We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I just got back from Secrets Aura and we had a fabulous time. They have done a lot with the property and it is still being worked on and see it to being a great Secrets. The beach and pools are great and the food is very good we had no complaints with anything we ate and you cannot go hungry there they will give you all that you want. We especially enjoyed the daily entertainment with Adrian and Mariana they are great and we miss them so much. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We loved the swim out rooms would for sure get them again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi Lori C,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Aura Cozumel.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,591 - 2,597 of 3,683 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at Secrets Aura in April. We had originally booked at their sister resort Sabor, but after reading the horrible reviews wanted to change resorts. I was convinced to pay a large upgrade fee to change to Secrets. The resort itself isn't horrible, but the food is lacking and there is little to no entertainment. Here is the main problem I had with them. We spent most of our time at Sabor because the entertainment and atmosphere was much better. One entire day we had no power in our room at Secrets. We were told we would be compensated for this. On check out I was told we would receive a credit on my card and never received one. I have contacted the resort and the only response I got was we are working toward a resolution. That was two weeks ago. I have sent numerous emails trying to get answers and no response. I would suggest staying somewhere else based upon the experience I had there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear B T,

We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay with us.

There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments.

We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I took my wife here to celebrate her 30th birthday. I have been to Cozumel many times and this was her first time. Secrets was definitely the place to stay. Meals were excellent, drinks, every meal can be right on the water. Sunsets excellent! If you know local people with a boat you can be picked up at the dock no problem. I would stay again for sure! The staff strives to make your stay excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi corey w,


Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you. Your comments about our restaurants, bars, sunset and staff was most motivating.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon and hope you will not hesitate to spend another wonderful vacation in paradise at Secrets Aura Cozumel.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just got back from our trip. Was surprised they were rated so high on other travel sites.

Pros-
Great pool on the beach--easy to go back and forth. Rafts were provided in the pool. Pool was clean and relaxing.
Excellent service--Bartenders, cocktail waitresses and waiters were all fantastic. Kind and accommodating.
Excursion--We did a snorkeling excursion one of the afternoons. Fantastic. Definitely recommend.

Cons-
MOLD-Our first room smelled like mold and sewage. It was unbearable. We're easygoing people, but we had to switch rooms twice. Our third room was still musty, but no sewer smell. We just got back and having to wash stuff that came back "clean" because it smells like the room.
Back Pool-It was a redneck spring break for the over 40 crowd. Over the top obnoxious, which is annoying because it had slides and a swim up bar, which would have been fun.
Mystery Hives-Not sure if it was the mold from the room (allergies), the tiny bugs that would pop up throughout the room, or from the bedding, but I had hives that kicked in after the first day/night. They're finally starting to go away after being home a couple nights.

Food was average, drinks were fine.

(Side note: I'm the type of person who would read this review, and mock it in an obnoxious voice because it sounds so prissy...Trust me. I'm not a prissy person).

Room Tip: Stay in the fully renovated rooms (ours wasn't)/towards the beach/pool. You'll likely have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Lauren B,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed such as the service, pools and staff however, we are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at Secrets Aura Cozumel.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing! The food is great and the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this resort for anyone who just wants to chill out and forget life. Not much night life but the crowd that comes to this resort truly makes it entertaining. Make sure you spend the extra money and get the preferred rooms. The rooms by far are beautiful just like in the states and the upgrades are perfect. The top shelf alcohol is really top shelf and not watered down. I hope this helps someone. Thumbs up on this place! We heard that Secrets Wild Orchid in Jamaica surpasses all of their resorts. Will let you all know.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joseph Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Joseph Q,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Secrets Aura Cozumel. We are overjoyed to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay, specially food and staff.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have never experienced another All-Inclusive hotel where the food is this good, seriously. The service at restaurants, bars and by the pool is excellent, people are super friendly. Although our room and some parts of the hotel could need some love and maintenance, its worth the money. We loved it, we look forward to come back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the beach, the ones at the back of the hotel get a lot of noise early during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taenia_romero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi taenia_romero,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Aura Cozumel.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We love Secrets, so our first trip to Cozumel wasn't until June 2013, after Aura became part of the Secrets family. We just returned from our second visit in April 2014. Second time was better than the first!

We have gone on other "beach" vacations in Mexico and Jamaica, but Aura is the resort that makes us feel like we are truly at the beach! The relaxed, comfortable, beachy vibe is what we love most about it. 2 of the 3 restaurants are open air, literally steps from the beach! 2 of the 3 pools (not including the preferred pool) are steps from the beach and sea! You can even book a room that is ON THE BEACH! The resort is small enough that you are never too far from anything.

If you are a fan of Secrets like we are, you will find the same Secrets standard of service at Aura. The Secrets brand is evident throughout! Speaking of service, ALL of the staff and servers are absolutely awesome! We would like to give an extra shout out to some of the people that we personally had the pleasure of meeting: Eduardo, Cynthia, Miguel, Joseph, Izzy, Elena, Natalia, Karla, Arley, Vicki, Diego and Rene.

We ate at each restaurant at least once. We will mention that even though food taste is a very individual, personal thing, overall we were very happy with the choices, presentation and taste. The restaurants are open on a rotating basis. Here's a tip. A restaurant that is closed one night might result in a larger than normal volume the next night. Paying attention to the schedule in your daily Sundial newsletter provided by the resort may help avoid any wait times.

The biggest and best improvement since last June is the addition of the Preferred rooms, pool and beach area! It is an AMAZING space and we believe the best staff members are assigned to that area! Other improvements/changes we noticed are pavers along the beach, Fish Market on Thursdays, lights around trees, weekly foam party at the pool with the slides and swim up bar, Market Café available to Aura guests only, and nicer ambiance at the Sky Bar. This has all been done in 10 months! Surely other things, too, that we just didn't notice.

We suggest doing some research on the geology of the island, so you will know what to expect as far as entrance to the water and type of sand. The reef system, which draws people from all over the world, provides endless opportunities if you snorkel or dive and the pier right in front of Aura is super convenient for these activities.

Please check out the Secrets Aura Facebook page. Any questions you may have will be quickly answered and you will be able to read even more reviews and comments and view more pictures.

Location, view, staff, service, room, pools, beach, food, drinks, in-room dining, mini bar, Wi-Fi....ALL EXCELENTE!!!!!!

We rested, we relaxed, we ate, we drank, we socialized, we were pampered and most importantly, we spent quality time together in the sun in paradise!! Perfect weather was the icing on the cake!! Life is good!!

In closing, we can only recommend that you go and experience the outstanding staff, the beautiful island of Cozumel and the breathtaking sunsets first hand!

Thank you Secrets Aura!

Room Tip: Preferred rooms are extra special, but all are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomNSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Hi Tom N Susan Meils,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Secrets Aura Cozumel. We are overjoyed to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay, specially restaurants and staff.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,270 reviews
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
4,999 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $206 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing