We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Don't stay here. Really bad service compared to what it used to be. People smoking in the restaurants. They have rules about smoking but they don't enforce them. My glass shower door was broken, I had glass in my floor. I told them about it, and they did nothing. The glass on my balcony was also broken. The resort is not the small, fancy resort it used to be. They have tripled the amount of rooms now. It may say ocean view, but what it showed say is a peekaboo view, if you look through the palm trees. Also bring ear plugs. The black birds are so loud.

Room Tip: The remolded section is terrible.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jedediah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi jedediah h,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our resort.

We value your detailed suggestions as our guest’s feedback is truly important for us and we will consciously revise all of your remarks.

While we understand the way you felt about the situation experienced during your stay, we do hope that our reply to your feedback restores some semblance of trust on us. Please contact us directly at info.seacz@secretsresorts.com to take care of your next reservation.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,635)
There are newer reviews for Secrets Aura Cozumel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,573 - 2,579 of 3,635 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Ok the good, some good servers Beatriz, Margarito, Jesus were all very friendly and made it fun to eat in the various restaurants. Thank you for your smiles and the great service.
If you like to snorkel without taking a boat you can head out on the rocky beach and see a great variety of fish.
Spa was excellent and the ladies in our party highly recommended it.
The bad, I agree with the others who suggest a swim up upgrade as some of the other rooms have a large balcony but two puny deck chairs and no umbrella so you can't really relax out there.
I ask the staff why no umbrellas for the non upgraded beach area? You have to scramble for tree shade cause they only have the little huts in the upgrade area. Should the rest of us just fry? I stayed at the upgraded Breathless in the Dominican and this place did not meet the same standards. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GAMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi GAMeyer,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed however, we are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at Secrets Aura.


We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our overall experience at Secrets Aura, Cozumel was REALLY GREAT! I would recommend this place to everyone. We just got back this morning and couldn't wait to get on the computer to express how we feel. We had a Ocean View Junior Swim-up Suite and we think that the views and accessibility couldn't be any more perfect. Each room around the lazy river pool had great sun exposure during the morning and day time hours. The wait staff around the pool was excellent as well as the bartending staff. They have event staff that try to get everyone involved with the daily activities from volleyball, beach party, foam party, etc. They really try to please everyone from all age ranges, but they also give you your space if you are there to just relax. The room we had was really clean and was maintained very well. The only down side that we saw is that there is only 3 restaurants open at Secrets but we were able to use Sunscape, the adjacent resort, restaurants were just a short walk on the beach. We had great food all around. The wait staff will try there best to make you happy. To sum it all up, we had a really awesome time there and would definitely go back! The views from any where in the resort are amazing!

Room Tip: Ocean View Junior Swim-up Suit. Views are awesome. Pool is right outside your back door.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The resort was clean, the food and drink top shelf and we had a great time. The beach was rocky, but once you'd got out a little way it was ok. The pools were great. I would stay here again.

The party pool was fun with volley ball every day. The entertainment staff went out of their way to keep things lively and fun. We also took a day trip with dune buggies and saw the whole island.

The food was good, especially the cerveiche and the grouper dishes. Service was excellent and the food always came as ordered. The waiters were a lot of fun and quick to refill drinks and more food if you wanted it.

Overall, it was a nice place to stay- we would go here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it- upgrade to preferred.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Michael S,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We were really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service, staff, the restaurants, and the island Cozumel. Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Secrets Aura Cozumel and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

First of all, we were booked at a hotel near by that was being rennovated. Two weeks before the trip our travel agent called and said the hotel would not be done in time and we were now booked at Secrets. To compensate, they bumped us up to the premium area. After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor (bad food, moldy smell, bad service) we were not very happy! Well, I don't know what resort they are reviewing but we found NONE of those things. Secrets Aura was beautiful. Our trip was perfect. I can't say enough about the hotel. It was clean, neat, the grounds were well kept, the food was terrific. The staff really works hard and they want to make you feel special. We have been to the Dominican a few times, Bahamas, Aruba, St. Lucia as well as other islands and we loved our stay at Secrets in Cozumel!

Our room in the premium section was in a great location by the pool bar area. It was not loud or distracting and it was convienient to the pool, beach and restaurants. The rainfall shower had really good water pressure which is unusual on island visits. Our maid service was also above and beyond and our minibar was always stocked with fresh water, which is important to have in Mexico. Next time we may upgrade to the ocean front view with a beach walk out, it looks well worth it, especially for the sunset and night views of the ocean.

Room Tip: A few tips: we always bring a stack of $1 bills and tip a dollar or two during meals, you get better...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi James D,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Aura Cozumel.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Secrets Aura is a relatively small, luxurious resort. The staff bends over backwards to make your stay comfortable. We never had to wait for a table to eat, as the various options were always available to us. Room service was prompt and courteous. The food was fantastic! There is only one Buffet-type restaurant, The Market Cafe. We especially liked it for breakfast, as we could grab a quick bite and be on our way. Oceana, the beachfront seafood restaurant, was great! The fresh grilled grouper was our favorite. Serving top shelf liquour is definitely a plus at Secrets Aura, as was the Bloody Mary - Mimosa bar at every restaurant at breakfast. The only complaint, and not really very much of one, is the fact that there was not a chest of drawers in our room. Unpacking our clothes for our week long stay was a little inconvenient with no where tp put them except the shelves in the closet and other small places. The Sky Bar is the place to have a good cocktail and watch the sun set. The grounds of Secrets Aura are meticulously maintained, even on the beach. There was nightly entertainment if you are so inclined, and the snorkeling equipment, kayaks, and sailboats are there, ready for your free use. We went to Secrets Aura to relax, and couldn't have been happier with our choice. If you are looking for non-stop action, and late night revelry, this might not be the place for you. On the other hand, if you want a beautifully appointed suite, around-the-clock service, great food and total relaxation in a gorgeous setting, Secrets Aura is the place.

Room Tip: Get in the Preferred section!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Don P,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you. Your comments about our,services, restaurants, bars and facilities was most motivating.

thank you for your suggestion we are going to share this infromation with our department involved

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon and hope you will not hesitate to spend another wonderful vacation in paradise at Secrets Aura Cozumel.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and I have made many excursions to Mexico but never to Cozumel. We chose Secrets Aura because we prefer an adults only all-inclusive experience. Our experience at this resort was a mixed bag: Dining at the Bordeaux was excellent, much like you would experience at any restaurant in the Karisma chain, and the buffet breakfast at World Market was also very good, but the other restaurants were mediocre and the food lacked variety. General resort service, for the most part, was very good, and there were a few people who were outstanding. We stayed in the preferred section as it was our understanding the pool and beach area here was more sedate compared to the others. Unfortunately this was not the case and we had to make numerous requests for the music to be turned down (which on one occasion it was) and in one instance alerted security, who failed to do anything to control the loud, obnoxious, boorish, and vulgar behavior of some pool guests (another "party pool" is available for guests). The room was nice, the bed was very comfortable, and most service requests were handled promptly. Some areas of the resort were in disrepair and there was no active attempt to correct this, e.g., one of the too few bathrooms had no running water for one of the sinks and, while the electrical was stubbed out for fixtures, there were no light over the sinks. Over all the stay was okay but I would opt for another resort next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Lawrence O,

Thank you for sharing your feedback through this mean. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allow us to improve our service levels and product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your recent trip to Secrets Aura that you enjoyed the resort staff, restaurants and services. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

We have taken your comments very seriously and you can be assured that the necessary re-training measures are being instituted to prevent recurrences in the future.

With this said, we look forward to have the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence our resort and service.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,235 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
4,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $193 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing