We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a good surprise !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Casona Real
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Paris, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a good surprise !!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I had initially planned on staying just a few nights there because we feared the bad quality of the hotel due to the price compared to other places in Cozumel and what a surprise it was !!! The rooms are really nice and clean with A/C (a little improvement would be the bathrooms, which are a little old...), the swimming pool is huge and the service is top quality.The location is perfect to go anywhere down town on foot. In the end, we stayed for 6 days !!! Thanks a lot to the whole team, it was really great to stay there !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    47
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
26
61
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Cozumel is an Island. Everything is expensive.
That's what I had gotten used to thinking, until I found this gem for an exceptionally low 650 pesos (50 US) a night.
The service is pleasant, the rooms are clean. The swimming pool is small, but hey, it's a swimming pool with a cozy garden area.
For some amazing reason, you can get here by walking straight down five blocks from the docks. I also appreciate that they are one of the growing number of water-conscious hotels that don't wash towels unless you leave them on the floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alvaradodavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 days in this cozy hotel. The staff was very pleasant and we were able to speak some spanish with them. There was a coffee in the lobby in the morning were you could sit and watch San Miguel wake up. The bed was very comfortable. This is a real Mexican hotel
as it was 30 years ago with bright colors and and lots of character. I would recommend anyone that want to stay in the real Mexico

Room Tip: the rooms upstairs are very nice thats where we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I planned on staying there for a few days and see how it was, well after 4 days I decided to stay there for 3 more weeks. The hotel was clean, centrally located, great pool, great staff they took care of all the things I needed and had all the info I needed. The cost was very reasonable. There were several other people that stayed there for extended periods. I dont dive but there were several groups of divers thy hung there equipment near the pool to dry each day they wen,t out.

The only down side was the WIFI it worked okay in the lobby sometimes in my room and never by the pool.

They told me they were going to upgrade the WIFI to include the pool area.

I will be staying there again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyonsp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Once again myself and two other friends spent most of february 2013 at this hotel. We love to read the reviews of people that must live in a sterile capsule and expect the same as a two hundred night hotel from the less tan $50 a night one, We had three separate rooms and you will never find cleaner rooms. For the price you are within walking distance to the downtown plaza, shops and a large supermarket around the corner. A cab ride to the beaches Yes the water goes out for a few hours once in a while, bu from the cozumel city water system changing things not the hotel. The hotel employees are the best and the owners are the most wonderful people ive ever met in cozumel. If you want to enjoy cozumel, the cozumel way enjoy this small hotel. If not go to the all inclusive where my cousins stayed and had mold smell and cock rouches for $250 a night plus had to take a cab to town at night $16 each time. Remember cock rouches live anywhere especially where I live in Florida. Thank you La casona real for another great time in cozumel. Jim Bakos Florida

Room Tip: enjoy yourself as a local'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMILEYJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in February from the 9th to the 19th and we thought it was a nice place for the money. Our room was small but had a large walk-in shower we had a king size bed that wasn't to hard by mexican standards. There wasn't a lot of room for storage but we made do, if the closet had some extra hangers and more shelves that would alleviate the storage problem. The A.C. worked great and we didn't have any of the noise problems or hot water problems reported by other post on this sight. It has a great location if you want to be where the entertainment is it's only a 4 block walk to the main plaza.There is a full grocery store right around the corner where you can get just about anything you need it also has an ATM, also there is a money exchange and a Pemex gas station just down the street and vehicle parking right out front of the hotel. I guess my only disappointment with the hotel was the pool and I don't know if it was because of the time of year or if it just never gets enough sunlight but the water was so cold you couldn't get in it. Everyone that worked there made us feel right at home and were very friendly they also have a small resturant and bar but we didn't use it, probably would have if we could have used the pool. All in all it's a great place to stay if you like traveling on a budget as far as a place for kids I I'm not sure about that because of the pool situation because there's not much to do during the day except shopping so with out the pool the kids might be bored or the cold water might not bother them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mriles-Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#24 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bello Caribe Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#20 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#31 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona Real

Property: Hotel La Casona Real
Address: Avenida Benito Juarez 501, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casona Real 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are going to love the friendly and hospitable atmosphere of the Hotel La Casona Real.Family-owned and operated, the hotel is beautifully painted and decorated with a variety of plants both inside and out. The hotel has a private scuba diving instructor to help our guests who are underwater enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Casona Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Real Cozumel
La Casona Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing