We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lionfish”

New Especias Restaurante
Ranked #34 of 384 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Authentic Italian Restaurant in the middle of the mexican caribbean sea. Home made pasta, italian chef and we are famous for lion fish and sea food.Excelent options for meat lovers. A DIP in ITALY... #newespecias #byfrancescodiroma #bestitalianincozumel
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lionfish”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A great dinner accented by Roberto's fantastic service and Francisco's angels' preparation of lionfish with capers, olives, and tomatoes. So good we had to go back with new friends to try another wonderful entree. The chocolate dessert was so good the first night, I had to try it again, just to be sure. It was.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DER57936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    41
    13
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great find in Cozumel - Great Service - Great Food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

An Italian friend that lives in Cozumel agreed to meet me for dinner and chose this restaurant.
I arrived early and was served a small glass of peach wine and an appetizer that was great. When my friend arrived we ordered a bottle of wine and dinner. All I can say is that I returned the next night by myself since the food and service was so good. When I got to the restaurant the second night I found several other local friends that were also enjoying the restaurant. This is now a must stop when I am in Cozumel and I am sending copies of the owners card to several friends that are traveling to Cozumel within the next few weeks.
The open air seating is covered and we went through a rainstorm without a since drop of rain hitting us. The breeze on the second floor is very pleasant even for a mid July visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishpicturesbybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastico! Best Italian in Cozumel!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Enjoy the most amazing Italian food while being caressed by gentle sea breezes. What can I say? I love this place. And when I'm away from Cozumel, I have dreams of their faggiola de crema... a puréed bean soup with two Langostino shrimps. And by the way, there is no cream in it. The pastas are all outstanding and the pizzas looked really good. Oh, and you have to try the tiramisu... It's the best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have dined at this restaurant before it changed hands and it was wonderful then. Sadly to say, it is not that way now. The owners and staff were extremely pleasant and the service was excellent, but the food is another matter. My wife had one of the pasta entrees and it was served, I guess you could say, "al dente supremo". The pasta was very hard and the sauce did not have that flavor that comes from when a sauce simmers and blends all day. My choice was the lasagna. All I can say was, this is the first time I ever had lasagna fettucini. IMHO, a creamy white sauce does not belong on lasagna. Needless to say, we will not be dining here again on our trips to Cozumel .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skig8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Increible! Loved it before, new owner and Italian menu...didn't know it could get better”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The atmosphere is laid back, true Cozumel. The service is very specialized and the entire staff, including the owner/chef (Francesco/Panchito). The food is incredible, whatever dish. The house white wine is beyond good, wish I could get their recipe since the owner makes it! We are here for a week, and this is now on a "must" to come back again before we leave. Gracias Especias!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoGal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Especias Restaurante also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to New Especias Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing