We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the first places we go”

Bally Hoo Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 210 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner
Description: Located on the sea level in the unique blue-turquoise beaches in Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo, Mexico. Come and enjoy with us for a healthy breakfast to a delicious dinner overlooking the sea. A place where you can enjoy our catch of the day, as well as our selection of steaks, famous margaritas Bally-Hoo and an extensive menu, from where you can find tickets to specialty dishes. Our experience supports us in service since 2003. Bally-Hoo Isla Mujeres the best choice on the island Ask about our special Margaritas: Traditional, Mango, Isla Mujeres and the house specialty "Margarita Bally-Hoo."
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the first places we go”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

When we arrive on the island. Great breakfast wraps, and yummy fish and chips fir dinner.new love this spot and it's one of the few waterfront locations at don't overcharge (and have yummy food to boot). Love this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    264
    61
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bally Hoo is a must”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Bally Hoo is a must do restaurant. The fish tacos, crab soup and lobster cream soup are excellent. Very good guacamole, but the chips are a little greasy. Good margaritas, too. Right on the water and not touristy like Hidalgo Street restaurants

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern michigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this spot at the harbor and great food too!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have been here a couple times and always love sitting outside and watching the action at the harbor. The food is good and it is great for the family to be entertained.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank paulretherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place with a great staff”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

If you want good food at a great location served by friendly staff then go to Bally Hoo. We eat there at least once a week.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not sure why everyone loves this place”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We went last year with new friends and the food was just meh. One order arrived 2 minutes after ordering so obvious it was just sitting there. We left disappointed and the prices were too high. We visited again last night thinking all these rave reviews must be a good indication. Nope. Our hungry child's order was 'lost' finally got it and it was decent. Our ceviche was ok. No chips. I asked if they had tikinchik and they said yes. 5 minutes later a sad version appeared. I will never go here again! My husband ordered the fish tacos because I told him how trip advisor peeps loved them. Not good at all. I really don't get what the fuss is about this place sucks.

Helpful?
3 Thank peanutbutterPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bally Hoo Restaurant also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Bally Hoo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing