey.

The drinks were a little sweeter than I prefered. However, we liked the wine. Possibly a different margarita mix would help. Others have complained about this drink. Wasn't my preference in taste.

We rented a golf cart and toured the island Mango Cafe was great for breakfast. You should go once. We went to Punta Sur and walk the ledge wall. We had been there before but not to the end. Stopped at turtle farm. there was a turtle release in the evening right before sunset about 3 blocks from the hotel. This was great we got to hold the turtles and release them with the local people. You must stop at Villa La Bella for a made from scratch pina colada. The best and not too sweet. perfect. We stopped at the fish market by the navel base. Can't remember the name. Had whole fish and shrimp cocktail, beer and coke for $10. Stopped at the Avalon Reef to see the crystal clear water. A great place to snorkel and you must see the Kings Bath on the other side of the hotel.

Our maid Carmen was great. She made us towel art and left everything we needed on a daily bases. When we checked out I had left my cell phone charger and she found it and called the front desk. Guillermo (spelling) even came and checked with me to make sure I had returned to the room and gotten my charger. Very nice of both of them to do that.

Some guest received an activity notice under the door. We did not. It would have been nice since I really wanted to see the turtle release. Luckily we found out at the turtle farm about it.

There was a band playing every night at the beach bar from 8-10PM. Javier Martinez was great. He really engaged the crowd to make sure they were enjoying the music.

It was our anniversary and I had emailed the hotel prior. However, we did not receive anything special. I didn't remind them since my husband hates a fuss made. Would have been nice to have gotten champagne but not deal breaker.

We loved everything about the hotel, staff and island. We do however love staying in Cancun also. Will be hard to decide next year.

Room Tip: we liked the deluxe suite since it had a seperate sitting area. you really are not in the room much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dprater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivFD, Reception at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoy your spacious suite and that the staff and food lived up to your expectations.

We take note of your comments because it is also important that we keep growing and do our best to meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have stayed at the Privilege Aluxes 14 times since the hotel opened about 4 years ago. The staff is always very helpful and geniunely seem happy to see us on each of our visits. The sunsets are the most beautiful there. It is a perfect hotel to enjoy the beach. We were there 11/6 - 11/14 2012, the weather was perfect and the water is perfect for swimming.

Room Tip: we always pay the extra for deluxe suite ocean view. We love the higher floors, the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivFD, Reception at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It is so flattering to read about experiences like yours.
We want to let you know that your comments do not go unnoticed. You’re a necessary piece to this puzzle.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to your home in Isla Mujeres.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful resort right on north beach in isla. Great rooms, great pool, nice buffet breakfast. The massage from the spa was one of the best I've ever had. The gym was a bit small but hey, go for a run on the beach. Watch the sunsets at night from the hotels private beach and restaurant. Got to be one of the best hotels in the heart of all the action. One thing we hate because we're not American, is the tipping. Even with the free breakfast (free because you paid for the resort) big stamps saying "tip not included"
God bless you America, but why have you brought this horrible "tip with every purchase" to mexico, when the rest of the world hates it? Some staff made us feel like cheap skates every time we'd buy a drink and didn't add 20% extra to the bill. We'd already paid a lot for the resort, we don't have to pay the staff wages as well.
Rant over. Beautiful hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelFullerton101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivFD, Reception at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We are so grateful for your words, our customers opinion is such a great assistance for us in our continuing effort of improvement.

We will share your comments with our spa team, who certainly will be encouraged by your remarks.

We are looking forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Privilege Aluxes on Isla Mujeres November 4-11, 2012.

The weather was amazing, about 28C every day. Rained overnight once, and then in the morning briefly one day. And with the ever-present Caribbean-side wind, of course. It was only bothersome really when we were doing things on the water though.

It was quite quiet when we were there, although they said the hotel was full, I think it was not full the entire week. There were three weddings going on that week and they looked like they were fun and well-organized.

I rated this hotel overall a solid four out of five. The beach and location were five out of five, however.

With improvements in food and service and some minor refreshes in some of the common areas and rooms, it would rate higher, IMO.

Service in general was very good- especially in the restaurants, and the front desk staff was VERY friendly and helpful.

Beach staff/servers were generally good, but there were a couple of servers who were not quite as friendly or as quick as others. Pool service was confusing as it was patchy- is there pool service or are we expected to go to the pool bar....sometimes they'd come and other times not. It just needs to be more clear, I think.

We ate at Satay twice and were very impressed with the food quality and excellent service. We loved the sushi in particular! And the ginger and hibiscus ice cream. The one complaint we had was that the entrees were not hot when brought out, either time.

The breakfast buffet was good, not a huge spread but fairly decent selection. The omelette station was very good. We only had the buffet dinner once and it was not as good as the breakfasts (but we have found that at most AIs). We ordered off the menu once for lunch in Sabor and it was excellent. The Cafe del Mar was very good for lunches on the beach and snacks, and drinks in the evening. There was live music until ten most evenings, great evening ambiance, quite laid back which is what we liked.


I am not sure we saw any children the whole week. It feels like an adults only hotel, even though they allow kids. There is not much for them to do there, and the atmosphere is quite chill, not really the best or most fun place for kids. There is a swim up bar, which was pretty quiet, most days.

The beach was gorgeous, not quite as nice as Playa Norte but very nice. There is a bit of a current, so not ideal for floatie floating like Playa Norte is. It was quite steep and in about ten feet you are up to your neck, so not really great for kids or non-swimmers...but beaches are constantly changing so perhaps that was a time of year thing.

There is also a TON of barracuda hanging out at the end of both of the two broken-down piers....we saw them when snorkeling...very cool! There were more of them in the morning. We also went fishing one day and the guys caught five barracuda off that beach. They also fished from the piers a few mornings, but no luck with that.

Rooms are very nice. Modern up to date. Kept spotlessly clean. We had booked the package on Expedia and got a 'standard room' but must have upgraded us - we had jacuzzi tubs on the balcony, which was a nice perk. The downside was they took fooooorrrrreeeever to fill. Our room was 124 and overlooked the cemetery and had a teeny ocean glimpse too. VERY nice and quiet at night.

Shower is a nice large tiled shower but watch where the spray goes- I had a minor flood one night. There is a good sized wardrobe and you get two robes as well. Iron and umbrella and hair dryer.

The free WiFi worked well in the room. No password necessary which was also nice.

Rooms have minibars which are stocked daily with pop, juice and beer, and some chips. Cans of Corona light and Coronitas.


We chose to get the AI option as it was only $20 per person per day to get it, and we were very glad we did- we more than made it up just for the breakfasts and drinks at the beach club and evening at the Cafe del Mar alone, let alone the other meals and two dinners at Satay. Very good value to get the AI, so long as it is not too costly.

We will definitely return to the PA on future trips to Isla!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rissask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivFD, Reception at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
First of all, we want to thank you for your time taken on making these valuable comments wich are the best assistance in our daily improvement to get the highest standards in all the hotel areas.

We are happy to know that you have ejoyed all our restaurants, the room and the gorgeous beach where we are located.

We will love to see you again at Privilege Aluxes Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Neat mix of all inclusive and street front staying. The Highlights- Nice beach section, Down town, come and go, close to the main shopping. The OK- Room service was hit and miss, Food, staff (they worked hard, just not that great, though there were a few that were unfriendly) The Bad - Rooms, All of them were loud, all of them had a mould smell, The pools ( Pool bar last call was at 5pm) and hot tubs, the pool was freezing and the hot-tubs cold and GROSS, The resort SHUTS down at 11, however you are walking distance to the bars etc for the night so not that bad. If we where not there for a wedding we would not have stayed more than a night. oh and the Drinks they made were terrible, never right or consistent, if you could get one, and you had to sign for everything all the time even though it was a $0 bill??? stupid. PS getting the "Black" Premium wrist band not worth it.

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep ask for the cemetery view (its actually beautiful and quite) Street view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyclipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivilegeIslaMujeres, Quality Control at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are very grateful for your suggestions and remarks. Pool bar closing hour is 6pm every day, we will definitely take into consideration the possibility of open until later. Thanks again for reviewing Privilege Aluxes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Property: Privilege Aluxes
Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing