We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great service”
Review of Qubano Restaurant

Qubano Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 209 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely delightful restaurant with great authentic Cuban food. The owner Vivian is always on hand to offer her knowledgable opinions and she is on the mark with the staff and she runs a tight ship.

Stylish decor and pleasant restaurant, please try the Toston which is a fried banana sandwich with chicken sounds crazy but it's an invention of this lovely lady and it's gluten free and tastes amazing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,105
    174
    63
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“You know it's good when”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

my picky daughter says "I don't usually like a single ingredient in this sandwich and it is the best sandwich I have ever had!" The rest of us argued over which of the amazing trio sandwiches was the best and devoured the Hungarian potatoes. The Vivian Salad was fresh with lots of interesting ingredients. Owner Vivian was a great personality. Top of our list from the trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TCRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I recommend trying the Vivian's Salad or Qubano sandwich. It's a good bet on the touristy Hidalgo St. You won't be disappointed!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank goddessjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“LICKED MY PLATE CLEAN!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Not the sort of behavior I'm accustomed to - but on Isla anything goes - and I couldn't help myself after I helped myself to one of Vivian's famous Tostons accompanied with the best lemonada frappe naturale on the island in my opinion. In my opinion this is still one of the very best which Isla Mujeres has to offer, but what do I know?

I'm a plate-licker!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Finished off a perfect day”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

After spending the whole morning and afternoon in the paradise that is Isla Mujeres, we found Qubano on our walk back to the ferry and stopped in for a super tasty sandwich.

Recommend the Cuban, lovely pulled pork with pickles and mustard - really fresh tasting and a perfect sized meal after an awesome day at the beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qubano Restaurant also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Qubano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing