We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious potatoes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Qubano Restaurant

Qubano Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious potatoes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

It's true , the Hungarian potatoes are very good. I might mine way too fast.
Husband had sliders, were okay but not memorable.
We showed up very late on Sunday so it's possible that's why , but we were grateful the were open as a lot of restaurants were closing for the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heart12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    170
    59
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was visiting Isla with some friends for a week, and we ate a lot of food in various places on the island. This one didn't disappoint. Service was good and the food was delicious and traditionally Cuban. The sandwiches were yummy, and one of them was served on plantains instead of bread, which was interestingly different, but really made the sandwich. The Ropa Vieja was great too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theigham420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come here for Vivian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

She is the owner and she is so passionate about the food she cooks. She came over and talked to my husband and I for quite a while which was very welcoming and pleasant. She made our mojitos herself and asked how long we were staying on the island. She told us a great place on Sundays to go listen to live Cuban music. We started off with fresh made papas fritas served with ketchup and a homemade spicy mayonnaise. My husband got the sandwich trio platter and we both agreed the tostone sandwich was the best, delicious!! I got the regular Cuban that was just as good. She told me one of her secrets is that she cooks the pork for four hours until it shreds itself. When you leave, you will not leave hungry!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasElyse2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“My first stop every visit to Isla!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I can't help but make Qubano's my first stop to eat every time I come to Isla. This is another place that I desperately want to order so many different things, but I can't branch out because the Cuban sandwich, Vivian's salad, and the potatoes are so amazing! One day I will try other things on the menu...I promise. :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had the ropa vieja and it was delicious! I hear the sandwiches are great but never got back to try one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qubano Restaurant also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Qubano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing