We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Perfect Hosts, Perfectly Wonderful B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location, Perfect Hosts, Perfectly Wonderful B&B!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Villa Escondida within 6 months. We originally booked based on the praise from some friends that have stayed with Magda & David for years, but after the 1st stay, we fell in love! The location is ideal - in town, close to the plaza, close to many, many restaurants and shops. But once you've walked into the walled garden (that David keeps looking so beautiful!) you'd never know you're so close to the hustle & bustle! The rooms are airy and bright; and quite comfortable. There's plenty of places to relax - sunning by the pool, a chair under the palapa, or any number of spots around the gardens.

Then's there's Magda's breakfasts! Along with the great coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and pastries, she's prepares the most delicious mexican dishes each morning to temp you with. They are AMAZING! (I only wish I could copy her recipes, but she cooks from the heart, not by a recipe!!)

We have traveled to Cozumel many times over the years, and stayed at many places on the island. But in a very short time, Villa Escondida has won our hearts, and we can't wait to stay there again!!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are identical - 2 up, 2 down, so it would just depend on personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyConstant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
thank you for taking the time to post a few lines about your experience at Villa Escondida....we appreciate it very much!...it has been really nice meeting you and having you as guests! you are welcome anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
171
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

All the reviews are true! Villa Escondida is a wonderful oasis right in the heart of beautiful Cozumel. Magda and David are wonderful hosts, and are ready to help make your stay in Cozumel a memorable experience. Magda's breakfasts, including David's fresh-squeezed orange juice, are out of this world, all home made fresh every day.

If you want to experience Cozumel, I highly recommend staying at Villa Escondida. All the best restaurants, bars, as well as the ocean are all within walking distance. But should you rent a car, the B&B provides their guests a secure parking space.

Cozumel is a wonderful island, full of friendly, cheerful faces. We felt very comfortable and at home. The island is safe, even at night and we walked the San Miguel without worry or apprehension. A beautiful B&B on a gem of an island. We can hardly wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
thank you for staying at Villa Escondida! it was great meeting you and having you as guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is our 4thvisit at Villa Escondida. If you would like to be near all the best places to eat and mingle with locals.....this location is great!!!! My husband and I have enjoyed each visit and especially the past three times during Carnival!!!It The villa is very quiet, but during the afternoons at times, you may be lucky enough (during Carnival) to have a chance to watch a dance group outside the front door. Thanks Dave and Magda for another enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serendipitycalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
thank you for posting a few lines....we are happy you enjoy visiting Cozumel! it is always a pleasure having you as guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have spent time with Magda and David over the past two years and each time the experience is wonderful. The facility provides tranquility and restfulness. It's well located with at least a half dozen excellent restaurants within a five minute walk. The Central Plaza is just minutes away where Sunday nights are not to be missed. Each day the breakfasts are uniquely prepared by Magda and David's fresh squeezed orange juice is so satisfying! The bedrooms provide lots of space and the beds guarantee a great nights sleep. Each day starts with lots of sunshine and the ringing bells of San Miguel! Our hosts were always there for information on local attractions and if you can try to be there for the annual Carnival celebrations! We shall return!!

Room Tip: The breezes are always better in the upper rooms......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikShirl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
thank you for taking the time to post a few lines....we love having you as guests!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just returned from spending five nights at Villa Escondida, and could not be happier with our experience. Magda and David have created a garden oasis in central San Miguel, within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and waterfront of the town. Slipping into the Villa's walled compound offers the traveler an instant opportunity to leave the congestion of the town behind, and enjoy a tranquil rest within the private garden. Breakfast was different and delicious each morning, and our room was clean and comfortable. And Magda and David know the "best" spots to check out. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckandMelody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about Villa Escondida! it was a pleasure having you as guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We just returned from 9 days at Villa Escondido, Cozumel on February 18, 2014. We booked it based on TripAdvisor pictures and comments and the pictures do not exaggerate, so look them over. We’ve stayed in places like this in Europe and Hawaii and Villa Escondido sets the highest bar.

A lot of love and creativity went into Villa Escondido. The grounds are very peaceful. The property is very well maintained newer construction. The walls are stucco over 6” block with dual pane windows so you can have a lot of quiet when you want it. There is a high perimeter wall around the property so it feels very private and secure; however, crime statistics for Cozumel are very low compared to most cities in the States.

Each suite has 3 windows; we preferred having them open to invite the cross breeze. We liked hearing the birds, church bells and local life. All the screens were in excellent condition, something we rarely find but want because bugs seek us out over all other people within 100 yards.

A very nice mix of locals and visitors walk around at night enjoying the beachfront town and central plaza. The tourists and snowbird industry is very important to the island people; they are very friendly, helpful and most speak English. We walked miles and miles around town and did beach crawls along the road to southwest beaches, stopping to swim and snorkel along the way. We had nothing but good experiences.

There are travelers and there are vacationers. “Vacationers” like to bring “home” with them and only dip their toe into the destination and thus tend to stay in large hotels. “Travelers” like to melt in a bit to their destinations. And Villa Escondido is perfect for this. Gracious owners, David and Magna, have all kinds of tips for you. They also have a book with “tips” on local beaches and restaurants that we used a lot.

They serve wonderful home made breakfasts to get your day started!!

Lori and Don

Room Tip: As far as I can tell all 4 rooms are the same floor plan. Only downstairs was available when we boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrq3qw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Lori and Don, we enjoyed having you as guests here at Villa Escondida! we are happy you had a great time in Cozumel! thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karamelicious
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a delightful week at Villa Escondida. The room was incredibly comfortable (and spotless). We slept like babies. The location is perfect. The garden is beautiful and a perfect setting to enjoy Magda's delicious home-cooked breakfasts every morning (what a treat!) while sharing a cup of coffee with David and other guests. We loved it. Magda and David go above and beyond for their guests. Would we stay there again? Without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karamelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you Mel, for choosing Villa Escondida and for visiting Cozumel! we enjoyed having you as guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
377 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,688 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10th Ave. South | between 3rd st south and Adolfo Rosado Salas st, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Escondida is located only 0.3 miles from the city's main plaza and downtown square, so we are in the heart of everything!! We are a hotel-styled B&B ideal for adult travellers who want local attractions at their doorsteps. We have 4 private guest rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, lounge area with fridge and microwave, FREE WiFi, bicycles, gated parking, and personalized attention! We will be happy to help you organize all desired activities: massages, hair salon services, tours, private tours, fishing in kayaks, and more! Great dining, piers, the main plaza, local shops and more are all a short walk from this hidden Villa. David and Magda are looking forward to have you as guests in their home located in the heart of downtown Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Escondida Hotel Cozumel
Villa Escondida Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing